Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
650 classificações
188 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

LG
25 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT
10 de Jan de 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 185 Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por Abdulaziz S B

10 de Dez de 2019

Excellent

por Kim n y

28 de Fev de 2019

v

e

r

y

good

por Jorge G

1 de Jul de 2020

Superb!

por 이근영

31 de Jan de 2019

Cool

por Rajneesh T

10 de Abr de 2020

NA

por 박기현

31 de Jan de 2019

g

por Charles E M

29 de Abr de 2018

G

por William ( A

4 de Jan de 2021

Great job organizing and presenting this material. Assuming you are open to hear of possible ways to improve on an already great job, my suggestion would be to expand the Aristotle material a bit and include a discussion of his work developing syllogistic logic. In addition I believe there is an important contrast between Aristotle and Plato it would be worth illuminating-- Plato was all about deductive reasoning, and it was Aristotle, in turning Plato's worldview upside down by declaring that we can trust our senses-- i.e. it is the observable concretes that are the true source of reality and "unrecallable" knowledge. One could argue from this that the genesis of empirical research rests with Aristotle.

por Antonia T B

18 de Mai de 2019

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia

por Eshana B

30 de Jun de 2019

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.

por Kenneth M

4 de Abr de 2016

Clearly presented.course which focuses only on the principal question and themes of each of the 4 philosophies. I found it extremely valuable as it structured in a logical way these issues and also related themt modern life. My only criticism relates to the grading method of the final assignment 0 or 1 is far too simplistic.

por Harvey

21 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoyed the content and how well it was delivered. She really knows what she is talking about! My only constructive comment would be to somehow make for real-time discussion between students ... after all, we are talking philosophy here. As we have seen with the virus the technology certainly exists.

por Mike M

1 de Fev de 2021

The philosophical concepts seemed more difficult in this course versus the Plato and predecessors course. The stoics provided some thought provoking ideas whereas Aristotle was surprisingly dry. The instructor does a great job of summarizing concepts and provides great value over simply reading the books.

por Miguel A R

6 de Jun de 2020

En lo personal ha sido de gran ayuda, me ha brindado una gran experiencia haber viajado en las mentes de estos seres que han dejado su legado a través de la historia. Me hubiese gustado que la extensión y/o contenido hubiese abarcado otras temáticas.

por William M

23 de Out de 2017

This was a very solid introduction to the philosophy of Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics. It is relatively introductory-level but still I think that even someone who has studied Ancient Philosophy before can learn something from this.

por Anette W

11 de Out de 2016

A good follow- up to the previous course. The material is well organised and gives a profound overview while still inciting further investigation, leaving enough room for expansion of the mind and new thoughts on... almost everything.

por ZHANG Z

30 de Mai de 2020

Very inspiring and interesting examples! It helped me obtain a more detailed and thorough view on Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics! Great learning experience!

por Sidney C

6 de Dez de 2018

I enjoyed the course and treatment by the Professor. I learned a lot about this important period in philosophy. Thank you.

por Jaafar A

31 de Jul de 2020

very good course, but requires more multiple choice and fill in the black exercises to be perfect.

thanks Dr. Susan Meyer.

por Francisco L

4 de Jul de 2019

Very complete, to be perfect, from my point of view, the course would need less material to read and a point of dynamism.

por David M

20 de Jun de 2016

Interesting overview. Would have appreciated more time on Hellenistic Philosophy

por Santosh K

22 de Set de 2016

Beside the annoying loud music in the intro of each video it is Insightful.

por kousay a

15 de Mar de 2020

Greek Philosophers were masters of thought and logic. An excellent course!

por Mostafa B

5 de Dez de 2016

This was a very enjoyable experience, thank you all for the opportunity.

por Mick H

15 de Set de 2016

Another fine MOOC by the prof. I really like her dry delivery style.