Chevron Left
Voltar para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Comentários e feedback de alunos de In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.9
625 classificações
256 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Melhores avaliações

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por Анна А

May 21, 2017

Thanks for the very interesting and informative course!

por Roman B

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent course. Very unusual approach of the course presenter showing how the artist actually created their paintings clearly made me to remember the names, styles and techniques. I hope MOMA would introduce similar courses about other remarkable art

por Andrea S

Jun 18, 2017

I loved the course! Corey D'Augustine is an excellent teacher and the course material is very informative.

por Andrea d V

Jun 22, 2017

Excellent course!!

por Karen A

Jan 31, 2018

With the completion of this course I had to have a lot of concentration for the readings, to take care of the deadlines, persistence to move on until the end, I developed my reading and writing in English that is not my original language. All this besides the specificities of the course properly on post war painting. The course is very complete, on theory and practice, with great visual presentation for the texts for the videos of the classes and links. It was a great experience that I highly recommend

por Anna M O

Jun 17, 2017

Fantastic experience..emotions, technique, history of art.. a dream that came true. Thank you from Italy

por Eva J R

Apr 24, 2017

great!!

por iliana i c n

May 28, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto la forma del instructor de enseñar los gestos que realza el artista al pintar, como mezcla su paleta de color los materiales, la información sobre sus obras y la biografía de los artistas muy completa, la plataforma del curso fácil de seguir mi dificultad es que mi ingles no es muy bueno y me ocupo un mundo de tiempo tratando de traducir muchísimas palabras y ponerlas en el contexto.

por Nora A

Feb 27, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I was only familiar with one artist, Jackson Pollack. came to admire all the artists, as they faced various "life" challenges, and put their energy, pain, and souls into their paintings They overcame so mucThe course was very informative and helped me learn about various painting techniques,

por Martin H

Oct 11, 2017

This is a fun and informative course, especially if you participate in the studio exercises

por Angelica S

Apr 02, 2018

A great experience to have taken this course. Knowing and applying the techniques of these seven artists was enriching.

por Kate T

Feb 18, 2018

An excellent course which is practical and theoretical.

por Patricia B

Jul 31, 2017

Terrific! this course inspired me to paint again.

por Ma. K C D C

Nov 20, 2017

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

por KIRSTEN M

Nov 04, 2017

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

por Daniella R

May 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this enriching and inspiring course. The material shared is so valuable and the teachers and exponents are really good. A life changing experience to learn to observe an artwork, exploring deeper into the artists' lives and vision.

por Jacquelyn M E

Dec 11, 2017

This was a great course!

por Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

por F. S M B

May 23, 2017

Excellent materials, from the reading texts to the video lessons, all very well explain and engaging. Its good for all artists beginners and professional artists.

por Barbara K

May 21, 2018

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

por Maura S

Jul 14, 2017

Extraordinary class!

A self-taught artist of eight years, I found I didn't really "get" abstract expressionism. This course as presented gave me a much deeper appreciation for the historical impact of this movement as well as a greater understanding of techniques employed, thanks to Corey D'Augustine's weekly "In the studio" video sessions. In fact, those videos, in particular, gave me the confidence to work in oils, which I had never attempted before, and validated my own instincts in working in the abstract world. What's more, the readings and images studied by these seven artists informed my appreciation for the AbEx movement and, hopefully, my ability to not sound like a dumba$$ when discussing AbEx or other forms of art as the course also provided a deeper introduction into technical terminology and evaluatative (is that a word?) procedures.

I highly recommend this course to those artists wanting to enhance their works, and also to those on the critical / commercial side of the art world seeking to deepen their understanding of the AbEx movement and become more informed about different painting processes in general.

por Maxine C

Jun 18, 2018

I learned so much valuable information from this course; information and ideas that I will never forget. I got an opportunity to expand the avenues of expression within my art and that to me is priceless. Thank you MOMA and thank you Coursera.

por Sophie f

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent course. Corey D'Augustine was a superb lecturer and coach. Cannot recommend it enough.

por Irenepecchio

Jan 17, 2018

Very interesting and stimulant course!

por Márcia V d M

Jun 20, 2017

The course was so pleasant and so instructive!! I want to thank you all for turning this course into a wonderful experience! And I hope to meet again the instructor Corey D’Augustine, who had turned the classes very simple, very easy to understand! Please, give us another course about other movements and its artists!!!