Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
2,303 classificações
794 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

AP
11 de Ago de 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

BH
22 de Jun de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 782 Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Vishal V

22 de Jul de 2017

I like this course and i learn something new and very weird things about universe. I also thankful to Prof. Larry Lagerstrom, and Stanford University to provide such valuable knowledge and also thankful to coursera to provide such platform for learning.

por Andres P

13 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course. Great lectures, perfect for anyone with a minimum background on physics. No need to have any previous knowledge of the Special Theory of Relativity. Very well explained and well designed exercises. Top experience! 100% recommended!

por Luiz C

18 de Jun de 2019

Really great Course: though Professor Lagestrom explanations can sometimes feel being too long, he is always very clear. I really enjoyed this Course, and wish there would bea similar follow-up course on the topic of the General Theory of Relativity

por Harry H

18 de Mar de 2020

Very thorough and modern explanation of the basic principles of SR. Modern in the sense that math is not emphasized to start getting the correct intuition. Thank you Prof. Holstrom and thank you to the staff for answering all questions so promptly.

por John M

27 de Mai de 2017

A fantastic course by a fantastic teacher. Enthusiastic and interesting and most importantly clearly explaining the subject matter. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course to anyone and to take any other course run by Larry Randles Lagerstrom.

por Utkarsh C

14 de Jul de 2020

Really it was a great course, explained with such good examples and out teacher " just hats off to him". Sir, you were really very kind and intelligent. thank you for letting us understand the fundamentals of Einstein Special theory of Relativity.

por Jean-Jacques Z

23 de Jun de 2018

Very clear presentation of the Physics involved. Can be followed without mathematical background. As a suggested reading I would add "L'évolution des idées en Physique" from Einstein / Infeld"Let's go now for a lecture in general relativity!

por Quincy G

9 de Out de 2018

Professor was very thorough in explaining the various aspects regarding the Special Theory of Relativity. The tests and problem sets were well related to what I learned in the videos, and helped me apply what I learned. A terrific course.

por Amalkrishna m

11 de Out de 2020

Intresting course and excellent professor and never ever had this excellent online class valuable and worth class and I'm become more endustatic in physics and thanks for all the guys behind this project and special thanks for professor

por Benjamin Z F

26 de Dez de 2017

The content and quality of the course is amazing. I am very satisfied with the course director's knowledge, his ability to convey that knowledge and I now have a much better understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity. Five stars!

por Santiago B

23 de Jun de 2017

It's a brilliant course. Although I knew nothing about this topics, even as regard as basic Physics, I understood everything. There are simple explanations and a very didactic diagramming. This was an enriching and enjoyable experience.

por Shruthi S

2 de Mar de 2017

Thanks for this course. And I am overwhelmed by the fact that you're giving away these course materials for free. Of course, I'll buy a few important courses for I'll be asked for a certificate. Anyways, thanks a lot team course era. :)

por Nikola S

18 de Ago de 2020

One of the best courses I have ever seen. With only little knowledge in physics and math, it is possible to follow the course until the end. A lot of the theory is visualized in pictures and graphs to make it even better to understand.

por Ciaran L

9 de Jun de 2020

Larry was a brilliant teacher and explained everything very clearly. He took the necessary time on each aspect of the course and made sure that the 'foundations' were laid to properly understand Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

por Oguzhan O

19 de Mai de 2020

I have never ever had a better course than this. As a person with a little background in physical scineces, I am capable of asking important questions about the universe. Thank you Prof. Lagerstrom for your unforgettable contribution.

por Arun G

14 de Abr de 2020

I got a more in-depth understanding of how special relativity acutally works and I was able to completely clear the major doubts that i had about the various pseudo paradoxes that arised out of this theory such as the twins paradox.

por Shrijan R

16 de Jul de 2020

This course is really good for the very beginners who have started studying physics. The way it has been presented is a very easy and lucid one. Although I would have like the optional problems to have much more harder problems.

por Michal F

1 de Dez de 2016

Great teacher. Clear message. Goes slowly though the material and highlights key concepts few times to make them stay. If someone does not want slow pace can always jump ahead as course structure is well organized and described.

por Maja K

20 de Out de 2020

Amazing. Thank you so much. Mr Larry Randles Lagerstrom is the best teacher ever. I am not a physicist, but the subject of special relativity has always interested me, and no one has presented it in such a clear way. Thank you.

por Daniel B N

28 de Nov de 2018

O curso é excelente. O conteúdo é muito bem dividido de modo que o aprendizado é gradual e consistente. O professor é bom, consegue dar bons exemplos e contextualiza bem a matéria. O aspecto histórico é extremamente agradável.

por Jenna K

31 de Out de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and couldn’t recommend it enough. The lecturer is terrific at explaining complex topics and his Festina Lente approach was highly suitable for teaching this subject matter at a beginner level.

por Raghad M A

25 de Fev de 2020

thank you, Professor! it has been great learning all this from you. i enjoyed the journey. it was marvelous and creative and helped me reflect upon a lot of things i was once curious about as a child and as i was growing up.

por Priyanka V

21 de Set de 2017

I never thought that studying Theory of Relativity could be so easy-All thanks to Larry for making the course so easy, conceptual at the same time interesting.

Looking forward for your course on General theory of Relativity.

por Tarcisio P

24 de Mai de 2020

I'm a senior engineer, my job is about power electronic. I have always been interested on the Eistein's thought and I thank Coursera and Stanford University for the opportunity to discover the Special Theory of Relativity.

por Edwin P

2 de Jun de 2018

Great course for thoughtful minds .

Awesome lectures from gifted professor.

Great understanding of Einstein and Special theory of relativity .

Mind blowing facts, time dilation and length contraction .

And the weird paradoxes