Chevron Left
Voltar para Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computational Thinking for Problem Solving da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
808 classificações
271 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Melhores avaliações

J
18 de Dez de 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW
3 de Fev de 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 269 Avaliações para o Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

por Yan L

28 de Mai de 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

por Mouad B

9 de Jul de 2020

This course really gave more confidence to write code, i even discovered that i can solve problems and detect bugs in my code with a little time and focus, one of the best courses i have taken online, and would recommend to everyone, literally everyone

por David R G

12 de Jan de 2019

The coding challenges were tough for me. I have some python experience from prior to the course but I’m really just still beginning to learn it. I don’t find coding to be intuitive yet, but I enjoy figuring out how to use it to solve a problem.

por Darran W

15 de Ago de 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

por Yongchao Q

22 de Jun de 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)

por Ross T

7 de Jul de 2019

Great course! I highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting started with computer science or computer programming. This course provides a good introduction to the thought processes and concepts used in these fields.

por ZHAO Y

6 de Jul de 2020

I like week 4 particularly, because it compresses the basics of python into one week. I really like to see the outcomes of programming. In this way, I can see the outcomes immediately instead of starting with the "hello world" stuff.

por Alan R

30 de Mar de 2020

I thought this course was great. The progression from manual deconstruction of a problem all the way to coding the problems in python was great. The lectures were very interesting and were easy to relate to real world situations.

por marc l

15 de Jun de 2020

Sometimes you feel lonely, but this is a really agreeable experience once you figuring out, I recommend this introduction course for those who seek to catch a glimpse of the power of computer sciences and information technologies.

por Rushy R

24 de Set de 2019

A very good beginners course to learn how to take a computational approach to solving problems. For those who come from a non CS backgrounds and want to learn programming, this class is a great starting place, highly recommend!

por Xinyi C S

10 de Set de 2019

In the course, I learned how to solve real world problems with computational thinking principles. I feel that I have accomplished a lot since I was able to write a python program solving a complex problem after this course.

por Theodore P

9 de Jul de 2020

I very much loved the layout of the course and the method of delivery. As a deaf individual, I very much enjoyed the ability to read the lecture as the video played. A truly multi-dimensional sensory experience. Thank you!

por Aaron W

17 de Mai de 2020

Extremely high quality course. It is extremely evident that a lot of time and effort went into it. I'm very thankful I took the course if only for the exposure to a different way to attack problems in a systematic manner.

por Shengyang X

9 de Fev de 2019

This course is very good, and give me basic introductionary feelings and experience on how to computational thinking to solve problems and realize the solution by using Python codes. This is very efficient and powerful.

por Angela D

15 de Dez de 2019

Really great beginner course for anyone looking to understand CS / programming fundamentals. The course does a really god job building a strong foundational element and then concluding with you writing your own program.

por Anisa R

26 de Jan de 2020

I loved this course! It was a perfect introduction to computer science and basic programming. I had no prior experience, and I found it challenging but understandable. It was well-structured. I'm excited to learn more.

por Jeremy B

13 de Mai de 2020

One of the best courses I've taken. I've been out of university level study for a while now, but this was a great way to learn an overview of computational thinking without much prior knowledge of computer science.

por Md. H H S B

14 de Dez de 2018

Its really helpful for real life situation problem solving.In some cases maybe we know some of the terms which you will learn here but for using those in a organized way this course is really very helpful i think.

por Cristóbal H J

29 de Nov de 2018

Really excellent course I highly recommend it. As a self taught programmer, I feel I have a gain a deeper understanding of what I'm doing. UPenn teaching quality is top notch, I want to go for the MCIT program now

por Artem S

3 de Fev de 2019

Great course for students that want to start solving difficult problems and understand the programming better. Great for students that think about teaching programming in the future and solve difficult problems.

por Ezekiel D

30 de Abr de 2020

Thanks, alot for this course. it was super helpful, easy to follow, and me loving challenging task. this course allowed me experience that in a handful. Thank You coursera, Thank You University of Pennsylvania.

por Benjamin T

8 de Dez de 2019

Really good course explaining the fundamentals of computational thinking. A must for people who are looking into doing computer science or any kind of software-related work and don't have a background in it.

por José L R H

31 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course it was a great challenge to achieve but I think this is the best way to learn, I really recommend you if you have time to street a little try to solve the exercises that you can learn well

por Troy E

15 de Dez de 2019

A very good overview of computational thinking! If it's your first time, you need to take this course. The courses uses real-life examples and unplugged programming, making learning relevant and personal.

por Craig D

8 de Jun de 2019

Great Course!!! I would highly recommend this fo anyone. I have bachelors

and masters degrees in engineering and I found this course very helpful and plan to apply what I learned at my place of work. Thanks!