Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,027 classificações
275 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM
11 de Nov de 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13 de Jan de 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 275 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por SRETTAPONG S

1 de Jul de 2020

The course put the modern knowledge and ancient knowledge very well, in fact, the teacher does know how sport works with society in every ways possible and finally the course can develop in to many sub-topic of study in the future.

por Prathamesh n

31 de Mai de 2020

It was an amazing lecture on sports and society from Duke University. A lot of things were brought into consideration in this course it will sure help me in the future for my design course, Looking forward to such online courses.

por Shomeresh S

1 de Jun de 2020

Really insightful and well-rounded perspective of sports and its journey alongside the development of societies world over. A quote that will stay with me forever "Tell me what sport you play and I'll tell you who are".

por Xavier K

12 de Jul de 2020

Loved the course. Top teacher. I really liked how he approached to some polemic topics, and also loved the fact that he takes into account other important sports in the world and doesn't stick to only American sports.

por Aniruddh I

12 de Ago de 2020

a very informative course which skims through all facetst of society and sports making for a very wholesome experience , to mr Orin , have a advance class on the very same topic for all who have completed this course

por Webster C

19 de Mai de 2020

Wonderful and well crafted course that lets you in on all the need to know essentials on the relationship between Sport, Society and Politics! Amazing content that will help me get closer to my goals no doubt.

por Nichakarn H

12 de Abr de 2020

I’d learned a lot about the history of the sports, social behavior that relevant to the sports, and vice versa from this course. I really enjoyed all along until finished the course. Thank you professor!

por Alejandro R M

9 de Dez de 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.

por Mathilde A

22 de Nov de 2021

c​e cours est très intéressant et enrichissant sur un sujet qui nous entore tous et qui est d'autant plus agréable à suivre lorsque c'est un sujet qui nous plait! merci beaucoup

por Purvi M

26 de Jul de 2020

This is the best course on Coursera for sports enthusiasts and I have never seen an instructor like Orin Starn. The way he delivered the course made this course beyond perfect.

por Liam S

10 de Dez de 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

por Ed G

28 de Set de 2019

I absolutely loved this course. This is my favorite course I've taken with Coursera by far. The instructor was phenomenal and relatable. I highly recommend this course.

por Ana E T H

6 de Fev de 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

por vishal m

23 de Jun de 2020

Loved every Bit of this course!

Sports illustrated with so many different perspectives, this course is a must for anyone who want to strengthen their bond with sports..

por Meghana M

28 de Nov de 2020

Great Course on Sports and Society, Excellent insights into the History and Culture of popular sports across the globe. Thank you Duke University and Prof. Orin Starn

por Khandaker T A

18 de Jul de 2020

That was outstanding . Because now I know sports is not only about playing but also related to culture, gender, Psychology, politics, business, society, age and more.

por Carmine L

27 de Out de 2020

Informative, rich, all-embracing. I wish I could take it again! Fortunately, it left me with so many things to think about that it will stay with me for a long time.

por Luv R A

21 de Mar de 2018

I really got some new insights about sports and how the climate of sports has changed and some really good facts about sport.

Thanks for the lovely lectures Mr. Orin!

por Ranjithkamal P

2 de Jun de 2020

Excellent one,the way of presentation by the instructor is fantabulous,He gives a positive energy to the learners. Also his lecture is crystal clear. Thank you sir.

por Rohan P

12 de Mai de 2020

An excellent course! Learned a lot! Genuinely disappointed that it's over. Wish the course was longer. I hope there is a part 2 or something like that. Brilliant!

por Michael R

10 de Mai de 2020

Videos were awesome and readings were still applicable even in 2020. Only feedback would be update some of the readings to more current and a section on E-Sports.

por Joshua J F

12 de Jun de 2017

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

por Susan M

7 de Set de 2021

​I really enjoyed this course. I am a sports fan but learned so much! Things I never thought of! Really liked the professor. He made this course so interesting!!

por Valeria F

13 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting cours! i've enjoyed evrey single lecture.

I learned a lot about sports world, that's great!

Thank you Professor Orin Starn and Duke University.

por Carlos A H H

29 de Ago de 2020

Muy bueno. Naturalmente, el curso no puede ser detallado, aunque sí remite a una cantidad conciderable de fuentes para continuar con estudios sobre el deporte.