Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
3,298 classificações
891 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 880 Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Diego S

Apr 20, 2020

A highly professional course, which certainly helps the student to expand his photographic knowledge as well as his creativity.

The reflections will not fail.

Thanks for the opportunity MOMA.

por Antonella B

Aug 18, 2017

Wonderful. To get into Moma archives has been incredible. Interviews are so interesting. Really grest course. Couldn't imagine such a gift! Thank YOU. From the heart.

Antonella, Rome. Italy.

por Emanuele P

May 16, 2020

I appreciated the amount of material we could study. Videos, texts, pictures. Everything was well explained and videos had subtitles in many languages. The topics are really interesting.

por Mattia R

Apr 22, 2020

Really interesting course, it changed my mind about the comprension of the photography's world. Thank you so much for the opportunity for me to learn new things about this wonderful topic.

por Amanda W

Mar 22, 2016

Very comprehensive overview of photography - I learned a lot more than I expected given the time frame. There were a lot of resources and readings, and I enjoyed the fact that the quizzes

por Danielle C

Jun 03, 2020

Absolutely wonderful. This historical overview challenges your mind and allows you to think outside of the box. Also, your views on photography will be thoroughly enhanced. Try it today!

por Jake M V G

Feb 25, 2020

i loved this course, i learned a lot and could comparate photographers with different view and type of shape of art. i hope that in a future will have more free courses. thanks you moma!

por Christine H

Feb 10, 2016

Have just completed the first lesson and really enjoyed the videos which makes the subject so more compelling and the ideas more accessible. Look forward to continuing and learning more.

por Jonathan D G

May 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the lessons in seeing through photographs. What I like most about the course are the videos posted by MoMA, it was a pleasure seeing photographs from their collection.

por Karin W

Apr 29, 2020

Good course for an experienced photographer. I benefited from the first read. However, I am a beginner and this course was to advanced for me. I'll be back when I have the basics down.

por Linda M

Jun 10, 2020

An excellent pre amble to a University course in photography. It’s also taught me to look more objectively at Photographs by studying the artist/photographer a little more in depth.

por Jorge d l M

Jul 02, 2019

Simple stunning amazing compilation of authors, tendencies, videos and information. Totally recommend it. So easy and challenging at the same time. MOMA and Sarah Meister amazing job.

por Mak C K

Apr 23, 2020

A very brilliantly done course that helps students who study photography achieve a very good degree. Looking forward to see more around while I enjoy learning more about new artists.

por Francisco J V C

Jan 22, 2020

Amazing course took it back in 2016 and it gave me a great understanding of what photography is and can be, the forums were very active back then and was a very enriching experience.

por Marcelo E P O

Nov 05, 2017

A really interesting course that allowed me to refine my approach and understanding in several aspects of photography and in turn allowed me to mature some ideas for future projects.

por Richard W

Jun 20, 2017

A great introduction to extend the perspective from "just" taking pictures to a broader understanding and perspective of the perceptional, social and personal aspects of photography.

por Olena G

May 30, 2020

It was an amazing experience, I am very glad that I took this course. He changed my vision of photography and made it possible to move further forward to new experiments in my work.

por Coral M

May 17, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Was incredible to see the developments in photography and to gain an appreciation of the importance of documenting social history through photography

por Ana M A

Nov 11, 2018

i thoroughly enjoyed this course a lot more than i expected. Being able to question imagery and its narrative in different ways. Love to digest things differently. Thank you so much

por Beatriz C C

Dec 01, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs is a fantastic course. It is perfectly guided and contains a lot of interesting, valuable and useful material. I enjoyed it enormously. Totally recommend.

por Karin F

Oct 26, 2019

Thank you so much for this vital course. I loved the interviews and Slideshows. Some of the reading material was too vague for my taste. But otherall it was a fantastic experience!

por Beatrice G

Nov 14, 2017

This course gives you a wide overview at different techniques, styles and fields of photography, from its birth till present day. I would recommend it for both novices and experts.

por Clyde E a

May 28, 2020

seeing through photography surprisingly opened my mind to the creative possibilities in photography and the possibility to transfer the topics to my profession and to my hobbies.

por Clément H

Apr 13, 2020

A very good course for those who have a bit of time to invest in reading. The interviews are very interesting and the selection of readings gives a lot of material to reflect on.

por Michelle H

May 02, 2017

Great introduction to looking critically at images, challenging myself with questions about images. Course is well presented with an interesting array of artists and interviews.