Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
3,294 classificações
891 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 879 Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Lydia P

Jul 12, 2019

Awesome course, Amazing wealth of knowledge, Εxceptional photographers. Profesional and joyfull ride to the magic world of Photography. Thank you Sarah Meister, MOMA, Coursera.

por Laura M

Jun 13, 2020

un corso ben strutturato e perfetto per ogni tipo di persona. Io sono italiana e ho trovato molto semplice il metodo di spiegazione utilizzato. Ottimi video e contenuti extra.

por Eliza B

Apr 25, 2018

It was a very nice surprise that interviews with famous photographers have been included.

It's a way of viewing behind the scenes that can change the way one sees photography.

por Elena S

Jun 29, 2016

Absolutely Awesome! It is a time travel reviewing history, psychology and others important factors of the humanity. Really enjoyable and really high quality. Highly impressed.

por Fabiola C

Mar 09, 2016

Sono solo all'inizio di questo corso (la terza settimana) ma lo trovo ottimo e ben fatto, malgrado la mia resistenza alla lingua inglese proseguo il cammino. Consigliatissimo!

por Benjamin B

May 15, 2020

If you love photography this course is a must!

Photographs contain lots of information and through this course you will learn how to approach an image to really appreciate it.

por Mike B

May 28, 2019

Really useful insights to the works of photographers over the years and how styles have evolved/been revolutionised. Great course content and challenging quizes/assignments

por Janelle L

Mar 27, 2016

Excellent, comprehensive, thoughtful, informative. I am extremely impressed by the content and the resources provided. I would like it to be offered again.

Thank you so much.

por Rossana B

Mar 09, 2020

A really interesting curse. It open My eyes to different concepts I didnt enjoy before. Loved the work of so many photographers! Moma made a great work creating this curse!

por ayumi k

Jul 21, 2017

Each session is very beautiful with many photographs and great explanations. I am looking forward to look at many photographs with the background knowledge learning here.

por Alessandro P

Apr 12, 2016

Useful and indispensable course for those who work with images: by photographers to graphic designers; by art curators to museum directors, etc.

Truly a well built course.

por Liv D

May 12, 2020

This course was wonderful. I loved learning about each artist every week and being able to have access to the archives at the MoMA, Thank you Sarah for an amazing class!

por Noemí P S

Nov 11, 2018

Interesting approach of looking photographs through different issues. I also learnt ways to look at pictures.Strongly recommend for those people who love photography.

por patricia y

Dec 22, 2017

Very interesting course. It is a introduction course to interpretation and history of photography. Interesting topics are developed along the weeks with amazing videos.

por Purice A

Mar 21, 2016

A great insight into Photography. A mix of history and artistic education, mostly orientated towards art. I've discovered some new doors into the world of photography.

por Emanuele C

Apr 26, 2017

This course keeps what the title promises, look through the photographs, is a truly innovative course, once completed the photos will be seen with new eyes. Great!!!!

por Alejandro E F B

Mar 05, 2016

Thorough and interesting contents. Amenable. Quite hard to pass as I have not enough time for it, which I regret. Trying to catch up.

Congratulations to Sarah Meister.

por Moira S

Apr 08, 2020

Excellent insightful and interesting course. It has enhanced my understanding and provided me with a greater depth of understanding to my own photography. Thank you.

por Camilla B

Feb 16, 2020

A wonderful journey through the evolution of photography, thoroughly organized and full of interesting and original inputs. I would love Moma to set up a second one!

por Mariano B A

Dec 30, 2019

I found the course very interesting and educational, it gave me the opportunity to explore more about photography and to know also some autors I did'nt know before.

por Christos G

Oct 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the world of photography as an art. Valuable hints and advice that might help everyone to better receive and perceive visual information.

por Nima B

Jun 08, 2020

thanks MOMA for your well sequenced course " Seeing through Photography".

I could clean and match my knowledge puzzle about looking at photography in critical way.

por Sheng A H

Jun 01, 2020

Amazing content and truly a source of inspiration! Very nice to see a lot of examples, very insightful readings and the ideas explained directly from the artists.

por Alejandro E R N

Dec 12, 2016

I really liked it. I knew the world of photography is extense, but i never took the moment to completely learn about it. This course is complete and interesting.