Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
718 classificações
216 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

VL
26 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 215 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por KEVIN G A

14 de Jun de 2020

It was a very marvelous experience. It provided me a wide variety of knowledge regarding complex and diverse phenomena. It sparked me in thinking about the fundamental and ' cause,' role of particles in physics. Really it has most scopes of pathbreaking and changing the realm of physics in future. The classes and optional experiments were very beautiful and informative , they often made us to think more and more.

por SAIKIRAN V

13 de Jun de 2020

The course is very nice and after listening to the lecture videos if we go through the material provided we can easily finish the quizzes and graded quizzes of each module successfully.

They planned it very nicely and in the end, I felt like it is rushing but the topic itself is advanced so it is fine. Overall it is a very nice and useful course for the beginners in particle physics.

por gareth w

15 de Jan de 2018

A whistle stop tour of particle physics at an undergraduate level. Electro-weak is covered in some depth and I would have liked the same depth on the Higgs mechanism. Not surprisingly due to U/Geneva's location near the LHC there is a strong emphasis on accelerators and particle detection.

Forum response to questions is poor.

por Arabindo D

17 de Fev de 2020

The course is nice, but I give 4 stars because I prefer blackboard lectures more than that of only slides. The course is much descriptive. If it becomes more just like giving lectures with deriving some equations it would be fun. Overall the course is really good with a few self-studies and knowledge of bit advance physics.

por Shuaidi Z

19 de Jul de 2019

This course is very effective at introducing concepts for students to dig into on there own. An especially good job is done at introducing important concepts such as vacuum polarization and CKM matrix. However, I do wish the course had been a bit more in depth on neutrinos and Higgs mechanism.

por Daniel A B U

15 de Set de 2018

Está bueno el curso para los que no tienen mucha idea sobre partículas. Sin embargo, creo que puede ser mejor si se ponen más actividades que no sean de selección simple para así garantizar una mayor comprensión del tema que se trata en los distintos módulos

por Thomas G

6 de Jan de 2018

Très bon cours. Le niveau est haut si l'on ne connait pas du tout le sujet. Le cours évolue rapidement. Il est donc parfois nécessaire de prendre plus qu'une semaine (le temps de travail prévu par semaine) pour être capable de suivre le cours.

por Harry E

8 de Jul de 2020

It was a really well tailored course for starting to learn particle phsyics. Although it was tough at times to understand the accents. Also, I would've liked it more if it was based on a blackboard method of teaching rather than ppt slides.

por Anandhu V

24 de Fev de 2021

Though at first it seems a little difficult as you need some knowledge about particle physics but as i also referred from outside sources it became relatively easy for me and its a good course for further development of knowledge

por Fethi O Ö

11 de Dez de 2017

Great course by coursera.It was nice try to understand subatomic World.Don't need to know good maths.Language was enough to understand the subjects.hanks fo University Geneva and Martin Pohl, Mercedes Paniccini,Anna Sfyrla.

por Bob R

28 de Jan de 2018

Excellent course in you are interested in learning, or improving your knowledge, about fundamental particles and forces and their interactions. You might want to brush up a bit on your math skill

por K R K

18 de Dez de 2020

It is interesting but complicated. Most of the calculations and formulas go over my head. But I recommend this course to anyone who is a physics enthusiast.

por rujuta j

21 de Jun de 2020

it was a great course ! a lot of information was studies and the professors were great!! do recommend it 100%. some more detailing could have been done.

por Devak G

28 de Mar de 2017

For me it was for eye opening into the world that is smaller than us and the principles that control that make the universe what it is.

por Norberto G R M

23 de Mai de 2017

Thank you very much for your effort to make this course.It was a difficult trip, but for the knowledge received, it was worth it.

por Noëlie C

27 de Mar de 2018

Parfois trop rapide. Les questions du quizz sont trop précises sur certains aspects qui n'ont été que survolés dans les vidéos.

por Ajinkya G

25 de Abr de 2017

Not really introductory to people with very little background or familiarity with the field, but the notes are very good.

por Sophie F

17 de Jul de 2020

Very good course, but a bit long and can be boring at times but you learn a lot of interesting things. Would recommend

por Austin L

30 de Nov de 2020

Could use more quiz questions using the math taught in the course. However really good at getting the ideas across.

por Muhammad F

12 de Mar de 2019

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

por Harshdeep S

20 de Jan de 2020

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

por David D

8 de Nov de 2020

It was a nice overview of an extremely broad subject and provides ample fodder for additional research.

por Chu D

27 de Set de 2020

Although some of the studying materials cannot be downloaded, it is still a good course to join.

por Yokesh S

11 de Dez de 2020

Many videos were hard to follow, mostly because of the language and accent of the instructor.

por Harshit A

23 de Out de 2020

Content was good but the way of explaining was not up to the mark.

Content- 5/5

Teaching- 3/5