Chevron Left
Voltar para Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
515 classificações
163 avaliações

Sobre o curso

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Melhores avaliações

DB
5 de Out de 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH
18 de Mai de 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 168 Avaliações para o Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

por Marcílio M M

27 de Ago de 2020

Very nice course.

por Srinivas R G

5 de Set de 2020

Excellent course

por Bitten A

14 de Abr de 2020

Fantastic course

por Proinsias R

20 de Ago de 2020

Very enjoyable!

por Sajjad M

21 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course

por SAMUEL J B

15 de Nov de 2021

good learning

por Nibodhi H

18 de Abr de 2020

Great intro

por Saoussan B

16 de Dez de 2021

very good

por MD. A H

18 de Ago de 2020

Excellent

por Nicola S

3 de Jul de 2020

Excellent

por CHACKO M

23 de Jan de 2022

AMAZING.

por Vibudh M

5 de Jul de 2021

A​mazing

por Shauna B

4 de Ago de 2021

This was an interesting course because it helped me put names to some of things I've noticed about my psychology as I've gained in years and experience. Somatic markers for one. Yes, I did learn to respect and investigate my "gut response" to events and people. And I agree with the idea that this is a vital pathway/signal towards understanding oneself. I also appreciated that the teacher doesn't see things as black and white but rather investigates that gray area. For example, there are truths in both Damasio's and Wilson's ideas about how we should best interrogate our pysche. Let's not throw everything out but instead assess and take what rings true. While thinking on "ringing," I greatly enjoyed the meditative moments. What a respite that was for me. Thank you for that and for a stimulating month of fascinating ideas.

por ARAVINDA K

24 de Set de 2020

Even though the course is well-organized, the presentation could be more vivid, rather than remaining to be only a verbal content delivery. The key definitions and the concepts could be revised now and then, in the forthcoming videos. More importantly, the opinions a few psychologists is discussed at length, but the concept of mind as per the deeper teachings in cultural texts or spiritual teachings is not covered. In fact, the mind's unconscious side is discussed only in spiritual teachings.

por Alexandra O

28 de Out de 2020

It is a valuable course. After the first week it was required to read 1 book of Freud which I enjoyed doing. I am glad to have receivedinformations about defense mechanisms, dream theory, adaptive unconscious, psychological immune system, implicit bias, conscious will. All these offered me new tools to know myself better, hopefully.

por Gary D P

20 de Out de 2020

Enjoyable course. Well designed and interesting. I did learn something regarding psychology. As we advance as human beings we often forget that psychology needs to be updated. People no longer have the same reservations as they once had. So many of the old theories are now obsolete.

por P N A

17 de Jun de 2020

On the whole gives a good overview of the sub concious part of the mind. Would have been better if a module had been included on practical ways on should change some markers that prevent us leading our normal life, like anxiety etc.

por Virginia G

6 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoyed this class with the exception of not being able to access much of the information and articles provided. I especially enjoyed the mini meditations that were scattered throughout the course.

por Matt O

16 de Mar de 2021

Very much well worth the time. The class is structured very well and the information is useful in daily life. The lectures make for good topics of conversation with friends and family.

por Khaly E V G

9 de Set de 2020

Very Complete, I would love to recommend that the links for additional reading to be reviewed and updated. Beside this, it was an amazing learning journey.

por Paul D

2 de Ago de 2020

I thought that the information presented in the class was clear and easy to understand. The quizzes and discussions reinforced the learning experience.

por Joy S

8 de Dez de 2019

This is the second course I have completed in this series. Valuable self-knowledge. Everyone should have this information.

por Paul H

21 de Mai de 2021

All aspects well conceived and presented; very worthwhile and useful learning process. Looking forward to part 3.

por Linh C

20 de Jun de 2021

The course opens up some important aspects of the unconscious that helps me understand myself and others better.

por Thomas B

11 de Set de 2021

Rather superficial, but the course did give me an excuse to waste some time. At least it's free ;)