Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,026 classificações
275 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM
11 de Nov de 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13 de Jan de 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 275 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Patricia G

25 de Mai de 2021

I signed up for this course to learn about the history of global sports and found the course and professor to be detailed, informative, and very interesting.

por Timothy T

10 de Set de 2019

Very interesting and a lot of great information. Easy to pick up and learn, and get through it to broaden my knowledge of sports! Had a great time learning.

por Andrew V

8 de Abr de 2017

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

por Donald L C

8 de Nov de 2021

As a Physical Education major, average athlete, and coach, this was an excellent opportunity to study play, games and sport from a different perspective

por Anne M v B

25 de Abr de 2018

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.

por Willard J

23 de Mai de 2019

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

por Junior L A

22 de Mai de 2020

Excelente curso, excelente material, super entendible y agradable. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo que hizo posible tremendo curso!. Felicitaciones!

por Yash C

11 de Nov de 2017

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

por Jose O G B

24 de Jul de 2020

For all those who are in the sports bussiness, it is fundamental to understand the role it plays in modern society and economics, great content

por varun h

7 de Mai de 2020

This course was really helpful in order to understand the various different aspects of different types of sports.Prof. Orin was simply amazing.

por Devan F

28 de Jun de 2020

Well, throughout lectures that were interesting and engaging. I found that I was never bored and that it was challenging but still manageable.

por Tim H

13 de Set de 2019

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.

por Pietro R

27 de Out de 2020

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

por ADITYA S

27 de Mai de 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

por Annigje F

21 de Jan de 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

por Launee R

28 de Abr de 2021

Very good course. As a PE teacher it has allowed to greater understand the sociology behind some of the content I teach. Very enlightening.

por Carlos A M P

4 de Jul de 2017

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

por Dawit A

26 de Out de 2021

An eye opening course that helps to shed light on different aspect of sports. Really enjoyed it and learned to see sport holistically.

por Claudia R B

29 de Out de 2020

Great course , excellent classes .

I really enjoyed it .

It was great to have a course which analysed sports from this perspective .

por Abhishek G

1 de Set de 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

por James M

19 de Jan de 2021

Loved everything about this course. Learning the history of sports and games along with the athletes who came before us was awesome

por Nabil S

25 de Abr de 2020

I am a sports management professional and I have completed my MBA in Sports Management even then I learnt a lot from this course.

por Víctor H M A

10 de Out de 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

por Tashin I

11 de Jan de 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

por Hernadi F

12 de Set de 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age