Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.7
stars
2,311 classificações
569 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Washington M M

Jun 27, 2018

I have gained a lot of knowledge with this course. The content of each module helped me to deepen the aspects of intellectual creation presented by each image. It has simply been enlightening.

por Antonella B

Aug 18, 2017

Wonderful. To get into Moma archives has been incredible. Interviews are so interesting. Really grest course. Couldn't imagine such a gift! Thank YOU. From the heart.

Antonella, Rome. Italy.

por Amanda W

Mar 22, 2016

Very comprehensive overview of photography - I learned a lot more than I expected given the time frame. There were a lot of resources and readings, and I enjoyed the fact that the quizzes

por Christine H

Feb 10, 2016

Have just completed the first lesson and really enjoyed the videos which makes the subject so more compelling and the ideas more accessible. Look forward to continuing and learning more.

por Jorge d l M

Jul 02, 2019

Simple stunning amazing compilation of authors, tendencies, videos and information. Totally recommend it. So easy and challenging at the same time. MOMA and Sarah Meister amazing job.

por Francisco J V C

Jan 22, 2020

Amazing course took it back in 2016 and it gave me a great understanding of what photography is and can be, the forums were very active back then and was a very enriching experience.

por Marcelo E P O

Nov 05, 2017

A really interesting course that allowed me to refine my approach and understanding in several aspects of photography and in turn allowed me to mature some ideas for future projects.

por Richard W

Jun 20, 2017

A great introduction to extend the perspective from "just" taking pictures to a broader understanding and perspective of the perceptional, social and personal aspects of photography.

por Ana M A

Nov 11, 2018

i thoroughly enjoyed this course a lot more than i expected. Being able to question imagery and its narrative in different ways. Love to digest things differently. Thank you so much

por Beatriz C C

Dec 01, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs is a fantastic course. It is perfectly guided and contains a lot of interesting, valuable and useful material. I enjoyed it enormously. Totally recommend.

por Karin F

Oct 26, 2019

Thank you so much for this vital course. I loved the interviews and Slideshows. Some of the reading material was too vague for my taste. But otherall it was a fantastic experience!

por Beatrice G

Nov 14, 2017

This course gives you a wide overview at different techniques, styles and fields of photography, from its birth till present day. I would recommend it for both novices and experts.

por Michelle H

May 02, 2017

Great introduction to looking critically at images, challenging myself with questions about images. Course is well presented with an interesting array of artists and interviews.

por Lydia P

Jul 12, 2019

Awesome course, Amazing wealth of knowledge, Εxceptional photographers. Profesional and joyfull ride to the magic world of Photography. Thank you Sarah Meister, MOMA, Coursera.

por Eliza B

Apr 25, 2018

It was a very nice surprise that interviews with famous photographers have been included.

It's a way of viewing behind the scenes that can change the way one sees photography.

por Elena S

Jun 29, 2016

Absolutely Awesome! It is a time travel reviewing history, psychology and others important factors of the humanity. Really enjoyable and really high quality. Highly impressed.

por Fabiola C

Mar 09, 2016

Sono solo all'inizio di questo corso (la terza settimana) ma lo trovo ottimo e ben fatto, malgrado la mia resistenza alla lingua inglese proseguo il cammino. Consigliatissimo!

por Mike B

May 28, 2019

Really useful insights to the works of photographers over the years and how styles have evolved/been revolutionised. Great course content and challenging quizes/assignments

por Janelle L

Mar 27, 2016

Excellent, comprehensive, thoughtful, informative. I am extremely impressed by the content and the resources provided. I would like it to be offered again.

Thank you so much.

por ayumi k

Jul 21, 2017

Each session is very beautiful with many photographs and great explanations. I am looking forward to look at many photographs with the background knowledge learning here.

por Alessandro P

Apr 12, 2016

Useful and indispensable course for those who work with images: by photographers to graphic designers; by art curators to museum directors, etc.

Truly a well built course.

por Noemí P S

Nov 11, 2018

Interesting approach of looking photographs through different issues. I also learnt ways to look at pictures.Strongly recommend for those people who love photography.

por patricia y

Dec 22, 2017

Very interesting course. It is a introduction course to interpretation and history of photography. Interesting topics are developed along the weeks with amazing videos.

por Purice A

Mar 21, 2016

A great insight into Photography. A mix of history and artistic education, mostly orientated towards art. I've discovered some new doors into the world of photography.

por Emanuele C

Apr 26, 2017

This course keeps what the title promises, look through the photographs, is a truly innovative course, once completed the photos will be seen with new eyes. Great!!!!