Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Obesity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Obesity da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.5
200 classificações
54 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Melhores avaliações

AD

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

RR

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Understanding Obesity

por aula s

Feb 04, 2019

Thank you so much

por Hanna W

Feb 17, 2019

Very informative and well organised!

por mayada m m k e

Feb 19, 2019

Very good

por Mohamed A A H

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course

por Abigail S S

Oct 15, 2018

Excelente curso

por Farida A

Sep 23, 2018

I loved how they talk about obesity from global view and epidemic, not just as individuals.

por Rodriguez, E

Aug 10, 2017

Clear and easy to understand information.

por Shahriar A

Jan 04, 2018

very much informative , engaging but not enough money to get paid for the certificate

por olga t

May 06, 2018

I THINK THE COURSE GIVE ME MORE SKILLS

por Dra. F L M

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent! it is easy, practical an simple. Love it.

por Amit D

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

por Luisa S

May 07, 2018

This course was very helpful for me. I learn a lot and now Im implementing all the things that I learned here.

por Saadiya Y

Sep 22, 2017

Very interesting! Insightful understanding to the problem of obesity.

por Jekaterina

Jul 29, 2017

Thank you for the curse. I started to understand more about obesity.

por Geraldine M

Aug 22, 2017

Excelente curso, información muy interesante.

por Ibrahim M f

Apr 13, 2018

Its was been a great journey in the healthy life style, healthy cooking, learner too much great information in the nutritional value and habit. hop the great for instructor and for universety in feature same topic courses ..

por Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

This course explained how the physiological, psychological, and the environment play apart of being overweight and obese and how the brain's reward system is the key on why people gained the weight. Obesity is more than just overeating. It's the science behind. Overeating can be caused the brain's reward system or stress or how portion sizes differ greatly from place to place or even from when a person was in their mother's utero. This is a course that goes into great detail to understand what obesity really is and why it is becoming an epidemic problem worldwide. This is a great class for anyone who wants to learn more about and even want to be able to help fix this global issue.

por Alicia C L

May 17, 2018

I really enjoyed it. This course it was very useful.

I learned how obesity it is more than a healthy problem it is also a economic problem and we need to create new policies and be more aware about this epidemic illness.

It helping me to modify my habits and be more careful with my food choices.

por Angie W

May 02, 2018

Interesting and informative.

por basem m s

Dec 18, 2017

awesome course and very helpful

por Eva L

Aug 25, 2017

Este curso ha sido una nueva experiencia para mi. Me ha cambiado la forma de entender a la obesidad y ha ampliado mucgisimo mi conocimiento. Muchisimas gracias.

por Johanna R

Nov 01, 2018

Excellent, easy to follow and interesting course!

por Rajendr R

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

por Pucci A

Aug 16, 2017

Really interesting course. It explains the complexity of obesity and proposes some ways to treat the problem.

por Siarhei D

May 13, 2018

Very informative and useful for wide audience.