Chevron Left
Voltar para Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,797 classificações
462 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

Melhores avaliações

RM

May 22, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

M

May 28, 2020

In my undergrad I have learned about fabrication in the VLSI course, now I have got the gest of cooking. thank you for such a course, hope I will get some further help from rtnn.org & RTNN team.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 462 Avaliações para o Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

por Kh S A

Apr 07, 2019

It helped me a lot giving brief description of nanocharacterization and nanofabrication processes. It will definitely help me in further study and researches on nanotechnology.

por Muhammad J S

Dec 02, 2019

This course was very helpful to understand the basic fabrication techniques for making micro and nanodevices. I can confidently use equipment in my laboratory after doing this course. Thank you

por Mitesh J

Apr 11, 2020

Its a really nice informative course. But Etching was really boring part and difficult to understand compared to other parts of the module. If that can be made more friendly it would be great.

por Abhishek R

Mar 05, 2019

Topics covered and concepts were precise, to the point and well explained. Both practical and theoretical aspects were taught which is very rare to receive in an online course.

por GAN K C

Feb 14, 2019

Very informative, the structure of lectures were well-organised and nicely done. Fantastically, I was able to learn and gain so much from this course. Really appreciated :-)

por Ashutosh W

Oct 27, 2017

Hello guys, My name is Ashutosh W from India. I have done MTech in Nanotechnology and now I am planning to join PhD in the field of Nanotechnology. This course is beacon for my higher education in material characterisation. The rudimentary concepts along with a practical demonstration gave a better perspective to learn about these equipment. Thank you so much to all the instructors and demonstrators to make this course very interesting.

por Jahnavi Z

Mar 31, 2020

I had a real fun time learning with Coursera and Duke University. The classes, explanations and demonstrations were so simple and to the point. The video segments, quizzes were light and crisp, not much time consuming. In a span of few days, I got to explore so many things. I really prefer this over my regular academics. This is the best platform for anyone who is looking out for good knowledge, skills and inspiration. Thank you so much.

por Salil S N

Feb 17, 2019

Enjoyed and learned a lot, lectures and demonstrations in the same course helped me understand the processes with ease. Thanks to the Professors, Laboratory Managers and Students for their sincere effort to make this course a grand success.

Looking forward to utilize some of the RTNN facilities for my PhD research work, thus enriching my knowledge and getting valuable teachings from eminent and expert individuals.

Thanks a lot. God bless

por Christoph M

Dec 08, 2019

Terrific course!!! Very well designed and organized, exciting, challenging and informative at once, if you are interested in this matter. Would love to learn more in comparable or sequel courses from RTNN. Definitely interested in engaging more in nanotechnology in general!

Big thanks to all the involved lecturers, tutors and other contributors to this delightful online course!

por Christin S

Mar 19, 2019

Very comprehensive course covering important topics in the field of nanotechnology and nanofabrication. The course is well structured and well understandable combining videos about theory background and practical demonstrations and also tests your aquired knowledge on the go with multiple choice tests after each section.

por Hemen H

Mar 17, 2019

I would like to express my thankfulness to you, for your wonderful lessons. I learned a lot of things from you. Your expertise and the way of teaching are quite fantastic. Many thanks again.

por Sarmad A Q

Sep 18, 2019

This is a very informative course for scientists and researchers especially working in materials science and engineering. I would gladly recommend this course to my research fellows

por Daksh M

Apr 10, 2019

excellent

por Pooja G

Oct 16, 2018

This course offers an overview of the main nanocharacterization and nanofabication techniques. I would definitely recommend it as an introductory course to anyone curious about a career in nanotechnology.

The weekly quizzes help retain relevant information although I found some questions to be superficial while others focus on information that's not adequately highlighted in the video lectures.

Though the professors themselves are enthusiastic about the course content, the PhD students that aid them along the way could show more liveliness -- often they talk too softly, don't enunciate words clearly, seem down right angry at the teleprompter.

por Javeed S

Nov 02, 2019

some mistake questions in quizes rest is good

por Eric J

Jul 06, 2020

Horrible and Worst course I have taken. Information was too too repetitive, like really repetitive! The reason why is that some videos are the same like the intro the information about nanotechnology, graphs, the video about going to the lab and a lot of other things. Got very bored with the course when I was in week 3 and it made me lose interest. Videos are too long and is just straight explanation and no excitement. I give this a 1 star out of 5!!!

