Chevron Left
Voltar para Trading Basics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Trading Basics da instituição Indian School of Business

4.2
542 classificações
123 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Melhores avaliações

NS

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,\n\nAny one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

DB

Aug 17, 2017

It is perfect for even beginners to learn basics of trading fundamentals and apply it for advanced studies. Recommend this to everyone.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Trading Basics

por Michael F

Jun 07, 2018

I found the information provided useful. And certainly as a VERY "gentle" Introduction to the material the course was adequate. But I have always had a BIG Problem with courses in which the Professor's use "Slides" and do NOT actually ADD Value to the slides. I would say there is TREMENDOUS room for improvement of the course if the Professor would be willing to go BEYOND just the mere "Re-statement" of the Equations (That anyone who is not visually impaired can easily read for themselves) and actually provide some additional context. Actually, the Professor in this course does this, somewhat, but only VERY minimally, and NOT nearly ENOUGH! :)

However, I definitely don't want to be totally Negative, the (albeit VERY brief) comments the Professor made indicating HOW the information (values calculated from equations, values of ratios, etc) could actually be USED did provide me with some more insight than I would have been able to come up with on my own. And getting "more" insight than I, myself, can come up with on "my own" is basically the ONLY reason I want to "take" an "educational" course. However, one of the things, I myself, have consistently had to deal with in an attempt to "learn" about Investing is that book knowledge (or in the case of this course, data and text from slides), is not really enough. What I constantly search for is "insights from the "Experts". I have no doubt the Professor is an expert in the subject and it would have been better, for me, if he had been willing to share more of his "nuanced" expertise with the students. However, I recognize this is "just" an "Intro" course, so I likely have been a bit too negative than I should be. And I actually was reasonably "satisfied" with the course. Probably this review should be classified in the category of someone whose expectations for course was somewhat unrealistic.

Finally, not even sure if I need to say this because it was so blatant, but there was a consistent amount of ERRORS in the Slides also! Essentially, the errors amounted to some lines of data from a previous equation being repeated for a new ratio calculation in the Week 1 material and then occasional errors where the material in the slide was different from the Professor's stated numbers in his lectures.

por Udit N

May 03, 2019

The Theoretical Concepts in Week 1 and Week 2 are good and a student can follow from scratch. However, Week 3 is completely different and completely has vague teaching when it comes to explaining CAPM and CAPM Beta. Either the week is missing videos or there is a problem with the assumptions of the instructor. The instructor is just reading the numbers from the slides without explaining any formulas properly. The discussion forum is similar to the summary I have written here. There are many students who have encountered the same situation I have. Would suggest the instructor from ISB to take a look at it and Coursera to do it's part by auditing the course.

por Aida H

Jun 17, 2019

I learned a lot and liked the practical teaching method in weeks 1 and 2. However, week 3 and 4 lessons are not clear.

por Elias T

Nov 29, 2018

The course was really good, but the professor should focus more in explaining things and not just reading numbers.

por Rohit J

Jul 27, 2019

The instructor explained all the theories and formulas in a simple manner which made it easier for me to understand.

por Zachary S

Feb 10, 2019

There were mistakes in the slides presented where the instustor would say one thing but the slide displayed different numbers, the slides also could not be downloaded for review. Additional the quizzes also had mistakes and wouldn't tell you which question you got wrong. I would spend days retaking some quizzes just to find out I had to accept the wrong answer in order to pass the quiz. The additional materials and readings did not reflect the rigor of what I was expecting from the course.

por RACHIT N

Dec 19, 2018

cool

por Harshul a

Feb 09, 2019

Brilliantly explained,,,,

por yogesh b

Jan 13, 2019

effectively covers the basic part of trading

por Homero A A M

Aug 13, 2018

I find it great, I just cannot downloaded the additional resources such as some Excel's, referred in the videos.

por Mudita B

Aug 12, 2018

E

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

por Dhiraj M

Jul 08, 2017

Awesome learning experience

por Nitesh S

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,

Any one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

por Mohamed S H

Nov 26, 2016

S

por Bon

Dec 27, 2017

Good Course to learn trading basics.

por Manju R

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks great course.. loved it!

por Abhishek P

Aug 25, 2017

Highly mathematical, concepts and numericals were thoroughly tested in quizzes

por Roberto P G J

Mar 18, 2018

Vergy Good Course.

The instructor is very clear and objective and the examples help a lot in understanding.

The course is most recommended for those who have few knowledge, because the content is very basic

por Abhaybharati G

Feb 04, 2017

Amazing course. Highly relevant for the fundamental knowledge of markets and trading in them.

por Abhishek S

Jul 16, 2017

Excellent mentor and learning !

por Atindranath G

Jul 18, 2017

Its a very nice course. This course is must for any one who wants to pursue career in trading. Professor's teaching methodology is really commendable. I would recommend you to take this course. Thank you Coursera.

por Harrison F

Sep 22, 2017

Spectacular course, very detailed and informative but also interesting and attention grabbing. Thanks you!

por Misael C

Jan 14, 2018

great

por Vineeth

May 31, 2017

The course gives a very good overview on the basics of Trading.

por Vaibhav S

Jun 01, 2017

Basic course with good insights in the last week.