Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
2,296 classificações
793 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH
22 de Jun de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

AP
11 de Ago de 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 779 Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Felizitas R

28 de Dez de 2018

Dieser Kurs war für mich als Neueinsteigerin genau richtig. Es wurde sehr verständliches Englisch gesprochen und die Begleitmaterialien waren ausführlich und hilfreich. Im Forum wurde auf Fragen immer sofort ausführlich geantwortet. Mir hat der Kurs sehr gefallen und ich habe viel gelernt.

por Mohammed M

4 de Nov de 2018

This is the most interesting topic I've ever learned in my life.Tons*C2 of thanks to professor Lagerstrom who explained everything clearly and patiently and thanks to Stanford university too. I would so recommend this course to my fellow science enthusiasts and thanks to you too coursera.

por Tony G

5 de Fev de 2021

This was an outstanding course! Professor Lagerstrom did an excellent job teaching the material in a way that was understandable. I absolutely loved this course. I have a much better understanding of Special Relativity and a desire to keep learning more about it. Highly recommended!

por Shashank D

26 de Mai de 2018

Very well designed course with good content and information. Also takes a methodical approach to teaching and is easy to follow and get a good understanding of the underlying concepts behind special theory of relativity with context around how it was conceived and developed by Einstein.

por Tristan

30 de Mar de 2017

Great class. The professor is very careful, clear, and methodical. If you know basic algebra then you'll be able to understand everything that goes on in this course. The progression is nice and slow so that when you get to the "weird stuff" it all makes perfect sense. Highly recommend.

por shubham j

19 de Set de 2017

We made haste slowly. :)

And, it helped absorb some concepts which I've read multiple times over and over but could never accept.

Despite having completed the course once, I keep revisiting the videos every now and then. It helps me further get the concepts as a part of my intuition.

por Victoria P

3 de Jun de 2020

Es un curso espectacular para los curiosos que estén dispuestos a hacer el esfuerzo que se requiere para entender. El profesor es claro y preciso y el curso es llevado de manera que se va acelerando suavemente hasta llegar al núcleo de la teoría. Muchas gracias! Lo disfruté mucho.

por Olga G

25 de Jun de 2018

Very well built and easy to digest course, even for somebody who is very far from maths and physics in day-to-day reality. Special thank you for refresh on school maths needed for the course - very helpful. The course takes some time and thinking, but worth it. Absolutely recommend!

por Liviu A

12 de Dez de 2017

Great, approachable course of the high summits of the human mind. I am grateful that I had the chance to understand this (for now) - or merely to be in the position of asking educated questions - during my lifetime. Thank you, professor Lagerstrom, Stanford University and Coursera!

por Gustavo P

21 de Out de 2017

An excellent course! The professor's explanations are brilliant! And the exercises are well chosen and fit perfectly well the contents of the course. I cannot be happier with this course. Now I really feel I have a sound grasp of the Special Theory of Relativity and Einstein's life!

por Dhananjay S

6 de Mai de 2018

Great place to start the journey into the theory of relativity. Loved the Lectures, the Professor, the layout of the course. Being a Physics student this course seems to run a little slowly in the first few weeks but the detailed explanation of all the basic concepts was very good.

por Mohamed R

22 de Jul de 2017

One of the best courses i have ever taken it uses simple everyday language,also it is great for those who want to take a quantitative approach to the whole concept of relativity.This course also features one of the best if not the best professor of physics that ever taught to me .

por Shannon L

26 de Fev de 2017

Larry is the best-I highly recommend! I loved this course and really enjoyed exploring these concepts. It is very well put together in a way that gives you time to ponder and try to truly understand the theory before getting to the "cool stuff." I will miss this weekly adventure!

por Bee_r

26 de Mar de 2017

Amazing,thanks very much for your professional and responsible in teaching.

I am always having the curiosity about Einstein,so i hope maybe someday you can give us the curriculum on his general theory of relativity.

Thanks again for all the courses i've learned from your teaching.

por Pratham S

30 de Jul de 2019

Lovely course. A well taught and elaborate explanation of the Special Theory of Relativity. Also an insight into Einstein life and how he came up with his theories in different sectors and the 5 famous papers of 1905.

A must for every physics, astronomy and aerospace enthusiast.

por Vivien T

24 de Set de 2016

Excellent course which presents the special theory of relativity in a very clear and accessible manner and also explains well the scientific, technological and biographical context of this discovery. I warmly recommend this course. Congratulations and thanks to Larry Lagerstrom

por Preet P

28 de Jan de 2021

perfect introduction to special theory of relativity. almost anyone can understand the special theory through this course because professor is so good at teaching the theory from very basic. i feel myself lucky enough to learn from such professor. who is really great teacher.

por Marcos P O

13 de Jan de 2020

Excellent course. Although I'm not into this kind of science, I've managed to finally understand it. If I can, you can. You can do the course with calculations or without calculations. Anyway, I've you are curious about the subject, just take it. Thanks to the Coursera team.

por Juan S M F

22 de Jun de 2018

Muchas gracias profesor por el curso expuesto. Me ha encantado, su forma de explicar es maravillosa. Me he motivado de gran manera para profundizar el conocimiento entregado. Muy agradable su forma de compartir el conocimiento. Gracias a Coursera por dar este tipo de cursos!

por muhamed n a

18 de Set de 2017

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

por Ray G

19 de Fev de 2021

I have really enjoyed this course, the lecturer "Larry Randles Lagerstrom" presented the course in a clear and concise way. The presentations and examples used where in easy to follow steps, which supported my learning styles...... A big thank you to Lary and the team.....

por YuHanZhang

17 de Jan de 2021

Great course for students who want to get an understanding on the topic of the special theory of relativity. The professor gives detailed lectures with acceptable pace for everyone. I hope that one day the professor will open a course on the general theory of relativity.

por Jordi T

14 de Jun de 2019

This course is very comprehensive and it is also very well prepared in order to have a progressive understanding of the theory of the special relativity. Lectures made by the instructor are very interesting and you can get addicted as if you were watching a Netflix series.

por ACADEMAN

24 de Jul de 2017

THE COURSE WAS A DELIGHT! MR. LAGERSTROM WAS AN EXCELLENT INSTRUCTOR. IT WAS A REAL PLEASURE TO SIT IN ON HIS LECTURES EACH DAY AND LEARN A DIFFICULT SUBJECT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO ANYONE WITHOUT HESITATION. THANK YOU MR. LAGERSTROM FOR A TRULY WELL DONE COURSE.

por Bruno M

1 de Abr de 2018

Thank you very much to Professor Lagerstrom for sharing his knowledge publicly for the benefit of others. This is a fantastic course for learning the concepts of the special theory of relativity. Highly recommended if you are getting started or getting back into physics.