Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
742 classificações
223 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

VL
26 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 222 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Austin L

30 de Nov de 2020

Could use more quiz questions using the math taught in the course. However really good at getting the ideas across.

por Muhammad F

12 de Mar de 2019

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

por Harshdeep S

20 de Jan de 2020

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

por David D

8 de Nov de 2020

It was a nice overview of an extremely broad subject and provides ample fodder for additional research.

por Chu D

27 de Set de 2020

Although some of the studying materials cannot be downloaded, it is still a good course to join.

por Yokesh S

11 de Dez de 2020

Many videos were hard to follow, mostly because of the language and accent of the instructor.

por Harshit A

23 de Out de 2020

Content was good but the way of explaining was not up to the mark.

Content- 5/5

Teaching- 3/5

por saurav d

12 de Abr de 2018

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

por Anjana M P

1 de Dez de 2020

Course is very effective and useful .

But unable to contact the organiser of course.

por Gustavo P

8 de Out de 2017

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

por Anirudh S

6 de Mar de 2019

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

por Prasanna K S

4 de Dez de 2020

Really set of amazing series of lectures. Nicely explained.

por Sahil A

9 de Ago de 2019

It would be great if there were numerical problems

por Saphilous S

18 de Jun de 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

por Мясников В А

9 de Jun de 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

por Ayan B

28 de Set de 2020

The course is very informative indeed.

por Richard K

7 de Jul de 2018

Fast paced but informative.

por Natnael M

27 de Ago de 2020

It is a very nice cource.

por Samantha S

23 de Mar de 2018

i love the material

por Ogunnaike F E

9 de Jul de 2020

very easy to grasp

por TARIT G

15 de Out de 2017

Very good approach

por Ali H

27 de Jun de 2021

.m

por jose

2 de Dez de 2017

v

por Jacqueline T

1 de Ago de 2020

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

por Christian T

3 de Fev de 2021

I prefere courses with more explanation in detail. For example calculations actually done in real time. Good example would be the University of Australias courses about cosmology on EdX. Back of the envelope calculations are done in detail.

Just videos of presentations are a bit boring. I rather read something.

I do not see the point of all the numbers and calculations in the presentations but the tests are just about the theory. I would rather have a course with less material but more depth or more general but easier to understand. The additional video about Feynman diagrams was my favorite. I would like more of that.