Chevron Left
Voltar para Aprendizagem Automática na Prática

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Aprendizagem Automática na Prática da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
2,667 classificações
500 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One of the most common tasks performed by data scientists and data analysts are prediction and machine learning. This course will cover the basic components of building and applying prediction functions with an emphasis on practical applications. The course will provide basic grounding in concepts such as training and tests sets, overfitting, and error rates. The course will also introduce a range of model based and algorithmic machine learning methods including regression, classification trees, Naive Bayes, and random forests. The course will cover the complete process of building prediction functions including data collection, feature creation, algorithms, and evaluation....

Melhores avaliações

JC

Jan 17, 2017

excellent course. Be prepared to learn a lot if you work hard and don't give up if you think it is hard, just continue thinking, and interact with other students and tutors + Google and Stackoverflow!

AD

Mar 01, 2017

Issues of every stage of the construction of learning machine model, as well as issues with several different machine learning methods are well and in fine yet very understandable detail explained.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Aprendizagem Automática na Prática

por Samy S

Apr 23, 2016

As as standalone course on machine learning, it's probably best to take Andrew Ng's class on Coursera. This course mostly teaches the basic usage of the caret package. It is too short to cover more fundamental topics in machine learning, like how to choose an algorithm based on the problem and the data.

I took this class just because I was engaged in the Data Science specialization. I wanted to clear the Capstone project and get the Data Science specialization certificate.

por Gulsevi B

Sep 23, 2016

Lectures are too complicated. I understand that material is not easy and one should do a lot of research and reading to understand the essence of the taught algorithms but the lecturer is also not very helpful and assignments are everywhere on the internet which nobody needs to get tired of thinking a little to do the homework as their product.

por Philip A

Feb 27, 2017

mentorship was great, but the video lectures were almost useless.

por james

Sep 10, 2016

Quizzes are useful exercises but need to do a lot of self studying.

por Chuxing C

Feb 05, 2016

the lack of assisted practices made it harder to digest the contents and methodologies.

strongly suggest to develop some practice problems with explanations.

por Matias T

Apr 06, 2016

In my view the course was useful but not as good as the previus ones I followed in the specializacion (such as regression models and stat. inference).

The subject was too broad and there was no space to cover in detail all the algorithms. Also I think it's a bit out of date because there is no references to xgbboost which is now dominating many Kaggle contests

por Ariel S G

Jun 27, 2017

In my opinion, this course needs a few extra exercises.

por Brian F

Aug 16, 2017

There was some good material in here, but it was rushed and is deserving of a much longer course - especially compared to some of the other modules in this course.

por Kyle H

May 09, 2018

A brisk introduction to some of the basics of Machine Learning. Will leave with an understanding of a few ways to use the caret package.

por Léa F

Jan 09, 2018

Rather good overview. The contents could dig deeper into each subject, and it would improve the course a lot if some exercises in Swirl were added.

por Hongzhi Z

Jan 03, 2018

All the formulas and code in slides are too abstract. If can be more charts to interpret that will be better.

por Max M

Dec 12, 2017

Should have gone into more depth and included swirl lessons, like previous courses. The quizzes were very challenging though, so that helped.

por Francois v W

Dec 10, 2017

The course gives a decent overview of the model building process and covers a good spread of machine learning methodologies. I found that the videos focused too much on some basic/immaterial concepts at times and tended to gloss over the more in-depth or complicated sections. It would have helped if difficult concepts were explained with more examples. This meant that a lot of self study outside the lecture notes had to be done. The way that the final assignment had to be submitted on Github resulted in me spending 8 times longer on learning how to post my results than actually building the model - some more guidance here would have helped a lot as the process was very frustrating.

por Matthias H

Mar 26, 2016

The quizes do not match a 100% with the lecture videos. There are some weird questions. My algorithms' outputs deviate from answers some times, which is due to different software versions. Quizes are not very educating this time. Courses by Brian Caffo were much better.

por Christopher B

Mar 01, 2017

While the overview of the content seemed very reasonable both in scope and pacing, the lack of swirl exercises meant that the final project for the course was a bit jostling. Overall, I think this course still needs some development in the way of exercises to familiarize the student with the practical exercises associated with machine learning.

por Andrew W

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting subject area, I think there is simply too much to cram into one course. Should consider spliting the subject into 2 courese or simply concentrate on only 1 or 2 main areas (e.g. cla

por Christian B

Apr 30, 2017

First I want to thank very much the instructor in the online forum. He helped me a lot at the end of the course and his tutorials for gh-pages are excellent. He was also very fast in responding. Thank you.

The course did ultimately not really gave me what I was looking for. Maybe too may different facts and not enough depth. I am not sure that I can confidently say that I can build a ML model now. Technically I can, but the deeper understanding is missing. For example: When would I use which method (for example rf versus naive base), the last exercise about cross validation was not fully clear. Using the caret package is too high level for a learner. It would be better to see some more step by step examples. It was not clear to me what the expected error calculation in the last exercise was really looking at. Maybe what is missing a swirl exercises, not using caret. and then explaining how caret can simplify it. We also learned how to create a predictive model, but did not go into how the model gets updated and gets retrained, an important aspect of ML. i also do not see unsupervised learning to be covered.

por fabio a a l l

Nov 14, 2017

Poor supporting material in a course that tries to cover a lot in a very limited time.

por Ada

Nov 14, 2016

Although again very interesting, I found the lack of additional materials such as practical exercises, swirls and a book reduced the depth of the course knowledge for me. Maybe we have been spoiled by the previous courses :-)

por Eduardo P

Apr 14, 2017

This is such a cornerstone topic to the Data Science Specialization that I think it deserves a better designed and more polished curriculum. The subject is so extensive that it might be worthy to split the contents in two courses. Finally, I would like to suggest the authors of the course modeling the curriculum following the amazing treatment of the subject found in "Introduction to Statistical Learning" by Hastie, Tibshiriani et. al.

por BAUYRJAN J

Mar 01, 2017

Instructor rushes the course and does not explain much in the same level of details as respective quiz requires

por Christoph G

Dec 04, 2016

The topic is too big, for one course from my point of view.

por Andrew W

Feb 10, 2017

The videos are really tutorials on R functions for machine learning and data wrangling. A good substitute for "Machine Learning" by Andrew Ng in terms of managing data sets and exploratory analysis.

por Rafael d R S

Jul 24, 2018

this course seemed too rushed for me, too little content for such a extense subject

por Jorge B S

Jun 25, 2019

I have passed 5 courses of this specialization and I am not fully satisfied with this one. The course is a very brief introduction to practical machine learning, as the concepts are explained very fast and without a minimum level of detail. Then, most importantly, there are no swirl exercises, so it is quite difficult to put the acquired knowledge into practice. The other 4 courses I took, they all had swirl and that was great. Nevertheless, the course project is quite nice in order to face a real machine learning problem.