Chevron Left
Voltar para Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
105 classificações
26 revisões

Sobre o curso

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals connected especially to Goals 3: “good health and well-being”, 6: “clean water and sanitation”, 14: “life below water” and 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Melhores avaliações

DS

May 20, 2018

Very good case-study (Zanzibar). Good examples, interviews and enjoyable readings. Definitely broadens perspective when learning about Tourism.

BD

Jan 28, 2019

this journey was tremendous. especially i wanted to thank my instructor sir... for whom i clearly conceptualized about sustainable tourism. :)

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

By Elkin A

Dec 28, 2018

It is a great course for those interested in sustainable tourism! Keep in mind that it is developed on a case study (Zanzibar) and it focuses a lot in coastal environments. Still, you could apply the knowledge to other environments/scenarios.

By Mariana R K

Jun 08, 2019

The course is OK, but just that. It is too focused on one case study, and the quizes are all about specific statistics on the case of Zanzibar. It feels like you're doing a course on the tourism challenges of one specific place, instead of broadly speaking about the sustainability of tourism in different scenarios.

By Srishty A

May 15, 2019

It is a must for people in the Hotel industry, especially so that they could find ways to become an eco-friendly hotel nevertheless it is also for people who want their communities to grow in a sustainable way where the locals are benefited.

By Sergio E

Apr 30, 2019

A really interesting introduction regarding the reality behind the tourism industry. Videos were really clarifying, readings so interesting.

I am thinking on starting something on tourism, and now, after this course, I will definitely apply some of the concepts learnt in this Course. Thanks

By Lukas A

Apr 27, 2019

It was simply great! :-)

Thank you!

By Stefan M

Mar 29, 2019

Very good, informative introduction to a variety of topics directly related to sustainable tourism.

Good case studies, which underpin theoretical input.

By Lancel G

Mar 03, 2019

The content in this course was informative, credible, and well-curated. I feel as though I have finished the course not only with a great understanding of issues affecting development and tourism in Zanzibar, but in developing island countries globally.

By María D P G

Mar 03, 2019

Really very helpful and interesting

By john j v

Feb 06, 2019

it was so use full for me to improve my knowlage

By Suhail R

Feb 04, 2019

good for online cour

By Elena A

Feb 04, 2019

Even thought the case is specific, it helps to better and deeply understand how our impact as humans and tourists can be heavy not only on environment but also on local communities. Very good explained and detailed with useful info and resources.

By Amal r

Feb 04, 2019

i

By Manu D

Feb 04, 2019

ni for onli

By lijo g

Feb 04, 2019

very nice

By Sreeraj b p

Feb 04, 2019

super for

By Biback D

Jan 28, 2019

this journey was tremendous. especially i wanted to thank my instructor sir... for whom i clearly conceptualized about sustainable tourism. :)

By PATRICIA E P S

Jan 01, 2019

Excellent, I learn something new. Thank you so much.

By Octavio A T M L

Oct 08, 2018

Very interesting course and great content about sustainable tourism. In the course, most of the examples and cases are related to Zanzibar. It would be great to have a bit more diversification on those examples ;) . Thanks for the great course !!

By tharikaa

Sep 03, 2018

i liked it . very useful, always wondered how did people on every island manage to survive

regarding waste cleanliness etc..

By Yan Y

Sep 02, 2018

Very useful course. It suits everyone who want to have some basic knowledge about the sustainbale tourism.

By Nicolas C W

Aug 29, 2018

very specific, not widely applicable

By Pallavi D

Aug 22, 2018

nice course

By Kamaljeet R

Jun 17, 2018

Concepts directly related to actual case study - made it very useful and easy to understand...

By Diana L S

May 20, 2018

Very good case-study (Zanzibar). Good examples, interviews and enjoyable readings. Definitely broadens perspective when learning about Tourism.

By R.Madhav

May 11, 2018

I am a Computer Science graduate that is looking to move into the sustainable tourism sector. This was a wonderful course that taught me a lot of sustainable tourism concepts and also made me realise how much as a tourist we create an impact on the environment, local communities, natural resources and so on. Thanks to the University of Copenhagen, professor Flemming Konradsen and everyone.It was very helpful and i hope this helps me get into what i want. Thank you!