Chevron Left
Voltar para Strategy and Sustainability

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Strategy and Sustainability da instituição IESE Business School IESE Business School - Instituto de Estudos Superiores da Empresa

4.5
150 classificações
46 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Business and environmental sustainability are not natural bedfellows. Business is about making money. Sustainability is about protecting the planet. Business is measured in months and quarters. Sustainability often requires significant short term costs to secure a sometimes uncertain long-term benefit. To some activists, all executives are exploitative, selfish one percenters. To some executives, all activists are irresponsible, unyielding extremists. And yet engaging with the issue isn’t optional – all businesses must have a strategy to deal with sustainability and, like any strategy, this involves making choices. This Strategy and Sustainability course based on Rosenberg's recently published book by Palgrave (http://www.palgrave.com/la/book/9781137501738) that encourages learners to filter out the noise and make those choices in a hard-nosed and clear-eyed way. Prof. Rosenberg’s nuanced and fact-based point of view recognizes the complexity of the issues at hand and the strategic choices businesses must make. He blends the work of some of the leading academic thinkers in the field with practical examples from a variety of business sectors and geographies and offers a framework with which senior management might engage with the topic, not (just) to save the planet but to fulfill their short, medium and long-term responsibilities to shareholders and other stakeholders. This course promises to be both engaging and thought-provoking, aimed at anyone who wishes to gain a deeper understanding of a subject that is no longer perceived as a choice but a necessity for future managers and business leaders alike....

Melhores avaliações

SP

Feb 02, 2018

Really well put together course material. Mike Rosenberg is a great expert to listen to and his course is very easy to follow, and very comprehensive. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

VA

Oct 10, 2017

This course has showed the basic framework of strategy and sustainability very well. The peer assignment also very interesting. Overall, I really enjoyed the course.

Filtrar por:

26 — 46 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Strategy and Sustainability

por Giuseppe A

Feb 19, 2017

Just started the course, and from the onset it is very interesting and enriching. Thanks for making it available.

por ashish v

Jul 22, 2017

good

por Sian P

Feb 02, 2018

Really well put together course material. Mike Rosenberg is a great expert to listen to and his course is very easy to follow, and very comprehensive. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

por griselda c n

Apr 22, 2019

muy buen curso donde se establecen las bases de la estrategia para hacer de la sustantabilidad un bien rentable

por Mauricio J M P

Jul 21, 2019

Great course, clear methodology

por HANA A A A

Sep 15, 2019

Thank You!

por Gordon L

Oct 28, 2019

I enjoyed the course. I would have liked to have digged deeper into the subject matter. Prof is excellent

por Nicolas W B

Nov 08, 2019

Strategy and Sustainability is an eye-opening and engaging course that guides you through the dynamics of business and the tough choices that managers must take to make their businesses sustainable. It, not a matter of choice, but a necessity as stakeholders take notice of the adverse effects of climate change, and the power companies have to either damage or repair the natural environment. Professor Rosenberg guides this class in a clear and structured manner that is makes his pupils understand why these choices are more relevant today than ever before.

por Teresa M P C S

Dec 02, 2019

Great synthesis of/introduction to sustainability strategy building.

por Ana M

Dec 03, 2019

Great course, I learned so much.

por Jeanette v H

Nov 18, 2019

The course is very useful and gives good insight to the strategy of Sustainability. The models tought are easy to apply in one's business reality. Recom

por Lalit J

Aug 05, 2018

Very well explained the need and process to integrate sustainability framework in you business strategy

por Megan K

Jul 24, 2017

Overall I enjoyed the course and various breakdowns of business approaches to company environmental policy. The various historical examples gave points of reference for policy and helped one understand the material.

One major concern I have with the course was the professors dramatic shift in tone when discussing advocates vs. activists. He defines activists as having no academic, legal, or genuine intellectual understanding of policy and purely becoming engaged for personally beliefs. Greenpeace is used as an example, and a story in which activists caused economic harm and physically threatened the safety of workers in his further explaining the negative impact and ineffectiveness of activists.

In his attempt to create a course structure and define effectiveness of certain groups the professor instead creates a negative false archetype and in the process immediately lost any credibility with me. After that point in the course I doubted the validity and understood everything was more based on the opinion of the professor than industry accepted/embraced understanding.

It was for myself a decent beginner course.

por Dina H

Jul 22, 2017

It is a coherent and very well structured course! Professor Rosenberg has done an excellent job in making the content understandable and in extracting really the main points one should keep in mind and apply when developing a sustainable strategy or assessing one.

Content wise the course is not heavily loaded. I would personally prefer even more readings, obligatory or at least recommended on the side. However, throughout the course, one can easily catch some names and works that have determined the development of sustainability studies.

por Mihalis I

Feb 26, 2018

The final - week 6 - exercise didn't provide very clear instructions. Especially around the framework to be used.

por Frank J

Apr 07, 2017

Thank you Mike, for providing such a Course! When I looked for Courses on corporate sustainability, I found less than expected. Hence, being happy to have found this. I really enjoyed the Course and I strongly recommend it. And for someone who had already dealt with this Topic before the Course, the Content could have been Little more detailed and comprehensive. But since the Course addresses not only People who deal with the Topic on a regular Basis, obviously it is understandable why it is designed like that.

por andy t

Dec 16, 2016

THANK YOU!

por Scott P

Apr 25, 2019

This course was terrific and i highly recommend it.

por Sadi K R

May 29, 2019

Awesome course

por Nikki m

Aug 28, 2018

It's a good beginner's course to get an introduction to sustainability.. It's a gives a brief overview of the sustainability market, it's verticals, and challenges.

por Coleman C S

Jan 30, 2017

This course would feel very basic to anyone who has studied sustainable development or sustainable business in any form. It may complement what you've already learnt by articulating the concepts well, but the lecture videos felt redundant after reading material for Week 1. This course can be improved by adding a few in-depth case studies to the weekly assignments.