Chevron Left
Voltar para Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
estrelas
1,147 classificações

Sobre o curso

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. Zanzibar will be in focus during this course and used as a case in order to exemplify how a massive increase of Tourism in a low income and resource poor setting, can increase the vulnerability of the local population. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals, especially: Goals 3: “good health and well-being” Goals 6: “clean water and sanitation” Goals 14: “life below water” Goals 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Melhores avaliações

H

3 de jun de 2020

I want to appreciate my Mentor Mr. Flemming Konradsen for providing such a pleasant learning experience through this course. This will surely enlighten our career in a positive direction.

Thank You

TB

13 de mai de 2020

Very understanding for someone like me who is not in the tourism sector. Only but is that there are articles and videos which are not for public access. The videos and interviews are very interesting.

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 377 Avaliações para o Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

por Bhashkar D

12 de nov de 2020

Learning through the Coursera was a kind of new learning experince for me but I can say that it was fantastic. Really enjoyed very much. I learned the course "Sustainable Tourism- promoting environmental public health" through Coursera and can say that its really very beneficial for me. The teacher who taught the lessons is very gentle and have tried to make this course very attractive, easily understable, and the link attached for extra knowledge is really awesome. Thank you sir, Thank you Coursera.

por Eva C

22 de set de 2019

It's a great course for people with limited knowledge about sustainability & tourism, it gives lot's of background and general information. I also like the focus on Zanzibar since it makes it very real.

My only negative comments is that the questions of the questionnaire are too specific, they don't really measure if you've learned and understood the concepts but they ask you random facts & quotes. These seems to be consistent across all the coursera courses I've done but I think it's a shame.

por Sonia M

14 de fev de 2021

This was a very informative course. Flemming Konradsen and all of the guest speakers and industry experts he talked to were very knowledgeable in what they were speaking about and teaching. It was very easy for me to learn at my own pace.

The only reason I can't rate this 5 stars is because some of the mandatory reading materials were inaccessible due to not being open resources anymore. Also one of the videos in the final discussion section was no longer available.

por R.Madhav

10 de mai de 2018

I am a Computer Science graduate that is looking to move into the sustainable tourism sector. This was a wonderful course that taught me a lot of sustainable tourism concepts and also made me realise how much as a tourist we create an impact on the environment, local communities, natural resources and so on. Thanks to the University of Copenhagen, professor Flemming Konradsen and everyone.It was very helpful and i hope this helps me get into what i want. Thank you!

por Jay M

2 de out de 2022

The lectures were thorough and the quiz questions were challenging and interesting. It would have been nice to explore a wider variety of locations to get a varied perspective. We touched briefly on Thailand, Seychelles, and Oceania and I would've loved to hear more about the measures they are taking and the challenges they are up against. Otherwise, great course.

por Cristina G

14 de ago de 2020

Very interesting. I did learn to see several problems and how to solve them, which was my main purpose. It is quite practical. I think, though, that it focuses too much on Zanzibar and I would have loved to see the situation in other destinations. I also think that many readings were not relevant and are really long. Anyway, I am happy It took the course.

por Sabela L

3 de abr de 2020

A very interesting course which addresses the most important factors to take into account about sustainabiity in the Tourism Industry.

It mostly focuses on the environmental side of the problem. Probably, it could include some further information regarding the socio-economic impacts on the host communities.

Nevertheless, I highly recommend this course.

por Aman S

8 de set de 2020

The course kept us well informed about the different adversities, challenges, opportunities, and advantages of tourism with respect to Zanzibar as our Case Study. It highlighted the crucial aspects of the implication of the existence and nonexistence of Sustainable Tourism Practices and what are the benefits and losses of following these measures.

por IDALIA D R L C

7 de nov de 2021

Althought it was very focused on one single case of study, it was definitely and enriching course, taht provided me with useful information to analyse diferently, with own contributions a diferent case of study, is very useful guideline and opened my thoughts to further considerations, as well as decision making process.

por German C G

19 de abr de 2020

Pretty nice actualization course, papers are up to date to people like me having new and fresh info (got my degree like ten years ago, so is good to refresh ideas always renewing!) Having a deeper knowledge in a particular study case, like Zanzibar, allows to have a better idea to apply on different cases.

por Thomas F

24 de jul de 2019

As others stated before - Very good case-study (Zanzibar). Good examples, interviews and enjoyable readings. Definitely broadens perspective when learning about tourism.

But the addtional readings sections need some love - Outdated references and unreachable links.

por VB f P

9 de mar de 2020

Course is very interesting and makes a good introduction to sustainability in the Tourism and Hospitality industry.

Very complete articles with actual issues, examples and testimonials, too bad some articles needed for the quizzes are not open for public use.

por Octavio A T M L

8 de out de 2018

Very interesting course and great content about sustainable tourism. In the course, most of the examples and cases are related to Zanzibar. It would be great to have a bit more diversification on those examples ;) . Thanks for the great course !!

por Bakkum K

13 de set de 2020

It was a very helpful course to think about sustainable tourism and easy understanding by many examples. and plus, there are many great study materials, links shared with students especially about the pandemic. This is an eye-opening.

por Haguenauer

19 de abr de 2020

Super bien. Concepts générales sur le tourisme responsable. À mon avis, il pourrait explorer un peu plus sur comment être un touriste responsable (actions, choix, etc.)

FÉLICITATIONS!

por OUSMANE K

12 de nov de 2019

i really enjoyed this course. It allowed me to understand in details the impact of tourism in certain countries and the importance of a more sustainable concept of tourism.

por Aryel A

22 de mai de 2020

Not all readings were available to view without paid access or institutional logins. Some quiz questions required reading the "optional readings" to answer the question.

por Pierson M

4 de nov de 2022

Some links and readings were broken or a waste of time, but the videos and quizzes gave me a good beginner understanding of sustainable tourism, mainly in Zanzibar.

por Axel R S

24 de jan de 2021

The suggested online materials are not always available and that can actually cause a low performance when taking the tests. It has to be checked and corrected.

por Stefan M

29 de mar de 2019

Very good, informative introduction to a variety of topics directly related to sustainable tourism.

Good case studies, which underpin theoretical input.

por Shiladitya S

12 de jun de 2021

this course covers 3 important aspects of waste management, over crowding and its impact and policy level planning needed for an Island destination.

por Marsha A

4 de nov de 2020

A good course for beginner level, although it is heavily focused on Zanzibar only... I still appreciate the course. Thanks, Prof Konradsen and team!

por Rachel C

11 de mai de 2020

Overall a great class, learned quite a bit that I did not know about tourism. Quiz's could be difficult as some articles I did not have access to.

por Marine B

18 de jun de 2020

Good introduction to sustainable tourism. Interesting focus on the case of Zanzibar, lots of useful facts, information and pratical solutions.