Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
3,580 classificações
724 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de 719 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Regene L

Jun 16, 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.

por Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

por Bruna C

Dec 06, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

por Onyekwelu-Udoka T O

Jun 25, 2020

I learnt soooo many things

The course was sooo interesting and less boring made me want to learn more

por Özgün K

Mar 03, 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

por Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

por Akash B

Aug 02, 2020

Even being a graduate student in political science, this course has been so engaging and insightful.

por Carolina O G

Jul 06, 2020

Really great course to get a better understanding of political/social/economical theories/doctrines.

por Julieta I O J

Jul 24, 2020

Loved it, very interesting and it really gets you to think about society, past, present and future.

por Kayla S

Jun 14, 2020

Amazing course. The lectures were so engaging and helped make connections with contemporary events.

por Lori C

Sep 07, 2016

Wonderfully structures course, questions pose critical thinking that applies outside of coursework.

por Melissa M Q

Jul 03, 2020

Excelente. Lo super recomiendo. Muy buena traducción al español. El profesor es el mejor. Gracias.

por Adam B

May 07, 2020

A great introduction to key political theories delivered in a relaxed and easy to follow manner.

por MUNYABUGINGO I

Jul 15, 2020

Every country should found it politic on morality of its people in order to get a general will.

por Benedito A d C

Nov 02, 2017

Excelent course. Clear questions and good didactic background. Good organanization of thoughts.

por Ruchira J

Apr 30, 2020

The course is useful for beginners to clear doubts about the rudiments of political structure.

por Marjori P

Nov 27, 2018

I am utterly enjoying the content of this course. The best produced course in Coursera by far.

por Paul Z

Jun 14, 2020

Wonderful; would have been a great to interact with Professor Shapiro, impossible as that is.

por Jason T

Aug 06, 2020

Interesting class, the professor is amazing as he gave many thoughtful ideas to think about.

por Samuel G

Jan 13, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave me a fresh look at our current political situation.

por Mrs. A A K H

Nov 08, 2015

Comprehensive course encompassing multiple facets of historical and international relevance.

por Jovanny P G

Feb 14, 2020

Excelente dinámica la del profesor Ian!!! Bastante bien estructurado y ademas fundamentado.

por Steban N

Jul 21, 2017

Thanks Professor Shapiro, This World could be better if people read you. thank you so much.

por Vernon G

Sep 18, 2015

Very challenging particularly as the modules unfold but the lectures and readings are good.

por Alexandre d L C T

Sep 08, 2020

A great course which made me capable of a deeper understanding about political philosophy.