Chevron Left
Voltar para Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Stanford Introduction to Food and Health da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
13,942 classificações
4,141 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Melhores avaliações

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

por Anu A

Dec 19, 2018

This is a wonderful intro to healthy eating, including the science behind foods and the psychology behind food advertising. I would highly recommend this to any teenager going off to college or really anyone who is learning how to cook or lose weight. I appreciate the nice graphics and the clear explanations. Even though I've taken other food and health courses before, I still learned some things with this class and it was so short/concise that it was worth it. Thank you, Dr. Adam and Mr. Pollan!

por Candice V

Jul 17, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the supplemental videos, recipes, and resources at the end (Week 5). A lot of it was a refresher for me, but a helpful motivator to get back on track in certain areas of my family's nutritional life such as breakfast. My husband handles breakfast with boxed cereals, boxed pancakes, and bacon. I now have some motivation to make tweaks and implement new recipes (such as the blender pancakes) to help steer this meal in a healthier direction. Thank you Dr. Adam!

por Ana P

May 02, 2018

Hello, i am a nanny and i loved this course, because makes me understand how much important cooking could be in our lives. I would love to know more. Unfortunately i have finished my weeks in few days because i was too interested in it and i didn't have time to take notes . I would love to have the possibility to have the text regarding all of the videos so that i can keep them and review them whenever i feel like i need a motivation because i can say it LOUD: this course motivated me soo much!

por Beáta K

Oct 11, 2018

I think this is a very useful and well-structured course, but the target group maybe wasn't me. As a European, who actually almost never eat prepared food, and cook reguralry there wasn't any new information for me, but the videos was very entertaining and again, well-structured. I think this course is recommend for everybody, because it's short, not too deep, but really complex. I'm really graetful, that it's scientifically correct, and neutral, and don't want to force us some new "diet".

por Samiah A

Nov 17, 2017

An easy to understand course with practical tips everyone can adapt. It starts on a basic level and doesn't require you to drastically change your diet, such as eliminate entire food groups or grow your own produce. A follow-up course will be helpful. These type of courses are needed since there is a lot of misinformation about diet. Many documentaries telling you to basically avoid everything that leave you dismal, hopeless, and more likely to give up on improving your diet altogether.

por Tawfiq A

Sep 11, 2019

Fantastic insights on nutrition, perfect illustration and clear audio explanation, being passionate about nutrition and food and currently working on my F&B sustainable food start-up my team and I found this course really beneficial and being a home chef I can now illustrate and inform on defining healthy conscious eating. Currently I am also enrolled on Stanford's child nutrition and cooking. Thanks to Coursera, and Maya Adams and the entire supporting team of this course.

por Adeen K

Dec 01, 2019

an informative course that acknowledge us about basic food components and human body needs. taught about the importance of home cooking, nutritional value of processed and home cooked food and how we can improve our health by taking simple changes in our routine and can connect with our family members. most importantly this course helps to learn the skill of good shopping, how we can know about the quality of food by looking at its ingredients and nutritional value chart.

por Diana M C L

Sep 07, 2016

This has been an excellent Course. The content itself is very clear and gives you an enormous background about food and eating habits, although is focused mostly in the western diet in USA I think that at least in America continent an other parts of the globe eating habits are similar, Public health is a great concern and I think that in this way we should change completely our habits and stop eating processed food. Congrats Stanford University more courses like this one.

por Kuntamukkala P K

Jun 15, 2017

This course guides us how to think while buying products in grocery store. I learnt that we should look at food as mixture of Colorful vegetables, healthy fats, whole grains.....not as mixture of Nutrients (I always get baffled with their chemical names). Maya Mam explained it in so easy way, she made me look the other side of products which they (some companies) claim as "Nutritional foods". This course helped me to get rid of some doubts I had about Supplement foods.

por Harshit B

Mar 06, 2018

Maya Adams, MD and Michael Pollan have explained the rules of healthy food in such a simple and non-scientific way so that every one can understand the fundamentals. These basics if followed consistently can change our lifestyle from the growing obesity to a modern healthy and fit person. The efforts of the course contributors needs to be appreciated for not only the concept but also the presentation. This is a much recommended course on food, health and fitness!!

por Naira B E

Nov 21, 2019

Me parece un muy buen curso básico sobre nutrición y alimentación, que permite a todos ser mas conscientes de lo que comemos. Como estudiante de nutrición me parece interesante las estrategias que se indican para que todos tengan una alimentación saludable dando pequeños pasos. Finalmente, me parece excelente que el curso este enfocado en todos los componentes de la alimentación tales como variables sociales, económicas, personales, disponibilidad, entre otras.

por Anya H

May 05, 2020

I have successfully completed this course and it is one of a kind. It zeroes in on daily struggles pertaining to food and nutrition for the average person. This course not only simplified the complexities behind macro nutrients, it also focused on breaking down the jargon on nutrition labels - two things I had found confusing, until now. The quality of the videos is aesthetically pleasing and the lectures are engaging, and fascinating to say the least!

por Raeva I M

May 02, 2020

This course helped me to understand what the health is. Before I started it, I followed my intuition. Now I can make sensible decisions at supermarket. I got the point that the art of moderation is much better than simple elimination. Also, I am pleased to practice my English.

