Chevron Left
Voltar para História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

Comentários e feedback de alunos de História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,211 classificações
591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Melhores avaliações

TR

Aug 12, 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 581 Avaliações para o História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

por Dong H S

Dec 06, 2015

G

por Rose K

Oct 09, 2015

T

por Pratyush S

Oct 02, 2015

Dear Dr Chuck (If you're reading this)

Firstly thank you so much. I am currently in my 3rd year of B.E in Information Technology and wish that networking was taught to me like this from the start. Not just how we use protocols, standards and Layers but the reason and history of their existence. It was a lovely experience even though I didn't maximize any of your tests. Just a few things that I thought you could have covered in the course. From the first internet to the web servers and world wide web, you covered all aspects of the currently visible web. However we know that the internet is not only limited to that. If you would've given an insight on how the the deep/dark web came into being, that in my mind would cover every portion of the net today.

Regardless of that, it was a lovely course and I really admire your way of teaching !

However I still have no clue how I could have answered the number of hops from Michigan to Harvard !

por David F W

Oct 04, 2020

A really interesting and relevant course and a highly engaging lecturer. The course content is excellent and well-structured. On the down side, the software-generated transcription of the lectures is poor and needs a lot of reformatting, numerous error corrections and conversion to standard English (for the vast majority of us who do not use the US sub-version of the language). However, this tidy-up process is a great learning tool in its own right, and creates a valuable reference document for ongoing use.

por Aaron K

Apr 27, 2016

A lot of the assessments for the "history" section of the course are needless factual-item recall, and not very cognitively challenging or engaging. The combination of history/technology/security could be more tightly integrated, it feels like three discrete courses just merged together into one. Good material overall, just not sure the scale/scope is appropriate to one course.

por Roberto Z

Mar 18, 2018

A very intriguing course that explores the beginnings of computers and Internet.

If you like technology you will love this course and you will get to know a lot of interesting anecdotes, but do not expect to get practical abilities for today; take it like you would read an interesting novel or history book. This is not a manual of how internet and security works.

por davebetts

Nov 28, 2015

A fun journey through the history and structure of the internet. This is a thorough but brief introduction. Well worth your time to check out if you're interested in history, technology, programming or just finding out something new. The diversity of interviews is impressive, although there is overlap with Dr. Chuck's other courses.

por Opeyemi O O

Sep 24, 2015

This course enables you to have basic knowledge into the what we call the internet, how it started, what technologies, protocols and how much research work has gone into the internet. also gives you an insight into the security aspect of the web which i believe every learned person should know.

por Charles R K

Sep 03, 2016

I had so many "a-ha moments" in this class. I recommend for anyone interested in how the Internet works and why. The interviews with the people that were there at the moment of create really helped not just to humanize this historic achievement, but also to provide context. Well done!

por Phuoc N

Aug 27, 2015

This course is quite interesting for people who want to understand the development of the biggest network in the world - the Internet, understand the basics of network-related technology, and security techniques for digital transaction. However, the review questions are fairly easy.

por Troy E

Dec 16, 2019

Wow! This is course is actually "living" history. It should be taught in schools. It really brings alive and makes real the application of maths, sciences, communication, solving problems etc....and how we got to the present, but where we going in 100 years from now.

por Martin W

Oct 23, 2015

I enjoyed learning more about the technology we take for granted and how we got to where we're at. I thought Dr. Chuck presented the material in a very relatable and engaging manner and I would recommend other courses offered by him. Thank you for the education!

por Mario R P F

Oct 19, 2017

Interesting course, you will learn how computer networks were created, the security concerns and many of the invertors who contributed for the currents networks technologies like protocols and topology. Must-take course, surely...

por 费菲

Dec 02, 2016

good for those who gets start to learn the internet, also helpful to clear up knowledge while reading relevant books.

but some of the courses are still a little bit messy to me, which need to be learnt by myself further after class

por Jasper d W

Sep 13, 2015

Nice course! Provides a good basis in understanding the Internet, where it originated from and how it works. Mr. Severance is an excellent tutor and I really liked his videos and keynotes. He makes the material come to live.

por Yash S

Oct 27, 2016

Dr. Chuck has created a great course for those interested in learning the basics of Internet History, technology, and security, that is approachable even for those who aren't well versed in computer science.

por ALFONSO N J C

Nov 12, 2017

Dr. Chuck is the best teacher who explains the Internet History and the main concepts on technologý and security so single and kind, I enjoyed learning so much with this course, thanks to everyone!

por Alejandro A

Aug 10, 2017

Great classes. Very easy for everybody looking to have a first contact with the subject: although a bit more in-depth explanations about the technology part would have been great.

por Nowshin T

Jul 10, 2020

It's good start for anyone who wants to know how it all came to be and how things are getting done now. It's a fun, interesting, educative and most of all, relaxing course.

por Ivan C

Aug 14, 2015

This is a very good course for those who know very little about the internet or computers and is a fantastic stepping-stone for doing other computer science course latter

por Jacob S

Jul 25, 2017

It was a good overview of the history and tech of the internet. I understood everything, if sometimes just barely, and I have a non-tech background in the tech world.

por Deleted A

Sep 18, 2015

Video quality is poor. The content is quite interesting, but while navigating, the quality of the video disturbs me. It would be better, if you can upgrade this.

por Eden M

Oct 15, 2017

Really enjoyed it- broad overview, beautifully supplemented with interviews of relevant, interesting people and links to technical resources if desired.

por Christopher C

Sep 27, 2020

Complete and very detailed history of first computer, network and TCP/IP/APP (OSI model) but not really about security. AT all it's a very good mooc

por Vikas R

Mar 10, 2017

great course! awesome,

i have learned many of the things from this course

i would like to thanks dr. chuck tell about these studies