por Salma A

Jun 06, 2020

As I have a keen interest in Nano-science specially Nanotechnology, this the best suited course for me. The collaboration of three renowned universities is just wonderful and they have done their best to arrange the course in a systemic and organized way. Besides the step by step approaches to the characterization and fabrication of nano-materials is easy to catch and learn. And also the demonstration after discussing the basic principle of a process helps a lot to understand the lessons as well as I have got the opportunity to have a look of these modern labs just staying at my home. So this is a great chance to pursue this course and having the practical knowledge at a time. I want to thank the Professors and beloved graduate students for their utmost try and passions for making me interested in this topic and I have now a desire to prepare myself for higher studies on Nanotechnology. I would conclude by saying this it has been a great experience and want to thank you all.

por Jerwin J E T

Jul 16, 2020

I am already working as a chemist and I find this course beneficial as I hope to advance in my career. I plan to pursue master’s degree in nano-chemistry in the future and this course intensified my interest in the field. The lectures were easy to understand and I like the idea that the common tools used in nanotechnology are presented - including the basic theories, sample preparation, and instrumentation. Living in a third word country, the course made it possible for me to understand the basic operation of some nanotechnology equipment through video presentation. The instructors were also clear in explaining concepts and all the examples were on point. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to pursue a career in nanotechnology.

por Abhijeet B

Nov 01, 2018

The course is well structured and takes you through the chapters in a seamless manner where each consecutive lesson makes sense. Additionally, it opened my eyes to a lot of physical characterization techniques, and their importance can be gauged by the glut of online research articles that depend on such characterization. I'm grateful to the course administrator, Duke University, UNC, NC State and Coursera for the approval of my financial aid, which enabled a Graduate Student like me to gain access to the best of resources when it comes to micro and nanofabrication. For any student interested in physical characterization, nanofabrication, advanced devices and microsystems, please take this course. You will not regret it.

por Esteban G

May 07, 2020

Very interesting course. I'm a lecturer at a higher University in Colombia, at a bachelor program called Nanotechnology Engineering. Specifically related to this, I teach two courses: "Nanomaterial Characterization Techniques" and "Nanomaterial Synthesis and Manufacturing Techniques". In these courses we have around 2/3 of theory and 1/3 experimental. Unfortunately, with the Coronavirus crisis we couldn't return to the University nor use the laboratories. We were not prepared for online lab demonstrations. Together with my group of 20 students we followed your course and could at least cover some of the experimental aspects that we couldn't cover during our courses. Thank you!

por Edgar C L

Mar 28, 2018

Basically, the course is well-organized. As a graduate student from the Philippines, I was able to gain understanding on the basic's of the nanotechnology tools and fabrication techniques that are helpful in the conduct of my thesis. I will be using SEM and TEM to characterize my nanotubes and chemical wet etching in the cleaning of my samples prior to fabrication of nanotubes. I would grow my nanotubes electrochemically. Hence, I also suggest that perhaps in the future, you can incorporate electrochemical techniques of nanofabrication such as electrodeposition, electrospinning, and electrochemical etching.

por Ingryd V L F d A

Jul 12, 2020

PT: Achei este curso super interessante e muito bem organizado. As explicações e demonstrações são simples e super fáceis de entender. Fiquei muito feliz em aprender mais sobre as técnicas, definições e equipamentos que são usados na carreira que estou cursando, foi bem escalarecedor.

IN: This course is very interesting and very well organized. The explanations are simple and of super easy understanding. I was happy in learn so much thing about equipment, definitions and techniques that are used in the career that I am following, it blowed my mind actually haha. Amazing!

por Asokan J

Sep 11, 2020

First I Thank Duke University, Head, Dr. Nan Jokerst and Faculty members for giving me the opportunity to learn this Nanotechnology - A Makers Course- All video lessons are easily understand and well explained by the faculty members. i am very much grateful to all of you. i also request the university to provide download study notes. As I am a Botany Faculty I request you to add content about the use of Nanotechnology/ Nano particles in plant based experiments, particularly medicinal plants. Thank you.I Once again thank Coursera community

por Dr. M K

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course on Nanotechnology and its characterization which was meticulously planned for any Nanomaker to prepare nano particles with ease

My Special thanks to Course Instructors ( Professors) for their detailed explanation about preparation of films, characterisation and lithographic techniques

The Graduate students and Lab technicians demonstrated every technique by characterising a sample.

It was a delightful online experience both theoretically and experimentally on how to prepare and characterize a nano material.

por Youssef B N A D

May 13, 2020

I applied for a joint master's degree in Nanomedicine, thus I looked up for a course to get familiar with Nanotechnology and its applications. "Nanotechnology: A Maker's Course" is a great choice to obtain the prerequisite knowledge to confidently pursue a career in Nanotechnology related field. Furthermore, the practical demonstration in each week is the most unique part offered by this course; enables the participant to learn the detailed steps and precautions of each technique mentioned through the course.