Chevron Left
Voltar para People Analytics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de People Analytics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.5
estrelas
4,900 classificações
926 avaliações

Sobre o curso

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Melhores avaliações

AA
21 de Dez de 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

AK
4 de Out de 2020

detailed, yet high level enough to bring any specialist into the subject. provides useful information that is beyond people analytics. very recommended or any level/specification HR professional.

Filtrar por:

601 — 625 de 915 Avaliações para o People Analytics

por Christian G

2 de Ago de 2016

G

por Laurentiu B

9 de Dez de 2015

G

por angana b m

16 de Jun de 2016

The course was very informational. A lot of the concepts were new but very practical, as much as were the typical theories we deal with everyday in our corporate lives.

As much as I appreciate the course content, I had expected more metrics to be discussed, more maths, more problem solving, a session on a set of metrics, formulae, some business cases as a part of evaluation would have been more realistic. I deal with lot of analytics and numbers always. I do a set number of things. I was expecting the professors to guide us on more number crunching techniques with say, an excel of data of say 1000 employees. How do we play around with such data - which is what I do. And a thorough insight on such would have been amazing.

I hope my feedback is taken into consideration in a positive light. I loved your sessions, and would love to join in the future again, and it would be really helpful if you could guide us in some of the ways I tried to explain.

Thank once again.

Best

angana

por Joseph D

21 de Jan de 2016

Pretty good. Cade's analysis of the NFL draft is the highlight of the course and one of my favorite videos in the entire Wharton BA series. Overall the course gets kind of depressing towards the end as you realize how noisy this data is and how tough it is to get access to.

Martine's network analysis module is pretty cool. It would not have been overload to work in some of the calculations of network metrics, though, and they would have made for better quiz items. I'll have to be honest, though. I'm not very hopeful about ever being able to use this kind of analysis in the workspace.

Matthew's module was ok but I thought could have used more hard examples. Maybe some research from law enforcement or some field with lots of pre-tests could be used to illustrate regression and some of those techniques.

por AMAR K

3 de Jun de 2020

It was great learning from such experienced mentors and they got us very deep insights of research. however there were some grey lines as per me, methodologies, and actual working was expected from my side and practical application. Secondly, the language issue, as they were very clear about the language but the frequency and the level they were talking was a bit difficult to catch but watching it twice or thrice can help, that's not much of an issue. well apart from the issues that i have mentioned i more of a positive perspective towards this course, making the concept clear was the brightest side of the course and recommend even others to pursue this course and additional linking course that will be a great help in the analytical world.

por Shailesh S

18 de Dez de 2015

Very nice foundation level course. Based on many courses I have taken so far, I have high expectations from the ones offered by Wharton (Univ of Pennsylvania), this one met the expectations. Good content at even at introductory level. At least for weeks 1 to 3. Week 4 was a bit weak, not much substance, can use some modifications for making it better. Thanks to professors for sharing their knowledge and all the people involved in producing it. Some quiz questions weren't good (not clear from Q as well as A perspectives), and I wish the course had more interactions with professors, other students and community TAs. And, of course, a free "Statement of Accomplishment" would have been awesome. In any case, overall good course, worth taking.

por Vishnu M R

28 de Abr de 2020

Module 1 was particularly difficult to understand because it involved a lot of statistics.Whereas the other modules were relatively easier to grasp.Also some of the examples given were in American context it is difficult for non Americans to understand the examples such as NFL, Baseball etc.If the examples were chosen based on the most popular sports (universally played sports) such as football or tennis it would have been more easier to grasp.Also as a precursor to this course, one can introduce the basics of statistics which will help us understand the statistical examples, tools and algorithms that you are covering in the "People Analytics" Course.Overall I liked the course except for the few things mentioned above.

por Sampurna M

27 de Abr de 2020

This is a great course that provides a comprehensive overview of People Analytics concepts and applications. I'd strongly recommend it to HR professionals looking to understand this burgeoning field. It really got me thinking about applications in my own organisation. Two ways in which this course might be improved - first, some of the examples could be more tailored to an international audience (case studies on American sports are difficult to follow if you're not familiar with the rules and terminology) , and second, including more practical examples of the statistical methods mentioned would help bring the theory to life.

por Sugandha S

17 de Out de 2016

Great course to get the basic knowledge of People Analytics. Looking forward to learning more about it. The professors have done a great job explaining every point.

The reason I gave this course 4 stars and not 5 is because I felt the use of sports examples was a bit hard for me to relate to and understand. To some extent it made sense but if you don't know much about sports, it might be a bit hard to grasp an understanding right away.

But overall, I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about hiring, organizational challenges, people analytics in general.

por Jonas O

2 de Jan de 2019

Really liked the course. The only thing is I find it dives too quickly into specific examples and approaches, while I would have expected an introductory course on People Analytics to remain more general. E.g. this is what I found in the last part of the course: how to be a good analyst, how to build a people analytics team, how to influence your organization. I would have expected these last topics to be the main part of the course.

