Chevron Left
Voltar para Psicologia da Popularidade

Psicologia da Popularidade, Universidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel HillUniversidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel Hill

4.6
468 classificações
119 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

The level of popularity you experienced in childhood and adolescence is still affecting you today in ways that you may not even realize. Learn about how psychologists study popularity and how these same concepts can be used in adulthood to be more successful at work, become better parents, and have a happier life....

Melhores avaliações

por JD

Feb 21, 2016

This course has been absolutely terrific! The knowledge and insight this has briefed me with has been very useful, and makes more than a lot of sense. Thank You Mr. Prinstein, and Thank You Coursera!

por HC

May 11, 2018

This was amazing, really interesting, well presented. A good insight into how our friendships while of school age can impact on our adulthood and how this is so often repeated down the generations.

Filtrar por:

116 avaliações

por Kristin DiStefano

Apr 20, 2019

very interesting stuff

por Jaison Cook

Apr 20, 2019

This was an interesting exploration, Dr. Mitch Prinstein is really interested in the subject, too, it shows and drew me into the topics. Great time, good information.

por Sherine Abusamra

Mar 17, 2019

Pretty ok in terms of the depth of topic and the instructor engages your attention.

Would've liked to see more recent research; most of the research was from the 80s and 90s.

por Maissa

Mar 15, 2019

I learnt a lot, about growing up, popularity and how it affects us, I really enjoyed it, and I managed to take it while studying at university, the time is so manageable, a BIG THANK YOU for the teacher and how he made things very simple , I had no idea or resources in psychology before this but I understood it all. I wish we had an other part of exploring how to break through from popularity of growing up and change that in our work place, or university... and our relationships as well

overall I LOVED it, I would surely recommend it.

THANK YOU

por Galeak Gargoah Deng

Mar 11, 2019

I really like this course it make me self resilience

por Siddhi

Feb 26, 2019

Loved how sensitive the instructor has been about various topics. He's been enthusiastic as well. Not only did I learn a lot, I eagerly wrote to my friends, every time I came across an insight- which always ended in a rich conversation.

I'm much grateful.

por Shruthi Ganesh

Nov 11, 2018

easy to understand and simple learning

por Maria Reggina Vallejo Hidalgo

Nov 05, 2018

I'm from Perú and I found it really interesting. All the lectures are very clear. I can relate what I learned here with the social interaction I see at work.

por Mashka

Oct 29, 2018

The course itself is great and have a lot of awesome points, such as:

- interesting subject and I couldn't wait to finish it.

- it helped me to understand what exactly is my problem with peers and romantic relationship. Now I have clear goals to work with: no hostile attribution bias, not to be excessive reassurance seeker.

Though, for my point of view it needs some polish.

- Entire course is possible to complete in 1 day, due to NO homework, NO lectures, NO extra resources for study.

- The topic is not disclosed and leaves more questions than answers. Lecture "Does popularity change when moving to a new context?". Why they didn't make experiment with selecting only popular kinds from all schools and putting them together? Most probably, roles would change. There was similar experiment on rats https://steemit.com/psychology/@natord/social-roles-exploiter-worker-whipping-boy-and-independent

- No links to resources. I would like to see more details on experiments. I would like to know more data of experiments such as how many children were participating?

- Data is not structured. Charts with one axis, one curve with two names. The idea is clear, but not mathematically expressed correctly.

- Strange analyze of data. Difference of 6% considers as a huge one, difference of 30% not important.

- Contradictive course. First he said it's almost impossible to change group, later he provides fact that in 2 year 58% of not aggressive - rejected (50% of all rejected) kids becomes not rejected.

- Some terms are not explained and used as everybody should know it. For example I find internalizing/externalizing symptoms not very common.

por Jia Liao

Oct 24, 2018

Interesting lecture!