Chevron Left
Voltar para Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector da instituição Universidade da Virgínia

4.7
estrelas
373 classificações
112 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Do you work for a nonprofit or in the social sector? Are you struggling to solve the problems and meet the needs of the people you serve? Come learn more about how design thinking, a human-centered approach to problem solving, can help you truly understand an issue, generate ideas worth testing and iterate to find solutions that make a real difference. Through global stories from areas as diverse as government, health care, and education, we’ll show you the tools, techniques and mindset needed to use design thinking to uncover new and creative solutions in the social sector. The development of this course was supported by the Batten Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at the University of Virginia's Darden School of Business. For more about the Batten Institute, see: http://www.darden.virginia.edu/batten-institute/ @BattenInstitute @DesignatDarden...

Melhores avaliações

OM

2 de nov de 2020

I really enjoyed the DT course. Provided in-depth examples and explanation about how the tool is implemented. Highly recommended for those who have a little/no knowledge about the tool.

AM

23 de jun de 2020

this was my first course with coursera. i feel very motivated and found an amazing passion here learning with the greatest faculty of the greatest university.\n\nthank you very much.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 112 Avaliações para o Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

por JULIETH H C

24 de ago de 2020

I learned very fast.

por K B

28 de mai de 2020

Exceptionally good

por Vasanthi V

13 de mai de 2020

Thank you so much!

por Dr. S M

22 de mai de 2020

Excellent course

por Nastassja Q

18 de jun de 2018

Great course!

por SURIYA P

1 de jul de 2020

Very Useful

por K V S R

20 de mai de 2020

use full

por Crony C

23 de abr de 2020

Awesome

por Jesús G L J

29 de jan de 2020

Great

por Mona A A

24 de jul de 2020

good

por Jaime S

27 de out de 2020

In comparison with Design Thinking for Innovation, a business-focused course offered by the same institution that I completed beforehand, this course is more substantive in terms of the examples that it provides and the tools that it demonstrates. Naturally, the two courses have many things in common and even incorporate more or less the same video on storytelling by Andre Martin.

It must be noted that a number of the examples appear to have had the "design thinking" label applied to them retroactively, which is to say that design thinking is not especially new as a set of principles or as a process. Moreover, while I appreciate Prof. Liedtka's assertion that design thinking is not a one-size-fits-all solution, I would have liked to have learned of instances when design thinking failed to lead to sustainable solutions. The social sector is as enamored of innovation as the business sector, but the fact is that overly fixating on making things new can mean passing up opportunities to make things better. I would also have liked Prof. Liedtka to acknowledge criticism of the actors in the social sector that she cites, such as MasAgro.

Each week concludes with an auto-graded assessment, and there is also one peer-graded assignment to cap everything off. While I found the assignment a valuable exercise, it was also obvious that many of peers did not feel the same way, considering that I came across two submissions with plagiarized content.

por Manikanta C

22 de jun de 2020

Thank you for such a lovely course provided by University of Virginia. I have learnt a lot from this course. However, I would like to mention that when these courses are meant to be for international level students, and since many students from other countries who are are enrolled, the pace of the lecture and the pronunciation can be taken care of so that it is easy to follow what the instructor is trying to say.

I think the content is great! But in some video lectures the volume level was too low to follow.

por Manoj G P

19 de jun de 2018

This is a wonderful course. I liked the quality of the content, use of case studies. and exposure to the various design thinking tools.More reading material (case studies), option to gain deeper grasp of the DT Tools and interaction with the Course Faculty (like an open Webinar Sessions atleast once during the Course Term) would have made me give it a 5 star.Nevertheless, this is good introduction to the idea and concept of Design Thinking

por CHARBONNIER C

19 de abr de 2020

Interesting to take a design thinking course about innovation in the social sector. Good balance of theory and examples from the real world. Would be nice to get more diagrams in the videos. Many of them are equivalent to audio podcasts. I recommend to take this short, clear and interesting course.

por Vanee C

3 de jul de 2020

This was my first course. I really enjoyed the way they taut us and the examples given by them were amazing. the examples provided me with certain guidelines which were very very useful while doing my project work. My experience was really good and I was also motivated. Thank you so much.

por Sarah

26 de mar de 2018

Loved the content. It was nice to have the option to read along with the videos. Good real-world examples of design thinking in action. Some of the videos felt like there could have been more value-added in terms of visuals.

por Dev D

28 de jul de 2020

The course really helped in understanding the process of designing a solution and more importantly focus on redefining the problem! A course for those who want to learn the innovation process.

por Raja c

30 de mai de 2020

This useful for people who are starting career at the beging according to my view. This course deals with such a real time examples to identify &understand the concept clearly.

por Kapil O

5 de dez de 2017

It will be useful if the course can be extended for few more weeks to introduce few more tools and case studies. It was a great learning experience any how. Thanks a lot.

por Smriti S

5 de ago de 2020

Very insightful course with appropriate case studies to enrich our understanding of Design Thinking and its real world applications in the social sector.

por Gregory C E

2 de mar de 2018

Though a good course, much of the content might appear obvious to anyone who has worked in the non-profit sector.

por Maika D M

22 de nov de 2020

It’s a great course to begin with design thinking process. It has a lot of information and it’s easy to follow.

por Shreyaa D

23 de abr de 2018

Great course, super insightful case studies and the weeks were spaced out into very manageable chunks.

por Carmen P S

24 de abr de 2018

It is a good course for a general understanding about design thinking principles and it process

por Alex G B

26 de mai de 2020

Not quite as compelling as the original Design Thinking course offered by Prof Liedtka.