Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Obesity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Obesity da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.6
estrelas
335 classificações
87 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Melhores avaliações

AD

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

MC

Aug 20, 2020

The science behind the Obesity, its effects, addiction, control methods are explained clearly and helped to take a self motive step towards healthy living.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 86 Avaliações para o Understanding Obesity

por fatima n k

Nov 16, 2019

it is a very good experiment

por Angie W

May 02, 2018

Interesting and informative.

por Sandy C

May 02, 2018

Excellent! Very interesting!

por may l

Apr 09, 2020

like this course thanks(:

por Şenol Y

Apr 18, 2020

Thanks for everything

por DR. M S K - F P

Mar 26, 2019

P.hd level course

por aula s

Feb 04, 2019

Thank you so much

por Amanda C

Oct 29, 2017

Excellent course.

por Mohamed A A H

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course

por Sri l B

May 08, 2018

very informative

por Abigail S S

Oct 15, 2018

Excelente curso

por Philippe P

Jul 30, 2017

Great course.

por WOLFF F

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting.

por Juan M S B

May 03, 2020

Excelente!

por Анарбеков Қ И

Aug 18, 2020

Very good

por Тынышбек А И

Aug 18, 2020

Very good

por mayada m m k e

Feb 19, 2019

Very good

por Kaio M R

Aug 12, 2017

Muito bom

por SHAKIL A

Aug 31, 2020

amazing!

por Amna T

Aug 30, 2020

amazing

por Elsemarie V d W

Apr 28, 2020

Some interesting studies are mentioned, dispelling some common beliefs around obesity. I was hoping for more instructive conclusions that could be applied to assist in relieving obesity. I would like to receive a sporadic summary of truly useful action steps from the last assignment in the course when consolidated by the research team at the University of Edinburgh.

P.S.: item 2.3 seems to be missing from the structure of the course.

por Adhithya S

Apr 23, 2020

This course was well constructed, it took a conversational approach of discussing and explaining the concepts. I felt that the instructors could have tried to summarize every session. It would have been beneficial. Overall a good insight into obesity and weight related disorders.

por Ange R

Oct 01, 2017

Great for a podcast-type learning experience. I question some of the research results they mention, which is my only concern. Otherwise a great course and very educational! Corrects a lot of common misconceptions and does a good job of getting in-depth without being specialized.

por Helen B C

May 07, 2018

This course was really interesting, it covered a wide range of topics and supported assertions with evidence. It was quite quick and easy to complete, but I certainly learned new ways to tackle my own unhealthy eating habits. Thank you

por Monica

Aug 21, 2017

Updated introduction and understanding of this popular topic in health. Worth to take time to learn not only for health promoter but those want to help friends and family members on this.