Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,026 classificações
275 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM
11 de Nov de 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13 de Jan de 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 275 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Meryl K

15 de Mai de 2020

Great class

por benmaamar h

22 de Dez de 2018

thank you .

por Shirley K

16 de Ago de 2020

fun course

por Doğan A

25 de Mai de 2020

Excellent

por Cosmas E C

6 de Ago de 2021

AAwesome

por jose e c s

5 de Out de 2020

Tank you

por JOACI J C

6 de Jul de 2018

amazing!

por Camilo E

21 de Jul de 2017

excelent

por Djordje I

20 de Jan de 2017

Perfect!

por Đăng K N Đ

4 de Set de 2021

amazing

por Mario A C

10 de Fev de 2021

Awesome

por khaled M l a

30 de Set de 2020

Amazing

por tushar d s

15 de Abr de 2020

Awesome

por Ben R

28 de Fev de 2020

Top lad

por zhangzhe

21 de Set de 2018

perfect

por Taozheng Z

7 de Jul de 2021

GREAT

por P. L D

23 de Mai de 2020

Good

por Tommy W

15 de Out de 2019

good

por Rajesh M

2 de Nov de 2017

best

por victor c

13 de Mai de 2019

c

por Deleted A

29 de Set de 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

por RaymondMistral

6 de Set de 2016

J'ai trouvé ce cours très intéressant. Il aborde de nombreux aspects du sport auxquels on ne pense pas toujours, mais qui sont très importants dans le monde contemporain. Le professeur Orin Starn est agréable à écouter et les illustrations permettent de bien visualiser de quoi il est question tout en maintenant les élèves attentifs au cours. Cependant, pour un non-anglophone, l'effort demandé en termes de lecture est parfois un peu trop important et il est difficile de terminer la lecture des articles avant la fin de la semaine.

por Razvan C

19 de Abr de 2020

The course was very well structured and vividly presented with examples and very documented historical facts. The only problem I faced was the availability of resources. Some of the mandatory readings were missing and links provided errors. Nevertheless, very interesting topic and I am happy that I joined it.

por SANTOSH K

17 de Jun de 2020

It has been a great experience to complete the course. The lectures are short and effective with one to one concept explanation with examples. The course instructor has been energetic and enthusiastic in every video with all his tropes to drive the points. Great learning experience. Thank you.

por Martijn L

28 de Abr de 2020

Interesting course, there's much more to the subject than I imagined before I took the course.

The lecture video's were good and the readings were complementary to it. I enjoyed the readings very much.

Martijn