Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
650 classificações
188 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

LG
25 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT
10 de Jan de 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 185 Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por IOANNA L

25 de Mai de 2020

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

por Kayhan A

9 de Mai de 2020

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

por Annette V

27 de Mar de 2021

This professor is awesome! She really knows what she's talking about and I love that she's not "glitzy."

por Barbara H

26 de Fev de 2021

Excellent clear lectures. Professor is amiable, intellectually provocative, and has a sense of humor.

por Serena S

12 de Jan de 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

por Olivia R

20 de Jun de 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

por Alexandre N

20 de Dez de 2020

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

por Simon M

28 de Mai de 2020

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

por Antonia Y

7 de Mar de 2016

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

por Dimitris S

30 de Nov de 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

por Carole L P

4 de Jun de 2020

Really great course. Learned so much about Aristotle. Good course. Glad to have taken it.

por Jamie L

4 de Ago de 2019

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

por Kenny S

2 de Fev de 2018

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

por Dimitris P

13 de Out de 2016

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

por Sajid K

31 de Mai de 2020

Very well structured, it explains complex ideas simply. Makes philosophy very interesting!

por Erica

24 de Jul de 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

por Don E

11 de Jun de 2020

Very informative and detailed course! I found it both interesting and thought provoking.

por Abid A

7 de Jun de 2020

Great course , well explained, recommend to anybody who have no background in philosophy.

por ABELARDO S B S

10 de Out de 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

por Felipe V R

14 de Jun de 2016

A fantastic course, simple, high-level and didactic, rare thing to see. congratulations!

por Feng L Y

21 de Jul de 2016

I like the quiz between subjects in every video courses. It is really interesting.

por Ravitte K

1 de Nov de 2016

Well done and thought provoking. Only good things to say about the professor.

por Deleted A

16 de Abr de 2016

This is one of my top three favorite courses I've taken on Coursera so far!

por Muhammad A

25 de Jun de 2016

This is an interesting and enjoyable course of well connected study units.

por Vaibhav A

26 de Mai de 2020

Loved it! Such an insightful observation into Ancient Greek philosophy!