Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
3,298 classificações
891 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 880 Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Andy P

Apr 03, 2016

An extremely well organised, informative and educational course, with excellent materials including book extracts, web links and videos. A lot of time and effort has gone into making this course and it clearly shows. 'Seeing Through Photographs' is a must for anyone who is serious about photography.

por Saida I

May 31, 2020

I want to thank all the teachers and those supported the course, it's an amazing opportunity to sort out the knowledge and get a deep understanding of photography as art and medium. It filled the gaps in my understanding of this art form and gave me so many new ideas and inspiration! Thank you!!!!!

por Emile C

Oct 18, 2018

This course is great if you interested in the history of photography. It looks at the past so you know why photography is the way it is today. Whether you enjoy taking pictures or just looking at photographs. This course breaks it down indepth so you can anaylize photographs on a day-to-day basis.

por Mirella C

Jun 14, 2020

This course offers an excellent overview of the movements and styles that made the history of photography. The Readings & Additional Resources they complete each week are real treasures through which exploring and be inspired by the deep analysis of the authors. Now I love photography even more.

por Filipe C

Jun 01, 2017

Eu achei o curso super interessante. Há 10 anos já venho estudando fotografia, desde a técnica, como sua história. Fiz mestrado na área e mesmo assim havia muitas informações novas para mim. Recomendo muito este curso, principalmente para aqueles que tem a fotografia como meio de ganhar a vida.

por Thaneshwary k

May 29, 2020

Coursera gives me a platform to explore new skills. I was able to experience education from world-renowned universities without losing out on career opportunities.

- Thaneshwary kirupanantharasa -

por Ivone R d F

Jan 09, 2018

The course offers knowledge about photography and its history, classes are carefully prepared and in order to facilitate understanding. The questions were clear, instructive and of good quality.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course, my expectation has been reached.

por Cíntia A

Nov 14, 2017

The course is great. I am not expert about photograph just a fan of it but with this course I learnt a lot about the history of photograph and about the artists as well. Deffinitily if I could have a chance to attend a second module of this course I would do it. Thanks MoMA and Coursera.

por Stéphane I

Jul 03, 2020

Seeing Through Photographs is an excellently curated and presented course. The historical images assembled and the new content created for the course are all pertinent to the subject being discussed. Seeing Through Photographs helped me understand and appreciate photography even more.

por Fernando A

Nov 03, 2019

Gran curso, el contenido es bastante moderno en su presentaciòn. Las referencias amplias con bastantes entrevistas personalizados de los artistas nombrados a traves de cada semana. El curso tambien ofrece la posibilidad de discutir en grupo y de dar su propio trabajo al final de este.

por Shilpa S

Dec 12, 2018

This course gave me such a valuable perspective on all that photography can be and do, to see the diverse work of some greats in the field, the constant reinvention (and innovation) in the field as the world around us changes, especially in the way we make and consume images everyday.

por Pannawat M

May 03, 2020

Thank you for this great course. The content covers both the general public and focuses on deep content. I have just additions to the Indicates required readings and resources. The file is a ★ PDF. I would like to have the image of artist of the sample in the content as well.

best,

por Matilde B

Nov 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Un viaje ilustrativo y exacto a través de la fotografía, desde sus inicios hasta nuestros días. Transmite conocimientos que ayudan a comprender el sentido de hacer fotografía y que estimulan al crecimiento en la manera de capturar imágenes. Aprendí y lo disfruté.

por Ale R

May 31, 2016

So beautifully "curated", so intricate but simple in execution, such an amazing insight into American photography. Fully recommended to anybody remotely interested in photography and its history. Thank you MoMA, and Ms. Meister for carefully putting together this marvelous course!

por Pecherskikh A

May 10, 2020

Both insightful and inspiring story about the medium's history through the look at the outstanding American artists and their works. It was a real pleasure to take part. I especially enjoyed emails with additional materials and invites for online sessions of questions & answers.

por Alexandra C J

May 26, 2020

I recommend this class as a wonderful historical overview of photography. Take advantage of the extra readings and video presentations. Course is very comprehensive about the history of photography - it lightly touches on post modernism and artists of today. Wonderful teacher!

por Angela T

May 28, 2018

I m new to studying courses on art and I found this course really interesting and informative. The structure of the course is easy to follow and I partcularly enjoyed hearing the artists talk about their work. It has ins;pired me to sign up for another MOMA course on coursera.

por Julie H

Aug 19, 2018

I absolutely loved this course and have learnt so much from it. The resources, both videos and readings, were first class and very informative. It was challenging and really made me think more critically and deeply about photographs. Thank you MoMA for another great course.

por Luca R

Mar 27, 2016

Deep and well structured material, with a high level of interaction and diverse media (videos, extracts from books, links to websites). The final assignment is also very well thought, interactive and instructive. The community section is interesting and good for discussion.

por Donata L

Apr 22, 2020

I found the course very interesting and captivating, I discovered new modalities to look at photos and to understand them. I've learned new ways to be a photographer, looking at the process and above all looking at the society and at the meaning you want your work has.

por Ray W

May 16, 2020

Useful techniques explained to understand what photographs are really showing, not just what you see on the surface. Plenty of good materials and additional materials if you're interested, I enjoyed this short course and recommend it to anybody interested in photography.

por Julie A

May 16, 2020

It is always a joy to learn more about photography! I loved looking at the work of talented photographers who have made such contribution to this discipline. The course was super well structured, tailored and run. I could not fault it and would recommend it to anyone.

por Erika A A D R

May 11, 2020

I had a fun time perusing through the extensive reading material provided in the course. The videos and quizzes were a lot of help as well. I really appreciate that this course provided equal amounts of opportunity for fun, critical thinking, and contextual learning.

por luz m l q

Apr 24, 2019

Great video quality and storytelling which makes the whole course very engaging. It broadens my perspective about Photography through the lens of very unique photographers. I'm deeply thankful to live in this era and have the chance to access to this kind of content.