Chevron Left
Voltar para A cosmovisão dos aborígines e a educação

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A cosmovisão dos aborígines e a educação da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
352 classificações
176 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Melhores avaliações

CB

14 de set de 2021

This course was amazing, I first took Indigenous Canada and this was my 2nd course. I felt I had to learn all I can on these important and current issues - a better understanding is what we all need.

CB

25 de mar de 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. Thank you so much for the time and energy you put into creating it and providing it in this way so people from all over can enhance their learning.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 183 Avaliações para o A cosmovisão dos aborígines e a educação

por Joyce B

23 de abr de 2022

This was a great course, which I really enjoyed. The learning was doing in such as way that was interesting, held my attention and was enjoyable. Now that I know better I can do better and I look forward to implementing the learning I have aquired into my everyday life. Thank you for such a great course.

por Irene S

3 de nov de 2020

I want to thank the University of Toronto for giving me and others around the world the opportunity to attend this course. It was so interesting. It increased my cultural baggage and my humanity a lot. Thanks also to Prof, Restoule for his clarity and the evident commitment in his job.

por Marion T

9 de ago de 2020

An excellent overview of very difficult issues. I would have appreciated a complete references list on a stand alone document. also the video transcripts could be bundled into one pdf so that students can compare the texts back and forth.

Thank you for the chance to learn this!

por Carol J

17 de dez de 2021

T​his is actually geared towards teachers, but provides valuable insights for the lay person wanting to better understand North American Indigenous worldviews. The accopanying YouTube videos are must-see, and this resource is probably the most valuable for non-teachers.

por Amanda M L

2 de ago de 2021

This was a genuinely engaging and valuable starting point for understanding Aboriginal culture and where education in our modern society has come from the days of residential schools and their harmful intent to reduce culture and stability in the indegineous community.

por Agnieszka M

22 de abr de 2022

It was an eye opening experience and I have learned many things that surprised me. There were many valuable resources shared throughou t the course content. The only suggestion I have is to keep updating the content and especially the discussion posts.

por Jude O

13 de jun de 2020

This study is beyond my imagination,,as it exceeded my expectations and renewed a passion to study and learn more about indigenous people and their very unique cultural identity. The course is worth more than than any price tag you can ever imagine

por jessica h

8 de nov de 2020

This was the best course. I loved the way the information was presented and the additional resources lead me on a wonderful journey of learning and contemplation. I hope that one day I will be able to take some of these classes in person. Miigwetch!

por Richard J

22 de set de 2020

The course provided a new perspective on the negative effects of imposed non-native education systems and values as well as providing an understanding of how positive change can be implemented.

Many thanks for the opportunity. R. Joseph, Halifax, NS

por Alison M

18 de nov de 2020

An essential course delivered by an expert and empathetic instructor. In my opinion, this course is a must for educators in Canada, anyone working with aboriginal populations, or anyone who cares about the past, present and future of the country.

por Mutheu M

22 de fev de 2021

This was an extremely enlightening course. I have learned SO much and I will definitely be going over some of the material again, as well as recommending the course to others. I share what I have learned with others almost daily now.

Thank you.

por Joyce N

16 de jul de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I learned so much about the history of our First Peoples. The teachings and teachers were exceptional. Thank you for making these courses available to those of us that cannot attend a class room setting.

por Gerry E R

17 de mar de 2021

i grew up as an aboriginal person my mother was Cree treaty 6 territory, so I know what the society had in store for us as children grewing up and it was not a pretty sight. This course took me back to my youth and its powerful.

por Mava S

11 de set de 2020

I believe this course offers a very good foundation for people new to Indigenous knowledge and the history of Aboriginal people in Canada. I personally learned a great deal and feel motivated to learn even more about the topic.

por Lauren K

8 de out de 2019

A wonderful course with a fantastic instructor! This course is very informative for anyone who wants to learn more about the Aboriginal population and includes discussions of their history, current issues, and the future.

por Yvonne W

12 de jun de 2020

Excellent, thoughtful, and dynamic course! I would highly recommend it. My only critique is that the links on the site should be updated since several are broken (saves time from looking it up in the discussion forums).

por Boris T

7 de abr de 2017

This has been an phenomenal course on the education and worldviews of First Nations people. As an educator in a First Nation's community in Ontario's north, the knowledge in the lectures has been phenomenal.

por Anne B

16 de ago de 2021

Very educational and grounded. I felt myself growing in both understanding and disappointment . I wish that I could speak to my ancestors to help them see how blind they were. I am now definitely an Ally.

por Susan D

13 de mar de 2021

This has been my most challenging course in more than a decade of my participation in Coursera.org. My humble accolades to the Instructor, and the many others who invite ALL of us, to change the world.

por Dawn S

17 de set de 2020

I really enjoyed the content, It brought about many emotions and clarity, while still guiding my inquiry and desire to learn more and further my journey towards better understanding and reconciliation.

por ANGELO R S

3 de dez de 2017

I appreciated the course because of its rather specific worldview. A very interesting introduction to another way of thinking, and seeing historical facts from a quite different perspective.

por Hally H

2 de fev de 2022

First Nations in Canada. This one is head and shoulders above the rest.

Thanks ever so much for putting on the course, it was incredible and possibly life changing learning experience.

por Katie O

28 de set de 2021

The instructor is super knowledgable and provides clear insight and perspectives in Aboriginal Worldviews and Education. I am hooked. This will not be my last Coursera course!

por Colleen G

18 de nov de 2021

T​his is an excellent course for teachers to take to increase their foundational knowledge and pedagogical knowledge of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit history and education.

por Jennifer T

14 de out de 2020

Fantastic starter for understanding perspective. I can now understand the Canadian news better than I ever have, and I am asking better questions, especially of politicians.