I want all people to watch it. Unfortunately, most of us are cynical about FOOD (not highly-processed part of it), especially in Russia. It inspires me to continue my education.

por Louie K

May 12, 2020

Thank you!!!!!!!!Thank you for your excellent course! I learned a lot, I learned that I eat wrong. You've been very helpful! I have acquired knowledge and skills that have helped and will help me in the future. In the future, I'm going to work as a nutritionist. I don't know if you'll answer me or not, but I have a question. Will there still be videos with recipes? can I watch them whenever possible and prepare meals at my home? Thank you again!!!!

por Carol M

Aug 26, 2017

While the information in this course is introductory, it was nice to see a nutrition course that focuses more on food choice than calculating nutrients. The information was well presented and easy for someone like me with a non-science background to understand. The amount of coursework was perfect since my motivation was personal learning and I have a full-time job. I would love to see follow-up courses since this piqued my interest to know more!

por Shaine V

Feb 04, 2016

I am a pharmacist and I'm recommending pharmacists too to enroll in this course. Yes, it is true that I myself am into reviewing the Nutritional Values of every item I shop and often compare one against another brand. But this course changed my mind. Thank you Maya for sharing this. Mothers, wives, and health care practitioners must do this firstly and make themselves healthy first before making a difference to another's health. Have a great day!

por Beatriz L

May 01, 2020

This course is very useful for people who want to begin caring for their health. I do care for my health and that's why I already had most of the advice given in the course. However, attending this course has aided me in many ways. Not only the course has helped me with becoming familiar with nutrition vocabulary (because I'm Spanish) but it also has given me the motivation to keep and maintain a healthy lifestyle. Thank you so much, professors!

por Rodrigo C

Oct 15, 2016

There very few things today that can set you mind apart and take your soul to full realization of an actual truth.

The topic and approach, but more than that, the clear personal commitment of Doctor Maya Adam, make this course an impactful experience and a real catalyst for change in your life, i felt it, and i want to live now by this value.

I want health for me and for my family specially my children, and i want to live long for them.

Thanks Maya

por Carol L S

Apr 30, 2018

This course will go over basic nutritional factors everybody should know. I really enjoyed it. I am currently considered obese, and tend to get my back up with a lot of people and their suggestions about my diet. This course offers a friendly look at the health risks, and what you can do about it. The course was well laid out and informative. I loved all the recipes at the end too. It was also very easy to understand and really well presented.

por Rick W

Feb 11, 2016

I thought this was a terrific tutorial on the practicality of eating healthy. It's one thing to be concerned calorie intake and understand the nutritional differences between protein, carbs and fat. It's another thing to become knowledgeable about real vs processed food. I really hadn't thought much about that. I will be looking at a lot more ways to eat plant-based and fresh foods. I would recommend this course to everyone I know. Thanks!

por Sabera P

May 11, 2018

It was a beautiful experience. The language, the content and the rationale behind this course was so easy to follow. i feel nourished just by doing this course. Thank you for these valuable bits of information towards leading a more healthy lifestyle. I will share the knowledge on to my husband who is a diabetic and aso inculcate the 'pearls of wisdom' with my 3-year old angle as we cherish the meals that we enjoy together in the evenings.

por swatigrover

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent course. This course is a reminder that health is wealth and good food is the route to good health. And therefore, we cannot outsource this work to large manufacturers of processed food or restaurants for that matter. We need to take charge of what we eat, how we eat and how much of it we eat. And fad diets are maybe convenient ways of reaching some goals in the short term but in the long run they are harmful for our well-being.

por Bibiana O O

Apr 30, 2019

Han sido excelentes momentos de reflexión sobre los hábitos alimenticios y cómo estos contribuyen con el bienestar general de la salud, tanto individual como de la familia.

Adicionalmente, me perimitío apreciar mi tierra natal, que a pesar de vivir en un país de tercer mundo, como es Colombia contamos con una diversidad en frutas, verduras, hortalizas, que propicia una sana alimentación.

Estoy muy agradecida con lo que estoy aprendiendo.

por Freya V

May 06, 2020

A mis 63 años de edad había prometido no estudiar más, pero cuando ví lo interesante de este curso, me olvidé de lo prometido y dije, ADELANTE, Y ME INSCRIBÍ...a pesar de no tener un inglés perfecto y de muchos otros problemas de estos tiempos, me siento felíz y porqué no decir con privilegios al haber tomado esta decisión, a Coursera, a esos grandes Maestros y guías, mi gratitud impercedera. Creo que continuaré. Gracias Gracias.

por rameshvar s

Nov 19, 2018

Very good course, I'm so happy to have this course, I learnt so many things regarding cooking, importance of fruits and vegetables, cons of non vegetarian foods, processed foods and how to cook healthy food, even how to serve plate wow I highly recommend this course to every youngsters like me, I don't know if any one has teach me regarding food like this course did..I can just say thanks you so much Stanford to make this course.