Excellent use of online tools, e.g. I also appreciated the combination of videos, quiz and reading.

por Marko R

27 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting course with great lecturers! Unfortunately, I'm assuming it was designed as an introduction to people analytics theory (and as such is a 5* course) but I'm still disappointed that it had no practical part where we can actually see the data and numbers in effect. Also, I think a mention of an important bias is omitted - measuring performance on a certain metric but discouraging or hindering employees to actively pursue the required metric.

Nevertheless, a very useful and enjoyable course!

por Sofija J

22 de Jun de 2020

I really liked academic approach to this popular subject in modern HR world. The instructors have covered various areas of people analytics in nice and understandable manner. On the other side, since this is a dynamic area, maybe it would be useful to review the course each year and come up with some more recent studies and/or examples from good business practices. Also, adding some basic statistics module to the course might be benefitial for some viewers with no much education in this field.

por Vijayalakshmi N

15 de Jul de 2020

I found this course very useful as it illustrates the various facets of people analytics. The instructors were very good and gave sufficient examples to support and explain the various topics in the course. I'm eager to know if I will be able to put my learning into practice - as was rightly pointed out by the instructors that the field is still being created and not devoid of organizational challenges. However, I am quite excited to have completed the course.

por Naren M

25 de Mai de 2020

Breadth of topics presented during the course is very impressive. The instructors demonstrate expertise in their respective areas. I have developed an increased level of respect for the field of People Analytics and how it can benefit not only individuals but also teams, organizations and eventually industries. There is a great need to exercise caution on how analytics is applied in this context, which have been aptly brought forward by the instructors.

por hejiamian

27 de Mai de 2019

got a good brief introduction of People Analytics, love Professor Massey's way to teach, giving some practical example to understand the concept. Prof. Bidwell gave some hints on statistic which are very helpful and essential for data analyst. Prof. Haas's introduction to organization analytics is new to me, hope can give more hands-on example, especially on measure and evaluate part. Thanks a lot. Big data VS smart data is very challenging.

por Ajinkya P

12 de Abr de 2020

Course is great in building the conceptual understanding about using data in people functions. It really addresses the nitty gritties of day to day HR activities and how one should tackle them with the use of data, but I would like to see it with more of practical exposure with the case studies, actual assignments with each module coming in which would be a great handson experience and will help us learn in better.

por Haris H

6 de Mar de 2018

Hi,

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It gave me a good foundation of People Analytics. However, i am extremely keen to focus on Staffing Analytics and Talent Analytics. I want to further explore these 2 topics and work with practical real world examples and case studies in order to implement them in my organization. I would appreciate if I am provided the right guidance regarding the same.

Best regards,

Haris

por Vinayak M M

24 de Mar de 2018

Hi, Thank you for such a wonderful course in People Analytics. It helped me to understand basics of data and how it can be used and utilized in organizational decision making. The course makes me curious about data analytics and prompted me go for more in this field. Thank you again.

I have deducted one star because the speed of English speaking is faster than my capability of comprehension. -;)

por LAURA M R R

6 de Nov de 2020

I like that the teachers explained with a lot of detail some of the common problems faced when working with people analytics, however I wished I had seen more depth in some of the analysis that can be made or maybe some materials about formulating performance evaluations, rotation programs, network analysis, etc., in order to have a broader understanding of the different situations explained

por Michael C

29 de Jun de 2020

Good introductory course for someone with no prior experience in statistics or HR. The course takes a conceptual macro approach that assumes students have an overview of the entire organisation, which makes it easy to understand most of the core ideas. However, applying these concepts within the smaller context of a team within a larger organisation will be a bit more challenging.

por Jenny T

29 de Out de 2017

The course provides a broad general overview of what people analytics is, the types of questions that can be answered with data, and provides helpful examples from the field of business and sports. The lecturers are clear. However, I would have liked a bit more information on the actual tools and methods so that I can better consume/ understand this data and make better decisions.

por Sandip M

16 de Ago de 2020

The course was a good introduction to People Analytics and gives good food for thought on how to conduct various HR activities in a more planned manner. However, if there were a little more hands-on approach it would have been perfect. The lecturers are no doubt very talents and it was a good touch to add the last 20 mins video of them discussing the effects on people analytics.

por sampadanayak

16 de Jan de 2017

This is a great course that gives a starting point and a framework for your people analytics journey. Though I expected a few more actual tools and techniques kind of inputs , this course did a good job at enabling me to ask the right questions when I do a piece of analysis, which is much more important.

A must do course for all people leaders and not just HR professionals.

por Gabriela E L M

13 de Dez de 2016

Well explained, instructors show knowledge and experience in the area. Interesting, specially the topics to avoid pitfalls, cognitive biases, etc.

I thought that the Collaboration part was too abstract, some examples of What was measured, How (with numbers), the changes that happened in Collaboration and the measured Outcomes would definitely improve this part of the course.

por Mario F

18 de Jun de 2016

Objectively analyzing the capabilties of people is very important in order to avoid the subjectivity. This provides an equal playing field for everyone. I really appreciate the feedback and techniques we got. I did however feel the Organizatinal Network Analysis was too general, and didn't provide much specific details. But it was a good overall background on the subject.