Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
1,589 classificações
496 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Rahul M

Jul 22, 2017

Very well taught, explored a little in less in depth than what I thought it would. But a brilliant course all the same

por Yugesh B

Dec 05, 2017

Thank you Coursera for providing such a excellent course with such a master prof. from such a prestigious university.

por Navneet J

Jun 05, 2017

Awesome course!! Professor explained the concepts in a very simple manner and yet explained them in great details....

por Natarajan D

Jul 21, 2017

one of the best courses I have attended. Have explained complex concepts well enough to understand and think about !

por lui l

Jul 15, 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

por Deleted A

Oct 05, 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

por Jyoti C

Dec 21, 2017

This course is good enough but so lengthy content and sometimes is is difficult to recall and answer the question.

por Élyse L

Apr 04, 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

por Tomaz K

Aug 20, 2019

Understandable for one with fair skills in mathematics and physics.

Simple explanation of non-intuitive reality.

por Andre D

Nov 11, 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

por Akash S

Dec 11, 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

por Matthew G

Aug 23, 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

por Federica C

Dec 18, 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

por Ahad A

Jun 29, 2018

This course was great and I finally can understand the concepts of the special theory of relativity! Thanks!

por Shubham S D

Feb 25, 2018

Good material and great Tutors. Response from the moderators and mentors on discussion forum is very helpful

por Anay M

Sep 02, 2018

Exceptional course with an exceptional instructor. Easy to understand, concise, yet incredibly informative.

por Hari K

Apr 06, 2018

best course for who loves Einsteina and his theory and best part of the course is the professor i love him

por Elena P

Jul 30, 2017

Exceptionally well planned course, very helpful quizes and problems for practice and deeper understanding.

por Paul T

Jul 07, 2019

Thank you. I really enjoyed the course. Just the right mix of maths, theory and background information.

por alponte

Mar 05, 2017

Very interesting and not so much difficult. The professor speak slowly and it's easy to undertsand him.

por Marcel l

Feb 16, 2020

Bravo et merci à ce professeur qui a su expliquer clairement les concepts de la relativité restreinte

por Todd B

Aug 20, 2017

Excellent course. Enjoyed lectures and examples presented that truly helped me understand the topic.

por Omesh K S

Feb 11, 2017

Course was well organised and with mostly qualitative discussions. This course is apt for beginners.

por Taran R

May 13, 2018

Very thorough and incredibly well-explained. I would love a GR course taught by the same professor!

por Prasanna K R G

Apr 26, 2017

Very well thought syllabus and the professor really taught it well. The handouts are simply awesome