Chevron Left
Voltar para Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
501 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Melhores avaliações

DB
5 de Out de 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH
18 de Mai de 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 162 Avaliações para o Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

por Eldon T

17 de Fev de 2019

I would give this course a five star review but for the subtle mind manipulation technique employed when conflating Trump's immigration policy with mass genocide. There is a difference between locking your doors at night, fencing your property, and intentionally attacking and brutalizing fellow human beings. America is a country of laws and there are many opportunities that arise as a result of justice for all. As a country of laws, America has a right and even a duty to both welcome those in need and those who wish to improve their lives while at the same time insisting they do so legally. America welcomes immigrants that come through the door. If you think this is wrong, then open up your home to anyone and everyone who wishes to share whatever you have including your spouse. If you have an opinion, express it as an opinion--don't just sneak it into a collection of photos and quotes that are repugnant as though it is equally and factually immoral!

por Imjad H

19 de Mai de 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

por Arya K

18 de Ago de 2020

Very insightful course, I really enjoyed it. It also gave a lot of extra source material that was very helpful in getting a better understanding of concepts.

por Rachel M C

6 de Jun de 2019

I found this course to be helpful personally and the information a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to -being knowledgable, humble and humorous- and the video editing highlighted his points as effective visual learning tools. I hope to take the other two courses in the near future.

por DEBORAH M

28 de Out de 2020

Meditations were great. The course material did not engage me as I expected it to translate to a more personal level of self knowledge. The course is more relevant for someone who seeks a deeper knowledge of the history of this discipline.

por Dave H

8 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course! Dr. Mitchell Green's discussion of how somatic markers can be used as a practical and rational guide to decision making is highly informative. According to Green, somatically marked objects or events elicit physical-emotional responses that may reveal deep seated needs and desires. Such self knowledge is sometimes difficult to access through direct introspection. Combining individualized responses from somatic markers within the framework of subjective expected utility theory provides a novel approach to gaining self knowledge and potentially improving personal decision making. Highly recommended.

por Kathleen R

10 de Fev de 2019

Professor Green has once again put together a well-structured, well-delivered, and highly interesting and relevant course that I enthusiastically recommend to all learners and not just those with a fascination with philosophy. By offering this course in three depth levels, Professor Green appeals to divergent learner interests and styles and he infuses fresh life into topics that for non-philosophers can easily become tedious.

por Lynn D

27 de Out de 2020

Great course. Clearly presented and enjoyable. Professor Green was easy to understand and had a good presentation style. I enjoyed his Meditative Moments and found them relaxing (I'm a daily meditator). The extra material provided was very interesting and rounded out the lecture material nicely, helping me solidify understanding of the concepts. I'll be taking the other courses in this series. Thanks, Professor Green!

por Eva R

20 de Abr de 2020

very very interesting, and very clear, I had a great pleasure studying with you, thank you ! Maybe I would just have liked a bit more link between the Freudian concept of unconscious (week 1-2) and the more recent one developped (by Damasio, Wilson...) according to neurology (week 3-4)

por Viktoriia

7 de Mai de 2020

I am very grateful for Mitchell Green and for all who gave life to this course. It was a great adventure, I enjoyed! I was surprised by meditation moments, it is a really good idea!

I've learned a lot and I will not dwell on it ;)

por DeVante B

6 de Out de 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

por Bronte W S

4 de Mai de 2020

Know Thyself is suitable for beginner. Well explained in the lecture and good in depth if you have extra time in reading materials. The information is practical and useful for daily life.

por Tvisha G

6 de Jul de 2021

Very knowledgeable and insightful.

The case studies and the real-life examples along with the meditativce moments, definitely deserve an extra star rating.

por Sobhia K

13 de Abr de 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot. However I wish the quizzes were a little tougher to ensure more effective learning.

por Emma T

26 de Abr de 2020

Really interesting. Hope to do the third course in the series once it becomes available on Coursera.

por Nicholas P

19 de Abr de 2019

Very interesting, well put together course.

por Ritesh K

30 de Abr de 2019

All I say... "a BIG THANKS...!"

por Elena G

9 de Jul de 2020

A wonderful course combining psychanalytic thery and practical skills l of everyday life. ! The lecturer has the carisma of making complicated psychological theries about the unconsious, easy to cmprehend and digest. Apart from an basic education in psychoanalitic concepts as also on more contemporary reasearch about the unconsious, the course provides tools to practicaly come more in contact with ones own unconsious. Also the course is helpfull in raising awareness in how we make descisions in our daily life, and thus offers a fantastic connection between psychological theories of the unconsious and awareness in decission making and skills on a practical level of ones everyday life. I so look forward and expect the next course in Know Thyself to start ''Losing Oneself''. Thank you !

por Liliane K

20 de Fev de 2021

Knowing myself - and knowing others through this self-knowledge has always been important to me. In the region I was brought up, people always said (in those days): "Know thyself so as to know others. One might not say this as easily anymore nowadays, building on all the discoveries since then. But inferring from one's own behaviour to that of others can still give you some clues, at least to begin with.

I hope that you will not "forget" informing me when the follow-up course starts, for which I very would like to enrol!

UP WITH MOOCs! THEY ARE GREAT!

por Airida Z

22 de Nov de 2020

I expected this course to be quite easy and was pleasantly surprised to be challenged every week. I enjoyed variety of formats - lectures, video and reading assignments, self analysis tasks and meditative moments. Very good part of this course - that it provides lots of additional information (links to articles etc.) if a student is willing to explore more, but does not require to complete all of them. That allows flexibility and makes a student to share responsibility to depth of the course.

por Aedrian A

19 de Jan de 2021

This is a great, albeit more challenging, follow-up to KT-TVLSK: The Examined Life. In this course, neuroscience and psychology take a bigger role as significant overlaps to philosophy in understanding the self - particularly that aspect which is thought to not be accessible to introspection. Professor Green seamlessly integrates these fields in the material. I strongly recommend devoting more time than you normally would in a MOOC for this course to get the most of it.

por Gabriel M

26 de Mar de 2021

This course makes an excellent job at summarizing the main points about psychoanalysis and the Unconscious, especially considering how short it is. After each lesson, I was left trying to apply each concept to my daily life: finding defense mechanisms in my own or other people's actions, finding meaning in apparently meaningless elements of my day, paying close attention to my emotional response to each situation… It was a wonderful experience.

por Nicole K

6 de Set de 2020

There wasn't a moment in this course where I felt disengaged - the structure was very professional and relatable/understandable, the meditations really helped me focus on the tasks at hand, and the subject was incredibly interesting! I learned so much about myself and others and this knowledge is truly valuable for self-development and is very interesting to say the least. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone and everyone to take this course.

por Widiasatria U

28 de Out de 2020

I found this course is so insightful to develop my self-knowledge as the way to gaining more positive mindset and the information is a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to-being knowledgable and the learning materials are excellent to guide me through this course. I hope that I can take other course related with this topic in near future

por Fatima B

24 de Out de 2020

The first course at coursera that I actually finished, and in just two weeks instead of four. All because it was really interesting and not too challenging (for me, a person without any psychological background). I didn't learn anything groundbreaking, but a lot of things were nice to note, and the material was well delivered (even had some jokes - highly appreciated) and easy to follow. Thank you for the good work on the course!