Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.5
estrelas
384 classificações
116 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

Filtrar por:

101 — 116 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Nicola

Oct 15, 2017

Very good approach

por jose

Dec 02, 2017

v

por KUNTAL K G

May 23, 2017

The explanations done in English was sometimes very poor, enough to make things utterly incomprehensible and jerky! Also, the course was not totally smooth or organized properly right from the start and there were a few mistakes like the sign errors, etc. Overall, it had a detrimental effect on me or rather on my mind so much so that I felt like I was forgetting my own undergraduate or postgraduate Physics, following the course!! Moreover, the course did not have sufficient mathematical derivations or mathematical constructs and workings. So, the rhythm was naturally lost and it made it seem a bit less interesting. Again, the very positiveness associated with the course was that it covered a lot of topics in Particle Physics in such a short span of time and in such a concise and brief way, but again more explanations, mathematics and proofs of the equations and their derivations would have been much more welcoming!

por Vo C

Jan 26, 2018

Not good as I expected. The teachers did not explain much. It seems that they just read out loud from their lecture notes. On the other hand, the lecture note is comprehensive. It takes time to digest the information in the note.

por Samuel L J

Aug 07, 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

por Egemen B

Aug 08, 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

por Wei-shun B

Sep 28, 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

por Abhimanyu B

Jan 28, 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

por Yifu L

Aug 29, 2018

subtitles can be improved.

por Laura K

May 03, 2017

Course content is good, however, material is explained fairly quickly and the lady who is lecturing is almost impossible to understand (due to a very strong accent and a very mechanical reading), which made me want to skip all her lectures.

por Michael V

Dec 01, 2019

The topic is highly interesting but unfortunately, I have to agree with the negative assessments:

he presentation style is inadequate for learning

por Maaz K

Jul 07, 2018

bORING

por Rod B

Apr 04, 2017

Very poorly presented course. Despite having completed quite a number of coursera courses before, and even being already familiar with a good deal of the preliminary material in this one, i soon abandoned it due to the inadequate and scrappily prepared presentation of material. Mercedes Paniccia in particular speaks in a virtually unintelligible expressionless monotone with no explanation or elaboration to relieve what amounts to little more than a list of definitions and bald statements such as can be found in the glossary section of many textbooks. I would strongly recommend finding an alternative course devoted to the subject or maybe seeking out a readable textbook.

por Bran R

Feb 14, 2020

Selected portions were good; other sections were plain horrible; difficult to understand the lecturer (not the topic; rather the english). For an english speaking course, videos in another language were not useful. Lectures provided no insight, pure reading from a lifeless script. Wording of problems had lots of typos, and questions were ill formed... I would not recommend this course unless it was cleaned up.

por Pralekh D

Mar 10, 2017

It must be taught by someone who can speak english clearly. Sorry but I couldn't understand what Mercedes Paniccia spoke, which made the course even more difficult to understand. There are subtitles but it's not possible for everyone to put that much effort. This issue must be taken seriously to make this MOOC much better.

por Ganesh S

Aug 18, 2017

Lacks the flow. Emphases on information than knowledge.