Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
465 classificações
107 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por Erica

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

por Caitlin N

Jan 30, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I started with practically no knowledge on the subject, and finished with a great understanding. The course was not difficult to follow; had interesting and easy to understand lectures, and provided brilliant resources for background study. I highly recommend this course for anybody interested in Philosophy!

por Hanno H

Feb 17, 2017

I very much liked the course, it has a good pace and the Professor, Susan Sauvé Meyer, does a great job in presenting the material. As the course goes on material discussed before is revisited, there are running examples (so to speak) and the set up generally seems to have been well planned and constructed in advance. This is a course anyone can follow casually on the side, its fun and offers a lot. Thank you

por Wes D S

Mar 29, 2017

Loved the course!

por Deleted A

Nov 01, 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

por D.Scott V

Aug 19, 2016

Very much enjoyed this course. Some areas were a review but in others I was able to gain a great deal of new insight into the philosophies that were covered. Many Thanks!

por J. Q A

Jan 21, 2017

This course gives an excellent tour of the thought of Aristotle and his successors. The course focuses on the main points of Aristotle's thought and gives the student an excellent frame work for understanding Aristotle's thought without getting lost in the details. A better course that leaves the student capable of going off and reading Aristotle on their own would be hard to produce. Great job.

por Nicolas L C

Apr 11, 2017

This is a great introduction to Ancient philosophy for all of those who want to obtain more knowledge about the invaluable legacy of the Greek miracle !

I deeply recommend this course, which brought be excellent additional material in Ancient philosophy useful to every philosophy student but also to anyone who wants to acquire in depth general knowledge of the roots of our civilisation, the whole brilliantly taught in a rigorous and entertaining fashion !

Thank you Professor Meyer !

por Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

por Simon S S

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course with a fitting mix of challenges and material!

por ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

por George C M

Apr 19, 2016

Good course well presented and interesting.

por Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

por ABELARDO S B S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

por John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Very Exceptional Course

por Marco A d C S

Oct 09, 2016

I would like to thank the University faculty, especially professor Susan Meyer, for the excellent lessons offered to participants. I have learned a lot about Aristotle and the following schools. The video lessons contained a wealth of information on the subject. The participants also proved very interested in sharing their views and discussing some of the intriguing topics raised by the professor and by other participants. The course was truly outstanding.

por Russell D

Feb 07, 2017

Excellent introduction to Aristotle.

por Wei L

Jun 27, 2016

The gold of Aristotle's classic has been expertly mined out and presented in a connoisseur way for the appreciation, which give this lecture its form, or in Aristotle's term, its soul to be alive.

Professor Meyer rarely smiled, but when she did, she smiled very charmingly. ; )

por Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

por Luiz F B P F

Mar 02, 2018

Amazing content. I enjoyed and lernt a lot.

por Feng L Y

Jul 21, 2016

I like the quiz between subjects in every video courses. It is really interesting.

por 김하희

Aug 11, 2018

I loved this lecture. Thank you!

por Dimitris S

Nov 30, 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

por Laurent G

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

por Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course