Chevron Left
Voltar para Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computational Thinking for Problem Solving da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
stars
453 classificações
149 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Melhores avaliações

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

por Holland D

Nov 27, 2018

This course is perfect for introducing those without a Computer Science background to the world of CS! By the end of the course you will be writing your own code. The professors are absolutely AMAZING and the effort put into designing this course is evident in each Lesson. I found that the material was clear, easy to understand, and incredibly useful. It teaches how to think in a computational way that is both holistic and streamlined. Overall, this was a fun, informative, and motivating course that I would HIGHLY recommend to everyone! I would take it again if I wasn't so excited to learn more Python!

por Gaurav K

Aug 11, 2019

A well-structured course to explain computational thinking which can be applied to any complex problem in life (not just IT related). A good lesson on computer architecture to get an understanding on how computers work (was fascinating to know what binary number system means that is used to develop all these complex systems/apps we are surrounded by). It also covers basics of python programming language (Quizzes on them were challenging but exciting part of the course). Look forward to further computer science learning

por Kimberly C

Nov 14, 2019

This is an exciting course to take and if you are persistent you shall succeed. It really made me flex my brain muscles. This course made me realise how much I love the IT field and gives me motivation to return to this field professionally. I look forward to taking more courses with UPenn. Also, the Teaching Staff gave excellent advice on solving one of my issues in coding. It required no clarification once I took a second revisit at his comments. Thank you for this experience.

por Caleb B

Jul 21, 2019

Compelling lectures paired with practical implementations to reinforce computer science concepts forwarded by Professor Davidson and Professor Murphy makes this course truly stand out among my 5 years of graduate education. The online context allows for both efficient and expedient learning accessible to anyone with an internet connection. I've already began to contrive solutions to real world problems I face daily as a physician using the knowledge acquired from this course. 5/5.

por Holden B W

Nov 12, 2018

Computational Thinking for Problem Solving is one of the best courses I have taken thus far on Coursera. The course is extremely organized, yet challenging (for non-CS majors) and forces one to learn a multitude of concepts that are prevalent in our world today. Hats off to the team at Penn Engineering for creating such a transformative, creative and intuitive approach to computational thinking, and applying the lesson material to real-world problems and solutions.

Best,

Holden

por Pauline A G H

May 19, 2019

Even just after finishing week 1, I have noticed an improvement in how I go about the challenges in my work as I was already able to apply the basic concepts of computational thinking. The simplicity of their lectures even as they go through detailed explanations has helped me in understanding the concept and application of this course. I would definitely recommend this. In fact, I already did recommend it to some of my colleagues as I was taking it.

por Greg C

Sep 20, 2019

This was an exceptional course, I learned a lot about the basics of computational thinking, how to break down problems into smaller problems and tackle them one step at a time. You don't realize how much you actually use computational thinking in real-life until you take this course. It progressed to more difficult topics throughout the course but as long as you read the instructions thoroughly you will be able to complete everything without help.

por Nathan S K

May 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. The instructors are very thorough and patient in their explanations of the topics. Having taken online courses previously, I felt that the approach of learning first how to think like a programmer, then finally executing code once that foundation was laid, helped me better understand how these concepts could be scaled and structured to fit a variety of real-world scenarios. Thank you!

por Megan H

Sep 02, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners. As a beginner, I appreciated the focus on fundamentals before tackling programming projects. The Python exercises were particularly helpful to me as a beginner: they illustrated the fundamentals and gave me great practice with computational thinking and debugging. I also appreciate the course's emphasis on real-life applications of computing.

por Siyu H

Feb 13, 2019

The course offers me a taste of computer science. By studying the course, I can improve my problem solving skills by adopting a structured method. In addition, the course gave me experience of programming in python, a popular language at present. I highly recommend this course to people who are not familiar with programming and want to learn more knowledge in this field.

por Byron D

Dec 29, 2019

I really enjoyed the course; however, I feel the last module (week 4 / phyton) does not have enough explanations and examples in order to properly complete the assignments. I had to research on my own and complete phyton trainings at other sites in order to successfully complete the projects. Thanks for the course and I look forward to applying to MCIT.

por Ethan L

May 18, 2019

What a great introduction to Computer Science. I've been a programmer for a couple of years and know Python pretty well. This course was helpful for understanding the more fundamental concepts I experience every day, e.g. sorting lists. Most of Python logic is abstracted away from the user so it's great to take this course to see what's under the hood.

por Ibrahim E M

Nov 20, 2019

If there is one thing I learned from this course it is that learning how to code does not always mean thinking computationally. Practically speaking, this course has content that can be applicable from day one. If you are interested in knowing how the story began or understand programming from the roots, this is the place to start.

por Christopher D

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent! Best computational thinking course and introduction to python that I've ever come across. I never imagined I would be able to grasp the concepts of Algorithmic complexity but was finally able to get it and so much more through this course. It covers all the essentials and is very well done.

por Akash K B

Sep 23, 2019

The teachings that i experience here is way too different from Indian online education system .

Coursera is more developed and skill enhancer to the one who is beginner and want to learn with minimum pressure in a different way.

Thanks to Coursera (Computational Thinking for problem solving).

por EDGAR A V

Oct 19, 2019

This was a great class to improve analytical thinking and problem-solving skills. I enjoyed the opportunity to learn a new logical way to see the world and to rewire my thinking process. Thank you for a compelling and engaging class. I look forward to keeping learning about computer science.

por Mike L

Jan 18, 2019

An amazing course that teach the way of computational thinking behind our works of programming. It may not be the best and absolute way to analyze for every problems and difficulties, but at least it provide a way which how we use this sort of thinking to simplify and focus on the problems.

por Edward W

Jan 13, 2020

Very well thought-out course. I have some experience with Python from other courses which definitely helped, but I found this course very interesting in 'stepping back & seeing the bigger picture' i.e. how to think about problems using algorithms. Highly recommended, I learnt lots.

por Samuel B

Mar 17, 2019

Great Introduction to thinking about how to think about and structure basic coding structures like loops. I've learned syntax several times, but never quite understood the practical meaning behind it. The flow charts in this course are awesome for developing a great understanding,

por Miguel

Sep 28, 2019

Very thorough starter course. I especially loved the composing algorithms , translating to pseudocode and coding into python exercises in the final week. While occasionally tricky, thinking through an exercise and finally solving it is satisfying. Thank you Upenn!

por Carmen M

Nov 17, 2018

To think what a difference just a few weeks can make… thank you for awakening a desire in us propelling us forward into the world as computational thinking evangelists!

Know that you will be challenged, but true satisfaction awaits at the end-- priceless!!

por Yan L

May 28, 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

por David R G

Jan 13, 2019

The coding challenges were tough for me. I have some python experience from prior to the course but I’m really just still beginning to learn it. I don’t find coding to be intuitive yet, but I enjoy figuring out how to use it to solve a problem.

por Darran W

Aug 15, 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

por Yongchao Q

Jun 23, 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)