Chevron Left
Voltar para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Comentários e feedback de alunos de In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.9
626 classificações
257 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Melhores avaliações

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por Ana G

Nov 13, 2017

Buenísimo.

por Marion T

Aug 09, 2017

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

por Marcia F

Mar 09, 2018

This course is an incredible investigative journey of materials and processes which leads to a greater appreciation for the context in which Abstract Expressionist were working in the mid 20th century.

por Sean S

May 05, 2018

This might have been one of the most interesting art courses I ever took. Really great!

por Mary C

Jun 20, 2017

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

por Jillian D

Jul 12, 2017

A great course- a wonderful look at some of the great Abstract Expressionists of 1950's, and a more in depth look at how they actually painted than you'll get in most art history courses. The course load is also by no means overwhelming, but provides plenty of additional materials for further learning.

por N.G.S. P

Jul 01, 2017

This course has been extremely helpful to me. I am a fresher in painting and wanted to learn more about the various artists of modern art and explore various painting materials and techniques.

This is really an amazing course! Thank you for all your effort in making this course for us.

por Jennifer G

Aug 14, 2017

The In The Studio: Materials and Technique portion was most helpful in understanding the work of the artists and gave me a greater appreciation of their pieces. Overall, the course has taught me how to look deeper at abstract painting and give it more than a quizzical glance.

por Glenis S

Jun 09, 2018

An exceptional course. We learned about postwar Abstract Artists but also got to see videos showing how they did their paintings. Plus there were slideshows of the artists' career in eight works. Corey d'Agustine was great at teaching. I loved it.

por Christa B

Sep 23, 2017

It was perfect and I got a lot out of it - marvellous,

por Robyn L

May 14, 2017

A comprehensive and fascinating investigation of Postwar Abstract Painting. Features seven key artists who work using a range of techniques and represents the diversity of these artists. Presenters are very engaging, interesting, informative and enjoyable to watch. I really enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations of the artists' methods by Corey D'Augustine.

por Maria E R

May 25, 2017

totalmente recomendable. Un curso para sacarle provecho a cada video, a cada lectura.

por Brittany T

Dec 27, 2017

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

por Big S D

Jan 26, 2018

In one word : genial!

por Patricia G

Feb 20, 2018

This has been an excellent course that I would strongly recommend. I have learned so much during the 8 weeks that it will now be approaching my new paintings in a completely different light. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

por Julie H

Sep 11, 2017

I loved this course and learnt so much by doing it. The resources, both written and visual, were first rate, as we're the presenters. I have developed an understanding and appreciation of abstract art and it has spurred me on to read more on this topic. I have no hesitation in recommending this course. Thank you to the MoMA team for producing such an enjoyable learning experience.

por BILAL A A

Aug 06, 2017

thanks

por adv1066

Jul 12, 2017

Great Course

por IJE

Aug 08, 2017

enjoying this, well presented, easy to follow; love the practical insights re painting & how/why artists used the materials /techniques they did

por Eduardo G D

Nov 22, 2017

Estou gostando muito do curso Parabéns

por Martijn d L

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent introductions, great teacher and very motivating course.

Highly recommended!

por Shane T

Jan 14, 2018

I am almost half way through this course and am enjoying it immensely. The videos are excellent and the lecturers are knowledgeable and engaging.

por Alberto A E

May 18, 2017

Wonderful Course. I have been recomending it to all may artist friends. It will certainly have an effect in my own practice.

por Amanda E

May 24, 2017

Amazing coure! Corey was an excellent professor and showed great examples in the videos. I learned a lot of new material! Would gladly recommend it.

por Iván M B L

Oct 10, 2017

Excelent!