Chevron Left
Voltar para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Comentários e feedback de alunos de In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.9
583 classificações
240 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Melhores avaliações

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por Callie G

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

por Cheryl K

Feb 18, 2019

This course completely changed my prejudiced views of abstract art. I'd never been interested or paid much attention to any abstract art, but discovering the passions and values of the artists covered in the lessons has definitely awoken a drive to find out more and fascination in learning about the emotions, thought processes and influences that went into their art work. Inspirational!

por Claudia D

Jan 28, 2019

Course is outstanding. Very well presented and demonstrated by the instructor, pacing is excellent (a little video, a little reading, a quiz) and hugely informative. Time spent was well worth it. Can't wait to travel to NY and see the paintings in person. Would recommend this course to anyone interested in the subject. I took the non-painting option.

por Jake K

Jun 18, 2019

This was a fantastic course. It's my first painting course and it made me fall in love with painting. And what a great way to learn about art! I won't forget any of these artists now that I have labored over canvases trying to emulate their techniques. My only suggestion is to add Norman Lewis to the mix of artists.

por brenda g

May 30, 2019

Provided that you like abstract painting, this course will give you insights in abstract painting techniques and work of art that you can use yourself, while making or enjoying art. The demos are great, and never give you the feeling that you cannot do such a thing (but if you do the studio exercises, you'll discover that it's not that easy...).

por Tore W

May 09, 2019

Art history! Instructions on how-did-they-do-it! Insights on great artists thoughts about art! Just great!

por Jacopo

May 01, 2019

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

por Leigh R H

Apr 18, 2019

Excellent course, very well taught. The instructor, Corey D’Augustine, was very low-key but inspiring. Really liked his teaching style and learned so much. He also has an exceptional voice that is easy to listen to through eight weeks of instruction. Hope that he will be teaching something else again soon.

por Karl D G

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

por Hitomi K

Apr 02, 2019

This course was very meaningful to me. If you are interested in American modern art, I highly recommend taking this course.

por Gary P H

Apr 01, 2019

Super course. Really good. If you're out to learn something about Abstract Expressionism, or just have a general interest in painting, this course is for you. I particularly enjoyed the optional practicum element, and you should definitely try the exercises that are a fun way for a beginner to get familiar with oil paints and some interesting techniques. I started this course out of curiosity and became hooked; I intend to follow up with more reading and painting. A five-start effort by the whole MoMA team, I highly recommend In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting.

por Linda B

Mar 27, 2019

Totally fascinating course that offered to me avenues to pursue with my own art, expression with materials, and compositions. I am extremely grateful for the time, the efforts taken to instruct, and inspire your students. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

por Clara A S

Mar 26, 2019

I loved this course! I really enjoyed it. The course content and flexible time management were great and ideal for me.

por DIEGO F B G

Mar 25, 2019

Se aprende mucho en cuanto al arte abstracto y su implicación en la sociedad y la forma de transmitir los que se siente y lo que piensa. Muy buen material y metodología del profesor D'Agustine. Me gustaría que pudieran poner el curso en español al menos por los subtítulos. Gracias.

You learn a lot about abstract art and its involvement in society and how to transmit what you feel and what you think. Very good material and methodology of Professor D'Agustine. I would like you to be able to put the course in Spanish at least for the subtitles. Thank you.

por Jordan W

Mar 25, 2019

Fantastic DIY examples and a great look at several famous pieces.

por Nathan L A

Mar 25, 2019

Corey is the man.

por Michael A

Mar 13, 2019

Cory D'Auguestine is so adept in both his analysis and executions in the studio. I wish there were more courses like this. It allowed me to work in the manner of many artists that i admired growing in appreciation for the process and methodology.

por Felipe d j C H

Mar 07, 2019

Recommended you learn a lot with contemporary painters, I really like congratulations to all

por eleni c

Mar 03, 2019

very interesting and well organized course!

por Ibikunle D

Feb 25, 2019

Most needed for the prospective, aspiring and experienced artists; skills and knowledge impacting.

por Maria N

Jan 28, 2019

I really liked this format of the course. I had the opportunity to learn techniques and materials. It is very interesting! Make more such interesting courses!

por Joe K

Jan 23, 2019

Really loved this class. The combo of teaching about the artist and actually doing the work itself was amazing. The instructor did a great job balancing both.

por Marjorie B

Jan 11, 2019

This course provided an excellent overview of the selected artists, unique explanations of the artwork by museum professionals, and great studio assignments to paint along with. I had so much fun learning and painting! If you are looking for increased art appreciation or some inspiration in the studio, I would highly recommend this course!

por Arvydas G (

Jan 10, 2019

Thank you, Corey D'Augustine for your lessons, which really enriched my knowledge and teach me to understand art better. I really began to develop a deeper appreciation of the artists works, acquired new skills and inspired to create new works.

I really liked the way the lessons were organized and the course as a whole. Refinement and reinforcement of knowledge is very well at the end of each lesson, when I have to answer quiz. And of course Final Project, peer-graded assignment, studio exercise, and visual analysis essay - all this is undoubtedly assimilated and settles in long-term memory and becomes yours for life.

por Anna W

Jan 08, 2019

I love this course! So informative and interesting. It feels like I'm learning loads. Thank you!!!