Chevron Left
Voltar para Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
estrelas
1,084 classificações

Sobre o curso

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. Zanzibar will be in focus during this course and used as a case in order to exemplify how a massive increase of Tourism in a low income and resource poor setting, can increase the vulnerability of the local population. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals, especially: Goals 3: “good health and well-being” Goals 6: “clean water and sanitation” Goals 14: “life below water” Goals 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Melhores avaliações

AB

7 de mar de 2020

Amazing course. Full of great information, straight to the point, with many life examples and research data. Very helpful for both environmental enthusiasts and hospitality professionals. Many thanks!

TB

13 de mai de 2020

Very understanding for someone like me who is not in the tourism sector. Only but is that there are articles and videos which are not for public access. The videos and interviews are very interesting.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 361 Avaliações para o Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

por prajwal d m

12 de abr de 2020

It is a very important subject, but it needs more knowledge in the Global level.

por Nikrun B

2 de mai de 2020

It was awesome. maza aa gaya. which means i am delighted. Thank you.

por Laura M

29 de dez de 2020

Very interesting, although the course material is a bit outdated.

por Shankar G

10 de mai de 2020

The course given a good knowledge how to sustainable for future.

por Vishnu K

15 de nov de 2020

Very interesting course. A must for green tourism enthusiasts

por Yolandi S

19 de jul de 2021

It is an excellent beginner course.

por MARITZA A D G

6 de out de 2020

Como hago para obtener el diploma?

por Alvin D S

12 de out de 2020

Very informative and interesting.

por David R

4 de mai de 2020

The course was very informative.

por 19UVTA111

16 de jun de 2020

it was good and more learning

por Amis D D

13 de mar de 2021

Very knowledgeable

por Faisal B K V

24 de jul de 2020

Thanks a lot.

por Terry L

16 de ago de 2020

Very good.

por 69 P P

28 de set de 2020

Nice

por Magdalena C

21 de jan de 2020

The course itself was very interesting and the topic is definitely very important but the course could be improved if the mandatory readings did not require registering on various other websites. Also the questions on the tests were just ridiculous sometimes and didn't check any actual knowledge acquired from the videos and reading but just some irrelevant numbers that had to be noted down. I would think that it's much more important the students learn how to create and implement sustainable tourism policies in different venues than if they know the exact number of pieces of plastic found on a square kilometre of beach in Zanzibar.

por Stefano B

4 de abr de 2020

Interesting, and well explained. Both the video material and the reading material is understandable and actually very detailed. It mostly (almost only) speaks on the environmental issues caused by tourism in developping countries in the carribean or on small islands. It would have been interesting to compare the situation in these places to the reality of larger, more developped areas where tourism has been present for longer, and it's more regulated (France, Spain or Italy, for example).

por Douglas A F

23 de mar de 2020

Good subject, but it focus just on the case of Zanzibar. I undertand that we can extend the example for others islands and maybe some beaches destinations, but we have many other tourism places. Montains and parks, for example. It would be useful to expand the course to this areas. Also, how cities can have a more sustainable tourism, it would be very nice to learn more about this.

por Claire B

19 de abr de 2020

The videos were interesting however a lot of the supplementary material was not available - either behind paywalls or broken links, or in one case a YouTube clip we were asked to comment on where the voiceover was not in English. These factors meant that I finished the course but was not willing to pay for the certificate.

por Wendy F

15 de set de 2020

The program needs updating. Many of the case studies are missing from the mandatory reading and content that is required even in video format is missing. I find it strange that there are not available when there was a Covid19 update at the end when content is clearly out of date. These issues should be addressed.

por francesco

31 de mar de 2020

i think that the course is really interesting, i found interesting the case of study which was the situation of zanzibar, but i n my opinion coursera could be develop a little bit the grade for example make the grade quizzes a bit more difficult and more power point or study workes something like this.

por Hassaan B S

17 de set de 2020

Its a good course, But only talking abut Zanzibar most of the time , other examples should have been given also , course lack the energy and in the middle gets boring . I had to compete it otherwise i would have left it in the middle , it can become more interesting by making some changes

por Anthony R

18 de abr de 2020

Important topic, but too much to read & too many quizzes in this course. It's also very data-driven, with most questions involving stats & numbers. One doesn't need a mathematical mind to understand the challenges of sustainable tourism, but one needs it to follow this course. Such a shame.

por Begoña O S

4 de mai de 2020

Thank you professor Konradsen for your course.

While it was very interesting and I learnt a lot about tourism in 3rd world countries, I think it was too foccussed on Zazibar and its problems while Tourism in Europe has other problems such as massification.

por Eder U B G

20 de out de 2020

You must give more questions relationated by video, but in general... Excellente course! Congrats and do more courses about the wonderful world of Tourism

por Aline K

30 de ago de 2020

I liked the curse but I would have wished for other examples besides Zanzibar.