Chevron Left
Voltar para Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
estrelas
169 classificações
44 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals connected especially to Goals 3: “good health and well-being”, 6: “clean water and sanitation”, 14: “life below water” and 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Melhores avaliações

MI

Jul 22, 2019

A well designed course to understand the detrimental impacts of tourism industry on environment with great examples. I'll be now more conscious about my habits and practices while travelling.

DS

May 20, 2018

Very good case-study (Zanzibar). Good examples, interviews and enjoyable readings. Definitely broadens perspective when learning about Tourism.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

por Elkin A

Dec 28, 2018

It is a great course for those interested in sustainable tourism! Keep in mind that it is developed on a case study (Zanzibar) and it focuses a lot in coastal environments. Still, you could apply the knowledge to other environments/scenarios.

por Mariana R K

Jun 08, 2019

The course is OK, but just that. It is too focused on one case study, and the quizes are all about specific statistics on the case of Zanzibar. It feels like you're doing a course on the tourism challenges of one specific place, instead of broadly speaking about the sustainability of tourism in different scenarios.

por Kelsey K

Dec 02, 2019

The clarity and enthusiasm with which Professor Flemming Konradsen presented the material in each lecture was extremely effective and helpful. His interviews with different experts, researchers and local professors were incredibly interesting and informative and his questions helped me get a much better sense of the situation. I came into this course not having much of an idea about the complexities of ecotourism and emerged knowing much more about human impact on the earth in a variety of different environments. Topics from water usage to mosquitoes to fishing habits kept me interested and the constant statistics were there for support. The class was set up very organized and I would take another course with this department in a heartbeat. I just wish I hadn’t procrastinated and put it off for so long! (But the option is there.) Thank you Staff at Uni of Copenhagen!

por Ryoko O

Aug 12, 2019

Great introductory course to the field of sustainable tourism. It covers various aspects of the field by focusing on a specific real-life case, Zanzibar. I was able to learn not only of the issues arising from poorly managed tourism, but also how and why it became an issue from the past, as well as potential solutions for the future. As a traveller myself, it has made me a "conscious traveller," and also encouraged me to study further into this field.

por Nivedita K G

Aug 07, 2019

I really enjoyed going through this course. In fact, there were many facts that i was unaware of before doing this course. This has changed my perspective of tourism and has made a responsible global citizen and tourist. Thanks to University of Copenhagen and Coursera for making it viable for environment-conscious people like me.

por Sergio A E

Apr 30, 2019

A really interesting introduction regarding the reality behind the tourism industry. Videos were really clarifying, readings so interesting.

I am thinking on starting something on tourism, and now, after this course, I will definitely apply some of the concepts learnt in this Course. Thanks

por Lancel G

Mar 03, 2019

The content in this course was informative, credible, and well-curated. I feel as though I have finished the course not only with a great understanding of issues affecting development and tourism in Zanzibar, but in developing island countries globally.

por RAHUL_PONDY

Sep 28, 2019

It was a great learning experience , as myself being a tourism pursuing student as my PG subject from pondicherry university this course enlightened me about the impacts of tourism and how it effects the mankind if not dealt in a sustainable manner.

por Elena A

Feb 04, 2019

Even thought the case is specific, it helps to better and deeply understand how our impact as humans and tourists can be heavy not only on environment but also on local communities. Very good explained and detailed with useful info and resources.

por YEHYEON P

Jun 22, 2019

Amazingly focused on the topic. I love the videos to study about Sustainable Tourism in Zanzibar. I'm preparing myself to take the master degree course. And this course was really helpful to get me some ideas of what I'm going to study about.

por Srishty A

May 15, 2019

It is a must for people in the Hotel industry, especially so that they could find ways to become an eco-friendly hotel nevertheless it is also for people who want their communities to grow in a sustainable way where the locals are benefited.

por MOHAMMAD S I

Jul 22, 2019

A well designed course to understand the detrimental impacts of tourism industry on environment with great examples. I'll be now more conscious about my habits and practices while travelling.

por Diogo A S R

Mar 01, 2018

Outstanding knowledge and capacitation for the Tourism & Hospitality Industry with great data, insights and preventive tactics for a better and more sustainable world.

por Diana L S

May 20, 2018

Very good case-study (Zanzibar). Good examples, interviews and enjoyable readings. Definitely broadens perspective when learning about Tourism.

por Ismaila G

Jan 10, 2020

Very useful course. I hope to use the skills gained through it in my new career as an expert in Ecotourism and sustainable tourism in general.

por Biback D

Jan 28, 2019

this journey was tremendous. especially i wanted to thank my instructor sir... for whom i clearly conceptualized about sustainable tourism. :)

por Yan Y

Sep 02, 2018

Very useful course. It suits everyone who want to have some basic knowledge about the sustainbale tourism.

por Kate D

Jan 24, 2020

Excellent course. Very engaging and I found the course material practical knowledge to take away.

por Kamaljeet R

Jun 17, 2018

Concepts directly related to actual case study - made it very useful and easy to understand...

por PATRICIA E P S

Jan 01, 2019

Excellent, I learn something new. Thank you so much.

por john j v

Feb 06, 2019

it was so use full for me to improve my knowlage

por Miguel N M P J

Nov 24, 2019

Very interesting, I absolutelly recomend it!

por Lukas A

Apr 27, 2019

It was simply great! :-)

Thank you!

por María D P G

Mar 03, 2019

Really very helpful and interesting

por Shaza K

Dec 18, 2019

Great and very helpful