Chevron Left
Voltar para Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences da instituição UNSW Sydney (Universidade de Nova Gales do Sul)

4.7
estrelas
638 classificações
236 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

Melhores avaliações

NN
15 de Ago de 2021

Being someone who loves movies, this course has provided me deep knowledge about storytelling . the lectures were very understandable for a beginner. Hope to use this knowledge in future. :)

MP
23 de Mai de 2021

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 233 Avaliações para o Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

por M.S.V. I

26 de Nov de 2017

simply the best!

por Kamdi O

15 de Mar de 2017

Amazing course.

por Daniel Y

4 de Mar de 2021

Great course!

por REVATI M

20 de Nov de 2020

Great course!

por Наталья Н О

2 de Abr de 2018

enjoyed it :)

por Mohammad A E N M

5 de Mai de 2020

Recommended

por Irene T

20 de Mai de 2020

Fantastic!

por Egorova E V

1 de Dez de 2016

Wonderful!

por SINGH R D

25 de Mai de 2020

excellent

por Лапиков В А

5 de Nov de 2018

'mazeng!

por Soham S

25 de Ago de 2021

Amazing

por sweety d

17 de Jan de 2021

Great

por Jonathan

19 de Ago de 2021

good

por Ms. G Y

17 de Dez de 2020

Good

por RAGHAVENDRA M

12 de Mar de 2021

g

por DANDA L

3 de Mar de 2021

G

por Victoria C

7 de Jul de 2020

the course itself was fantastically robust and the assignments walk you through producing your own transmedia bible, which was incredibly helpful for my project, and my career. the assignments say they will take 1 hour, but they are asking for 1000-1250 words (or equivalent) each and I don't know anybody who can accomplish that in an hour. I easily spent 3-5 hours on my homework to answer each question thoughtfully and bring it back to my project.

I left a star off because of the community -- I received a grade of 84%, and didn't receive any feedback that was useful over 4 pretty significant assignments. peers would give me 3/5 points -- the lowest you can get and get credit -- and then tell me my project was great. one peer assessed my work at 70% and then told me my work was good and very detailed. the user experience of assessment should have the justifications for points right next to the question rather than leaving feedback for the end -- they should be encouraged to explain which parts of the rubric were not fulfilled and it would be even better if they were asked to offer suggestions that would get full marks, too. the grading was useless to me other than telling the robots I was participating, and I was left to figure out the course as it related to my work completely on my own.

overall, the content is absolutely on point -- the community needs better UX.

por Andriana K

16 de Abr de 2021

I learned so many things that I know will be useful to me. The content was well organised and very well directed to students interested in the field of transmedia storytellin. I also found the assignments very well structured, they pushed me to think creatively and to actually put my ideas to the test. In the end the course made me realise how much possibility there is in this field, as well as helped create a general plan for my project. The only thing I would have loved to see in this course is feedback form the profesors, as that would solidify my knowledge much better, although I know that's hard to achieve in this kind of platform, I think it would level up the course, if anything at least for the paid track.Overall a really great course! I would definatelly recomend it!

por Martina F

11 de Dez de 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I believe the content is really great and the way it is developed and told is also very interesting. Great professors and good real life examples. The reason why I chose to put a 4 instead of a 5 is that I found the system where the peers evaluate your work quite unfair. The four assignments where very elaborate and I believe that this kind of evaluation is too subjective. I didn't have a good experience with it. I know it's more difficult, but I believe it should be done by a professional, and like this avoid final grades being subjective, uneven and unfair. Otherwise, the whole course is super! Great way of entering the world of transmedia storytelling.

por Jorge F M

2 de Abr de 2020

El curso es bueno, extenso y sobre todo muy bien enriquecido por testimonios desde todo tipo de áreas, en boca de profesionales que se desempeñan en la narración transmedia. Creo que lo más interesante es la amplitud de perspectivas y experiencias que ofrece en torno a la participación activa de públicos. Aunque, por supuesto, sería deseable mayor nivel de profundidad en las explicaciones de los videos alrededor de ciertos temas que apenas son abordados como la realización específica de una etnografía o la conceptualización de un workshop con un grupo focal. Pero como introducción a la conceptualización de una idea que pueda proyectarse de modo transmediático está muy bien.

por Alexander

25 de Mai de 2020

A very complete course, with a lot of focus on Australian and US companies, but with great content and very well structured. What there are too many videos that some do not add value. And it would have been great if you had incorporated a map with the best transmedia studios by country. Still, I highly recommend it. I have been very surprised that the creation of content is so linked to USER RESEARCH, which is my profession, which opens up new and very interesting career paths for me. Greetings.

por Deborah S

27 de Out de 2016

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to transmedia studies and practices. The framework of the course is well structured and it's easy to follow. The resources are fantastic with lots of advice and content provided by industry professionals. If you've heard of transmedia, but don't know what it is or how it's going to change storytelling in the future, take this course and find out.

por Stuart M

13 de Jul de 2020

It was a very good course introduction with the right intensity and knowledge tools to make a good start to building a transmedia project from your storyworld.

There is a vast amount of industry expert input and many, many resource materials for further development of your knowledge base and self-exploration.

por David B

28 de Out de 2020

You'll gain valuable insight. Extensive set of course interviews and lectures. You're asked to create your story, share it and refine it. Includes insights to i.d. your audience, local and global. Collaborate with them and consider all touch points on the journey to your story.

por Shreya M

12 de Ago de 2020

Very interesting course with perspectives on transmedia storytelling from the best in the business.

The videos, the resources, the assignments were all extremely well designed and helped learn and understand easily.

Thanks to the instructors for putting together this course.