Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
1,742 classificações
349 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

326 — 344 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por MARIANA L

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!

por Maria S

Nov 29, 2016

Really informative and interesting. Thank you Coursera and Professor Sharpino for making this possible!

por Alfred M

Jul 30, 2019

The course is a bit too long and unorganized. It would be better if concepts are separated in chunks.

por Maria E H

May 08, 2017

The content of the course is valuable and well your worth the time spent on the course.

por Reuben M P

Apr 28, 2017

Conversational format is really helpful, great real world examples and connections.

por CHUON S

Mar 30, 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

por Louis A

Aug 11, 2019

Very in depth and fruitful, I enjoyed it very much.

por Ruoshi C

Aug 22, 2017

The video is too short. I was expecting more.

por Joy S

Apr 09, 2018

good info, quizzes of reasonable difficulty

por Syed F R

Oct 15, 2016

Covers the basics. Quite Good.

por HIMANSHU R

Mar 09, 2019

very good and intresting

por Chanmyae T

Oct 17, 2018

good lecture

por Hans H

Sep 26, 2015

Very clear

por Anna L K

May 15, 2019

The content is relevant and interesting but could be more linked to today's time. The videos are not engaging which makes it very hard to follow the lectures. A changing style or more expert interviews would have been nice.

por Shivam P

Jun 05, 2019

Its explained well but gets a little boring towards the end.

por Jiayi W (

Mar 10, 2016

Not that interesting

por Kirsten W

Jul 11, 2019

In video discussions distract from the message. I'd prefer to be able to listen to the instructor talk about what he knows, rather than be forced to sit through fumbled questions and unrelatable conversations. There is a discussion forum to address people directly that tends to have higher quality conversation as a result. This method of shoehorning students into the video is frustrating and unnecessary.

por Jonathan G

Dec 12, 2017

I found this tedious and boring. It was to glorifying of politics. It didn't mention that most politics is plutocratic and power does what it wants. There is absolutely nothing "moral" about politics!

por Huzaifa M S

Oct 26, 2019

Disappointed me!