Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
650 classificações
188 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

AT
10 de Jan de 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
25 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 185 Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por Deleted A

7 de Abr de 2016

Both of the Ancient Philosophy courses, Plato and His Predecessors, and Aristotle and His Successors were excellent. Susan is a very good lecturer, clear, and precise.

I have completed 'Introduction to Philosophy' and the 'Philosophy of Science', both at the University of Edinburgh, and can highly recommend Susan's courses at University of Pennsylvania as the next step.

por Subrat D

29 de Jul de 2021

A​n excellent exposition of Aristotle's Philosophy. The Professor was lucid and explained all major concepts in a compehensive manner. The quizzes and the project reinforced the learning. The videos were just right to keep one engaged and covered all conceptts exceedingly well. Overall an outstanding course which has whetted my apetite for learning of Philosophy.

por Caitlin N

30 de Jan de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I started with practically no knowledge on the subject, and finished with a great understanding. The course was not difficult to follow; had interesting and easy to understand lectures, and provided brilliant resources for background study. I highly recommend this course for anybody interested in Philosophy!

por Wei L

27 de Jun de 2016

The gold of Aristotle's classic has been expertly mined out and presented in a connoisseur way for the appreciation, which give this lecture its form, or in Aristotle's term, its soul to be alive.

Professor Meyer rarely smiled, but when she did, she smiled very charmingly. ; )

por MUHAMMAD G S

26 de Jul de 2021

It was a great course. It opened new doors for me to think. This course immersed me in immense joy during this global scary pandemic time. Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer as a teacher is an extraordinary personality. Her presentation style has fascinated me throughout the course.

por J H B v d M

7 de Set de 2020

I learned a lot about ancient philosophy. Thanks for this opportunity. The teacher explained in a clear way the important aspects of the ancient philosophers. By doning it in her way, she invited me for deepening my interest for the stoics. I enjoyed this course very much.

por Renee K

24 de Jul de 2020

Thank you, Professor Susan! I've enjoyed the second part of this course and the material and new informative skills I've learned in this course have helped me to grow my love for learning more on philosophy.

I highly recommend taking this course you'll not regret it!

por Nicolau N S

19 de Mai de 2020

Again, like I have said in the end of Part I, this was a wonderful learning experience. I feel very grateful to Coursera, to the University of Pennsylvania and specially to Susan Meyer. This will certainly help me as a philosophy teacher in the future. Thanks!

por David J

19 de Abr de 2021

A beautifully lucid and well thought out presentation of some of the views and arguments of these fascinating early thinkers. I've never heard or read a clearer account of the issues that concerned them. Susan Meyer's love of her subject shines through!

por Willian S

20 de Out de 2021

This course is splendid. The course introduces Aristotle's ideas and then moves on to the Epicurean and Stoic schools of philosophy. The quizzes are relevant to the course material, and the final assignment(s) apply the knowledge that is learned.

por Emanuela Z

27 de Ago de 2019

This course is well structured. Organized in a chronological sense, it allows us to compare the idea of philosophers considered with contemporaries and precedents.

The intermediate exercises and questions are effective for a better understanding.

por Sandra R E

25 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course so loved learning more about ancient philosophers. Enjoyed the lectures very much. I took the first part of this course Presocratic philosophers & Plato first. I have enjoyed very much taking both of these courses.

por Gregory R

21 de Out de 2021

Dr. Meyer was a knowledgeable, pleasant guide throughout "Ancient Philosophy." I especially appreciate the way she used the writing exercises to help her students get a better understanding of the course material.

por Lee

21 de Dez de 2019

Enjoyed this survey of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and the Stoics! Good introduction to the ideas, with easy to understand examples that make it possible to understand the translated readings that precede them.

por Claudia M

1 de Dez de 2020

I loved this course by prof. dr Meyer. Indeed, it involves reading the original texts, then they are duly commented by prof dr Meyer, who invites us to use our own reasoning ability. I recommend this course!

por Orville C

27 de Mai de 2020

Dr. Susan Sauvé Meyer delivers the course material at a pace that makes the subject easy to understand while using check-in questions during her presentations that help the listener capture the key concepts.

por Paolo R

16 de Mai de 2020

Un curso excelente! Susan Sauve Meyer la profesora es una persona excelente y con mucho conocimiento en la materia, y te explica paso a paso y perfectamente cada unidad y lectura del curso. Muchas gracias!

por Sabrina M

7 de Set de 2021

This was the second part of 2 courses of ancient philosophy kept by Penn University, and I'm very satisfied with both of them. The teacher is nice and well prepared and the argument is very interesting

por Alejandro C D

2 de Jul de 2020

It is a very complete course because the main approaches of Aristotle, Epicureans and Stoics are explored and allow us a clearly understanding his doctrines and apply them to our daily life.

por Bruna F

12 de Ago de 2020

Great and very interesting course, both parts! I'm gonna miss it, and actually I wish there was more! Also what an excellent instructor! Thank you to all involved in this beautiful project!

por Sylvia H K

3 de Abr de 2016

An excellent start to get knowledge about the philosophy principle of the ancient thinkers. Their vision have influenced the way of thinking in European and Western culture.

por Noemi M

3 de Ago de 2020

I found this course very interesting. Professor Meyer managed to make Philosophy lovely and easy to understand for students who, like me, have never studied this subject!

por Jutta B

3 de Out de 2021

I really enjoyed this course and the way it was presented. It was very accessible also to someone who has no philosophical background. A big thank you to the lecturer!!!

por Felipe Z G

18 de Mai de 2020

Excelente como curso introductorio de la filosofía aristotélica, estoica y epicurea. Las lecturas sugeridas son muy apropiadas y las explicaciones en los videos también.

por David M L

20 de Mai de 2018

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.