Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
650 classificações
188 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

LG
25 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT
10 de Jan de 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 185 Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por Nabil K

13 de Jul de 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

por Mandhir S

1 de Fev de 2021

Excellent course. Really well presented and the prompts/quizzes were appropriate. I wish there were more. I have done both her courses. And they are both excellent.

por Laura M P

5 de Mai de 2020

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

por Angelina W

10 de Mar de 2016

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

por Florence R

19 de Fev de 2021

Excellent course! I enjoyed the journey in Ancient Philosophy, Susan Sauvé Meyer provided in this course and the former one about Plato and his predecessors.

por Raimundo P J d O

14 de Mar de 2019

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

por Josef P

19 de Mai de 2016

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

por ivan l a

12 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course, like that of Plato and Predecessors. I feel it intellectualy stimulates and challenges you. Very well the teachers clasees. I loved

por Inga B H

6 de Mai de 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

por Mandy S

19 de Jun de 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

por Chris P

22 de Mai de 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

por Matthew A

27 de Nov de 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

por Catherine M

9 de Jul de 2020

Fantastic :-) I really enjoyed the course, I learned a lot, and Professor Meyer explains everything very clearly. Highly recommended

por FRANCISCO D

7 de Jul de 2020

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

por Vangel V

27 de Jul de 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

por Deleted A

31 de Out de 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

por Cees O

29 de Mar de 2020

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

por Francisco J J

23 de Mai de 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

por Todd B T

16 de Dez de 2020

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

por Marco A S A A

19 de Mai de 2020

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

por Jacob R

27 de Out de 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

por Linda

26 de Abr de 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

por Ying X

27 de Mar de 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

por Camilo A G R

11 de Mar de 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

por Екатерина Х

27 de Fev de 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!