Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.5
estrelas
360 classificações
111 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Xuejing J

May 19, 2017

A well made course. But the learning curve is steep. It is hard to have some deep understanding.

por Tim D

Oct 31, 2017

Excellent course and very well explained. I am a beginner and i found it very easy to follow.

por Alvaro R L B

Oct 01, 2017

Muy bueno , brinda conceptos basicos y escenciales acerca de la fisica de particulas.

por Keith D

May 29, 2019

This is an excellent course! It is well designed, presented and organized.

por J N

Oct 12, 2018

Special thank you to Martin, Anna , Mercedes and the entire courserteam

por Marco G

Sep 11, 2017

Excellent course. The extra material is really enjoyable as well.

por Richard R R G

Oct 09, 2017

Execellent course I recommend/ excelente curso lo recomiendo

por Amitesh S

Jul 16, 2018

Best Introductory course to Particle Physics in the world!

por Mohammad I M

Jan 07, 2018

Really great course for potential particle physicist !

por Chethan R

Jun 17, 2019

a MUST course for particle physics professionals.

por dana

Jul 11, 2017

Really amazing !

Thank you for everything .

por Francis Z L

Nov 18, 2019

It was a perfect learning opportunity

por Brandon

Sep 06, 2019

a long overdue accomplishment

por ANKIT T

Apr 01, 2019

Very knowledgeable course....

por Md F H S

Apr 13, 2019

Excellent way of learning.

por DURGA D A

Feb 13, 2020

Its very nice experience

por Shankara N

Apr 10, 2019

Nice course was helpful

por Teng

Jun 07, 2017

Clear physics picture.

por subhash k

Jun 19, 2017

Brilliant course....

por Cao S S

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent course!

por hassan a

Dec 05, 2017

Very Good Course

por ROHIT N

Apr 13, 2018

Best

por Jean S

Mar 05, 2019

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

por Tyler C

Jul 19, 2017

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

por Samy M S

Sep 17, 2017

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing