Chevron Left
Voltar para Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis, Stanford University

4.8
367 classificações
81 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Melhores avaliações

por SW

Aug 09, 2016

Very good course on Social Networks, and also a hard one even for graduate level. Generally assignments are not too tough but fully understanding all the concepts take lots of extra readings.

por MG

Apr 17, 2018

Great survey course for social network analysis. Dr. Jackson's lectures motivated me to buy the book, and I hope to come back to this course later to work more on the optional parts.

Filtrar por:

77 avaliações

por Justin Keswick

Dec 10, 2018

Excellent course. The labs are the best. Pajek and Gephi will be handy for network graphing and analyzing data. Thank you Professor Matthew Jackson. Your work is very good for reference.

por Rijul Kumar

Dec 03, 2018

greaaaat course

por Taras Zhylenko

Dec 02, 2018

Good introduction to the topic! Assignments were helpful as well as optional lecture videos.

por Noah J Wescombe

Nov 17, 2018

A very comprehensive course, taught in a very engaging manner by a top-caliber researcher and professor. An improvement would be adding a separate problem set for each lecture topic, to more thoroughly test specific understanding immediately after the teaching. Also, some of the Gephi instructions were not quite clear enough.

Getting Prof. Jackson's book as a companion to this course is very useful.

por Yadnesh Sawant

Nov 04, 2018

Provides an in depth knowlledge about topics.

por Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Without previous knowledge in math, this course is not very useful.

por Margarita Rosa Cabra García

Oct 18, 2018

Great course! Teacher gave very good explanations. Examples are very useful. I would love to take a more advanced course of social and economic networks.

por Ignacio Ojea

Oct 04, 2018

Awesome course with lots of applications!

por Mansimran Singh Anand

Oct 01, 2018

a very good excellent on social network analysis

por Paolo Bova

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent Course! Clear videos with many motivated problem sets. The advanced problem sets are exactly like university problem sets. Do be aware that sometimes parts of proofs are omitted or only touched on briefly to get to the main teaching points - these moments are made clear in lectures. While I enjoyed the practical exercises I did feel that extensions to these exercises are warranted.