Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,027 classificações
275 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM
11 de Nov de 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
13 de Jan de 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 275 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Kendell H

28 de Out de 2020

I enjoyed the course very much. It would be interesting to have an updated course since this one was completed to discuss and reflect on the increase in activism by athletes, especially in 2020

por SOUMYA J

28 de Mai de 2020

very interesting informative sports. specially the knowledge we grasped in this course about indoor and outdoor sports and the extreme sports pleasure. good work. thanks team

por Pietro O

26 de Abr de 2020

Wonderful course! Sport world is fast changing, so maybe some lessons are not super up to date, but Orin is a fantastic and passionate teacher: very very recommended

por Abrar H

20 de Jun de 2020

A good course relating sports and society, bringing some interesting topics and history related to sports in light. Learnt a lot and really liked the course.

por Gerardo B P

31 de Jan de 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

por Joy S

3 de Jun de 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

por Aline K

19 de Jun de 2020

I loved the course and the topics discussed during the lectures as I learned a lot of new things about sports and its relation to society :)

por Colleen O

24 de Abr de 2020

i feel as though a few answers on some of the quizzes were wrong, which frustrated me, but I loved the material and highly recommend it

por Coach F

2 de Fev de 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

por Yoosaf A

20 de Jul de 2020

Excellent approach to learning.The instructor really explains the things in great manner.

por Vaibhav K

24 de Ago de 2021

most of the topics are covered. the flow of the course is not syncronized.

por Kriti S

11 de Mai de 2020

fascinating to study and learn to know more about sports and society.

por Yukesh R

2 de Set de 2020

It was so useful,thank you for duke University and Mr.orin starn😊

por Lee K K

26 de Fev de 2018

Gives you a good insight into understanding people and history..

por Anisha M J

12 de Jul de 2020

its really a great course i really loved learning that course

por akash v

18 de Nov de 2020

Very informative and covered variety of topics

por Akhmad S A f

23 de Out de 2020

nothing I could say, just perfect lessons.

por Rafael U

24 de Mai de 2021

Great, thanks for the knowledge Orin!

por jean d c r

18 de Out de 2019

no comment for the moment

por julian

4 de Jun de 2017

informative and helpfull

por Aaron A

21 de Jun de 2019

It´s a very good course

por Ajilore O E

9 de Ago de 2020

Very interesting .

por Anubhav S

3 de Jun de 2017

The evaluation for this course has questions which are very memory based and not application based

por Brandon L

4 de Jan de 2021

Not in depth enough, could be a lot more interesting. OK but not great.

por Elio K

12 de Jun de 2019

The pace is quite slow and the content maybe it is not for young boy