Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
1,516 classificações
472 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Liu H

Jan 11, 2019

This is hands down the best introduction to the Special Theory of Relativity I have ever found. The instructor really explains everything so lucidly that even lay audiences without a strong math or physics background can grasp the theory. I would really love to see a course by this instructor on the General Theory of Relativity as well!

por Koray U E

Jan 23, 2019

Thanks a lot

por ジャロウ

Feb 23, 2019

Very Nice

por Dr. M U

Feb 26, 2019

Best course to understand the basis of the Special Theory of Relativity, mainly for such guys who mean to understand this theory only by using mathematics.

por Guillaume B

Mar 08, 2019

Amazing course!!! Thanks a lot! Wonderful course and teacher!

por Ann H

Dec 27, 2018

Superb course. Engrossing from start to finish!

por Ken H

Dec 28, 2018

Great course. The instructor goes slow and repeats important points for maximum retention. Key equations are rigorously derived (requiring only high school algebra) but are rarely required in the weekly quizzes. After completing this course I have a better understanding of special relativity and (thanks to the final week) better understand its relationship to general relativity.

por Felizitas R

Dec 28, 2018

Dieser Kurs war für mich als Neueinsteigerin genau richtig. Es wurde sehr verständliches Englisch gesprochen und die Begleitmaterialien waren ausführlich und hilfreich. Im Forum wurde auf Fragen immer sofort ausführlich geantwortet. Mir hat der Kurs sehr gefallen und ich habe viel gelernt.

por Garth E

Mar 21, 2019

Great couse!

por Alejandro L

Aug 07, 2018

There is certainly more to Einstein than merely his theories of special and general relativity.

por Anay M

Sep 02, 2018

Exceptional course with an exceptional instructor. Easy to understand, concise, yet incredibly informative.

por Daniel B

Aug 22, 2018

Very good !

por Alex R

Aug 24, 2018

Excellent course. I enjoyed it immensely

por Chamara N S

Sep 06, 2018

Great to begin to learn special theory of relativity. Love the way of everything flows.

por Jeffrey G P

Aug 26, 2018

This was a very well explained and demonstrated course.

por Wayne C L

Sep 07, 2018

It was a lot of fun to learn all this!

por Kantaphat P

Aug 28, 2018

Very thoughtful and interesting. Also not very hard to understand.

por Sriram R

Aug 27, 2018

very nice course

por Som D

Sep 09, 2018

the course was very easy

por oscar A

Sep 09, 2018

Excellent course and teacher; it helped me expand and put together previous scattered knowledge I had on this topic. It has motivated me to continue my learning on astrophysics and music with Coursera.

por Quincy G

Oct 09, 2018

Professor was very thorough in explaining the various aspects regarding the Special Theory of Relativity. The tests and problem sets were well related to what I learned in the videos, and helped me apply what I learned. A terrific course.

por Anna O

Oct 11, 2018

Literally the BEST course I've ever taken online! Perfectly structured, very detailed, very accurate and informative. I am a dozen steps closer to my dream of getting properly educated in the field of physics and the realm of exact sciences about the Universe. I enormously admire Prof. Lagerstrom as he's obviously put a lot of effort in preparing all necessary materials, making it all vivid and human with the help of quotes, stories and remarks about Einstein, always making sure the students understand the material and receive and remember it logically structured. Prof. Lagerstrom seems extremely charismatic and engaging to me, I regret this is the only course of his on Coursera. Thank you so much!

por Anand C

Oct 12, 2018

Loved this course!

This was my first course through Coursera that I completed in full :) and I'm glad I did it. I always was a bit interested in Astrophysics and even had LOTS of books on my shelf in the hope that someday I would start reading and learning - all by myself. But I couldn't gather enough motivation - and so it never really worked out. But after taking up the course and going through the different topics - I feel that I can begin a more serious approach to studying Relativity and can tackle some of the standard books on the subject.

I don't have a background in Physics, but that didn't prove to be a problem while going through the course. I was able to complete each week's contents by spending around 45mts-an hr each day. Was also maintaining my own set of notes - I'm sure I might be looking at them again someday when I'm exploring the subject bit more in depth. The quizzes were somewhat easier that I expected and I'm happy I was able to get some of my doubts clarified promptly through the forums.

My only concern was that a) I would have liked the course to be bit more technical/mathematical and b) I wish I had completed the 'optional problems' too at the end of each week :). But these are not really so critical as it was an introductory course and I didn't have any basic understanding of Relativity prior to this.

Overall I'm happy to have completed my first course , having gained an insight into Einstein's work and taken my first baby steps towards understanding Astrophysics/Cosmology ! Looking forward to see some more related/advanced courses in the same area. Thanks to the Faculty, all the timely help on the Forums & Coursera!

P.S.

Can't wait to show-off my Certificate to everyone !!!

Regards

Anand

por Jojy M

Oct 12, 2018

An excellent course for those who want to have a basic understanding of the special theory of relativity without the scary math that one usually associates with the theory.

por Rajeev R

Oct 16, 2018

I have always wanted to understand how relativity works and how did Einstein go about developing this theory and this course provided a brilliant opportunity and the professor delivered this a manner that allowed me to understand the process and the theory.