Chevron Left
Voltar para Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
449 classificações
105 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Melhores avaliações

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauv?-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

por Chris P

May 22, 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

por Inga B H

May 06, 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

por William

Jun 23, 2016

An enlightening course

por Sarah D

Apr 06, 2017

A very detailed and comprehensive course.

por Хан Е И

Feb 27, 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

por Nabil K

Jul 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

por Kenny S

Feb 03, 2018

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

por ABELARDO S B S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

por John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Very Exceptional Course

por Simon S S

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course with a fitting mix of challenges and material!

por ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

por George C M

Apr 19, 2016

Good course well presented and interesting.

por Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

por Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting and informative.

por Josef P

May 19, 2016

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

por Dimitris P

Oct 13, 2016

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

por Zhou X

May 25, 2016

Short and sweat course!

por Muhammad A

Jun 25, 2016

This is an interesting and enjoyable course of well connected study units.

por Antonio M M

Aug 20, 2017

Professional, well-organized, instructive and enjoyable.

por Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

por Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Superb. En

por Sylvia H K

Apr 03, 2016

An excellent start to get knowledge about the philosophy principle of the ancient thinkers. Their vision have influenced the way of thinking in European and Western culture.

por Patrick W

Jul 09, 2017

Extremely interesting! Thank you!

por Erica

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

por Caitlin N

Jan 30, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I started with practically no knowledge on the subject, and finished with a great understanding. The course was not difficult to follow; had interesting and easy to understand lectures, and provided brilliant resources for background study. I highly recommend this course for anybody interested in Philosophy!