Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
1,516 classificações
472 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Fabio B

Jun 26, 2017

Excellent course with an excellent teacher!

por Javal S

Oct 19, 2017

It was very helpful.language used was simple . Professor Larry provided with wonderful deep insights. A truly enriching experience . Helped me a lot as an undergrad physics student.

por yiyi y

Oct 04, 2016

Great course, awesome instructor

por Marcel W

Mar 09, 2018

Great Intro to Einsteins ideas.

por Frank V M

Feb 25, 2017

This course goes straight to the point. Now I have a better understanding of STR

por Michael B

Dec 29, 2016

Fantastic course

por Robert E K P

Aug 21, 2017

The course was fantastic. I have struggled for years to understand the Special Theory of Relativity and I finally have a good grasp of the theory. The course is not difficult for anyone with at least a fundamental grasp of algebra and should be no problem with more math in their background. I would really like to see a course on the General Theory of Relativity taught by Professor Langerstrom. The lectures were clear and well documented and the short quizzes at the end of each subsection of the class materials really helped to make understanding the material presented easy to comprehend. I'd also love to see a book written by Dr. Langerstrom based on the course. I have a couple around home and they aren't as clear as the material presented in this course.

por Shashank D

May 27, 2018

Very well designed course with good content and information. Also takes a methodical approach to teaching and is easy to follow and get a good understanding of the underlying concepts behind special theory of relativity with context around how it was conceived and developed by Einstein.

por Oleksii K

Oct 03, 2017

Very interesting course. It gave me a basic understanding of Special theory of relativity.

por Pam E

Aug 20, 2017

An excellent course with great videos explaining the concepts at a level and pace that could be understood. Thank you very much.

por P K

Dec 31, 2016

Excellent course. Excellent instructor. Well worth the time!

por denis l

Nov 13, 2016

Really appreciated!

por Rusi R

Feb 12, 2018

Great class, thank you. Just a suggestion for the movie with matter-antimatter fuel comparison to the center of the galaxy , when speaking of 38 kg antimatter, just for comparison perhaps we can convert this to truckloads of coal ... this way people will realize better how much energy it goes to producing 1 gram of antimatter, not even to mention 38 kg ... :")

por Douglas R

Sep 08, 2017

Oddly, given subject matter, this is a very old school course - professor lecturing before a white board. Yet it works! I finally understand the Special Theory of Relativity and am convinced that time dilation and length contraction are real. Course is well paced. Outlines provided for taking notes for each session are very helpful. Quizzes and tests are appropriate. Highly recommend to anyone who has ever wondered if on might actually travel to another galaxy and return alive.

por Alex S

Jul 30, 2017

amazing, looking forward to take one on the general theory of relativity.

por Steve B

Jan 04, 2017

A enjoyable and well laid out course, mathematics level: high school, some rigorous algebraic proofs though not essential to pass.

por Cristian N

Jan 16, 2017

Excelente habilidad para la docencia mezclando el contexto histórico de uno de los más grandes avances de la ciencia moderna con las bases matemáticas y físicas necesarias para comprender la Teoría de la Relatividad Especial, de una manera didáctica y para todo público, no sólo para personas entendidas en física avanzada.

por Malavika S

Feb 12, 2017

Very well paced, with very clear explanations and interesting insights.

por Sam

May 13, 2017

Thank you Professor, your lecture is very interesting, and it is quite helpful to learn physics with a little history. I found that there are some mistakes in the subtitle, but it is not significant and I think I can understand it according to the context. Really impressive course, I hope I can see you in other courses.

por Federica C

Dec 18, 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

por sushantedx

Aug 12, 2017

Amazing . time is suspect

por Thomas H

Nov 27, 2017

It is a great course for anyone who wants not only to learn the theory but to understand it and how it's creator Albert Einstein came to these discoveries.

por Stephan K

Dec 12, 2017

A thourough

por Etienne T

Nov 10, 2016

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

por Lluis O

Dec 05, 2016

Larry R Lagerstrom is an extraordinay instructor, for an extraordinary course.