Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
695 classificações
211 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

JA
29 de Ago de 2020

Great course overall. The professors give very precious insight into the world of particle physics. The level of mathematics involved is quite high, but also managable with some effort.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 210 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Siripong C

25 de Jan de 2020

This course is literally amazing. It can inspire high school students to be passionate about particle physics.

por Francois Z

2 de Fev de 2018

This has been the most well thought out introduction to particle physics I have come across. Really enjoyable.

por SANIA T S

17 de Jul de 2020

attending this course was such a good experience and did not fail to give a clear idea about particle physics

por Pradeep M D

5 de Jun de 2020

Very Happy..Best experience ever with all course instructors. Thank you Coursera and University of Geneva..!!

por Sahil U

8 de Abr de 2017

The course was really amazing. Enjoyed & learnt a lot & was privileged to learn from such reputed teachers.

por Jas F A C

9 de Set de 2020

Very appreciated the challenging quizzes. This coursera is very helpful to my profession as an academician.

por Joshua G H

26 de Ago de 2020

Wonderful introduction into Particle physics and explains all phenomena that has been discovered so far.

por Carlos A G T

24 de Mai de 2017

That is the best course that I've done it in coursera, the teachers explain everything so fine and clear

por Shivam

30 de Set de 2019

Financial Aid help me a lot to get the deep knowledge Thank you coursera Thank you university of geneva

por Xuejing J

19 de Mai de 2017

A well made course. But the learning curve is steep. It is hard to have some deep understanding.

por Tim D

31 de Out de 2017

Excellent course and very well explained. I am a beginner and i found it very easy to follow.

por anikaith k

30 de Nov de 2020

This course is the best course i've ever done. The course has given me a lot of knowledge

por Alvaro R L B

30 de Set de 2017

Muy bueno , brinda conceptos basicos y escenciales acerca de la fisica de particulas.

por Kannan K

27 de Jul de 2020

I have learnt lot of new things and it will be helpful for my competitive exams

por VARAD D

6 de Ago de 2020

Brilliant content and just the right amount of tests to keep you interested.

por Keith D

28 de Mai de 2019

This is an excellent course! It is well designed, presented and organized.

por J N

12 de Out de 2018

Special thank you to Martin, Anna , Mercedes and the entire courserteam

por Chaitanya S

10 de Nov de 2020

The course is a great introduction into the world of particle physics.

por Somyajit C

4 de Abr de 2020

Great course! very detailed and the videos were quite illustrative.

por Marco G

11 de Set de 2017

Excellent course. The extra material is really enjoyable as well.

por DR R R K

8 de Jun de 2020

Very challenging, enjoyed the methodology used and content.

por Richard R R G

9 de Out de 2017

Execellent course I recommend/ excelente curso lo recomiendo

por Bernardo D

19 de Nov de 2020

It is the best course for Introduction of Particle Physics!

por Nupur A

21 de Mai de 2020

the course is very good and provide good knowledge of topic

por Amitesh S

16 de Jul de 2018

Best Introductory course to Particle Physics in the world!