Chevron Left
Voltar para Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
510 classificações
162 avaliações

Sobre o curso

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Melhores avaliações

DB
5 de Out de 2020

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH
18 de Mai de 2019

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 164 Avaliações para o Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious

por Richard M H

11 de Out de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I knew a bit about Freud and the unconscious prior to taking this course, but was very interested to hear new perspectives on Freud and to be introduced to other theorists who have developed and / or responded to his work. I took this course out of pure interest, but would recommend it to students who are studying Freud whether they be doing so from a humanities or social science perspective.

por Jasmin B

21 de Mai de 2021

I really liked participating in the course, because I learnt of various aspects about the human unconscious and how every one's behavior is influenced by it. Very interesting was also that older as well as newer interpretations of the human psyche were analyzed. I expecially enjoyed the tasks to reflect upon oneself by meditating and analyzing past situations. Overall the course was very helpful and engaging.

por Rojan S

28 de Ago de 2020

One of the best courses in Coursera! The videos and lessons are very well presented by use of examples and animations which help to understand the topics clearly. This course is a must for those who have an interest and want to delve in philosophy and psychology particularly about the human mind.Finally, I would like to thank teacher Mitchell Green and The University of Edinburgh for this course.

por Stella F

18 de Nov de 2021

I am interested to find out more about the unconscious mind, so I picked this course (not aware it is part 2 of the series). Professor Green is knowledgeable and insightful, and the course material was well structured. I learned some interesting concepts like somatic markers, SEUT, and applied them on the practice quizzes. Now I shall embark on my pleasant learning journey of part 1.

por Rachel S

20 de Jan de 2021

I feel like I learned so much in this MOOC, but it was never painful. There are a lot of checkpoints in the course that allowed me to reflect on and apply the material. The small chunks of information delivery and review really helped me solidify my understanding.

Additionally, the visuals and Mitchell Green's speaking style helped me to stay focused.

por Federica T

29 de Ago de 2021

A very interesting course, with a good balance between theoretical and practical knowledge. I loved the meditative moments. I would ask Professor Green to slow down his speaking rhythm a bit, because for an Italian student like me, especially when the concepts he expounds are very dense, it becomes difficult to fully appreciate what he is saying.

por Robert B

29 de Ago de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I practice mindfulness, so the meditative moments were a real bonus. Now I know how to Bamboo Breathe.

I was especially interested in the part about somatic markers and the suggestion to observe the reactions. Again this relates to mindfulness.

Dr. Mitchell Green presented the material in a clear and interesting manner.

por Priti S

11 de Set de 2020

It is a course that made me thankful of my sixth sense -prorprioception ,something we all take for granted.The idea of pshycological immunity and somatic markers has made me more aware of my actions and what might be influencing them and how I may be responding. Coupled with mindfulness it is an extraordinary way to meet myself.

por Marieta C

23 de Mar de 2021

A very knowledgeable and charismatic lecturer who leads you through the hard-to-understand concepts with expertise and ease and makes it all seem very manageable.

A deep and pleasant journey meeting intellectual challenges on the way, perfectly structured units.

Highly recommend the course!

And a big thank you, professor Green!

por Ilse d Y C

26 de Fev de 2021

Wonderfully and very creatively organised. The duration is perfect for "course-binging" if you're a Psychology nerd/enthusiast. Was very happy to see a diverse array of authors that stood on Freud's shoulders in order to broaden his ideas on the unconscious. I highly recommend this class!

(Thank you very much, Dr. Green!)

por CHOO L Y

20 de Mai de 2021

Prof explained everything in details, also offer explanation on comparison from different perspective. Point out the good things to refer and also the contradict point that remain reserved for all the theory and module. Enjoyed the lesson very much. Content, informative and enjoyable.

por Iva

13 de Fev de 2021

I love new knowledge and information, so I'm giving 5 stars because I've learnt new things, the classes were neither too long, nor boring; There was a moderate information flow. Definitely could be absorbed also by people who just start digging deeper into the unconscious processes.

por LJ D

22 de Nov de 2021

Really excellent delivery. I would describe it as aimed at an 'advanced beginner'. There are some complex concepts being talked about here and what makes it accessible is Professor Green's delivery.

Really great to get stuck into and an excellent use of time.

Thank you very much

por Pam L

22 de Set de 2021

I so enjoyed this course! I learned so much, and relearned that much more! I fully enjoyed each video and appreciated that each offered a transcript to review. The meditative moments were a nice retreat and thoughtful! Thank you Professor Green! You rock! :)

por Jim M

13 de Nov de 2020

I took this course for an introduction to the Unconscious mind. The videos were excellent. The supplementary readings were excellent for exploring further all of the topics. I learned a lot about the various aspects of the mind that I had never known.

por Kseniya N

7 de Jun de 2020

Actually a great course, covering a vast variety of quite interesting topics of subconscious phenomena. I would absolutely recommend the course for those wh would like to learn more about one's behavioural patterns, which are actually subconscious.

por Miguel C M

10 de Dez de 2020

I have learned very valuable information and tools such as the SEUT and also about the somatic markers. I am beyond happy to have enrolling in this course and I also want to congratulate the team that has created such valuable online course !

por Zsuzsanna B

7 de Dez de 2020

Thank you so much for this course. I really enjoyed it, it was well structured, interesting and engaging. Also, I very much appreciated the instructor. I am looking forward checking out more courses from Mitchell Green!

por Renee K

25 de Fev de 2021

Each and every time I take a philosophy coursera course I learn much more about philosophy and I can honestly say I've learned quite much and Thank you to professor Mitchel Green for your lectures they were spot on.

por Malgorzata S

14 de Nov de 2020

Ver informative. I have found out many interesting thing about the unconscious mind. I really liked professor Green's lectures on different subject. I really got me interested in Freud's work. Highly recommended

por Amy S

7 de Jun de 2020

This is a wonderful course. It gave me insight into possible reasons for my own behavior and that of others, which has a practical impact on my life. I highly recommend it! And, I can't wait for part 3.

por JOÃO E

19 de Set de 2021

This course was really helpful in my life. Now, I can understand better the limits of myself, how to deal with my unconscious that goes on and on. Thanks a lot for this opportunity.

por miel f

3 de Mar de 2021

In my view the course by Mitchell Green was excellent and very well organised, it is among the best I have tried in Coursera. I find his talks very clear, balanced and interesting.

por Domenico N

27 de Ago de 2021

T​he Professor is incredibly knowledgeable and clear, while he explains concepts! I genuinely love the course and I suggest it for anyone interested in the topic.