Chevron Left
Voltar para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Comentários e feedback de alunos de In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.9
626 classificações
257 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Melhores avaliações

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por James W

Sep 12, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable and provided fantastic inspiration for my own work. The lecturer was clearly very knowledgeable and conveyed sometimes difficult concepts simply and reinforced these throughout the course. It really was easy to stay motivated with this course!

por Marcela

Sep 25, 2018

Excellent course, I was enthusiastic about painting and working with the styles of painters representative of abstract art, it was interesting to delve into their lives and their works, and interpret their paintings. I hope soon a next course where other styles and painters will be addressed. Thank you!!

por prithipal s s

Oct 23, 2018

its a great course for knowing the masters and understanding their path breaking innovations in abstract art

por Bill P

Aug 29, 2018

An amazingly in depth course. I learned far more than anticipated.

por Luiza K S S

Aug 29, 2018

I enjoyed very much the course. Specially the studio exercise.

por Jane C

Aug 17, 2018

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

por Hilary L

Nov 02, 2018

I loved this course. Full of content, knowledge and invaluable technical insight, it has helped broaden my perspective of this era immensely, whilst positively contributing to my own artistic and creative journey. Thank you MOMA and to Corey, who really does a fantastic job.

por Jillian L L

Nov 02, 2018

I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to other MoMA courses in Art History in the future.

por Paige S

Nov 09, 2018

very informative

por Rubén M M

Nov 12, 2018

A very interesting course if you are interested in art, painting and abstract expressionism.

por Anson

Nov 12, 2018

Great class with really interesting scope of art and history in the post war abstract era. The use of video content was really helpful especially when on location at MoMa.

por Stacy N

Nov 14, 2018

This was a really great course. The subject matter was very interesting, the instruction was outstanding and the studio work was very helpful for technique and process. I enjoyed it thoroughly and have more appreciation for abtract expressionism.

por Leza H

Nov 25, 2018

Excellent course and one which I have recommended to many people. Gives you a unique first hand insight in to technique and methods. The course tutor, Corey, is impressive. I would love to see more courses led by him, like this one, featuring different artists. I now visit MOMA with a far greater appreciation of the artist’s skills and it has encouraged me to paint using different techniques. Truly insightful and enlightening.

por sylvia

Oct 06, 2018

This course bas been very effective for my study on abstractionism. Also learning the technique each abstractionist used to express their ideation is a bonus. I always read about few of these techniques but never in form of visual demonstration. Thanks to the instructor and his dynamic way of explaining the philosophy and meaning of each major artwork increase my engagement and curiosity to go searching for even more

por Nina V K

Sep 14, 2018

This was the most enlightening course - it has highly motivated me, not only in my own painting but in my continued research and learning. I now have a deep appreciation of the New York School approach, the intriguing artists featured in this course and their intense philosophies. Thank you MoMA

por Yanan H

Oct 06, 2018

Love it! Interesting classes.

por Tore W

May 09, 2019

Art history! Instructions on how-did-they-do-it! Insights on great artists thoughts about art! Just great!

por Jacopo

May 01, 2019

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

por Karl D G

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

por Leigh R H

Apr 18, 2019

Excellent course, very well taught. The instructor, Corey D’Augustine, was very low-key but inspiring. Really liked his teaching style and learned so much. He also has an exceptional voice that is easy to listen to through eight weeks of instruction. Hope that he will be teaching something else again soon.

por J. K

Jun 18, 2019

This was a fantastic course. It's my first painting course and it made me fall in love with painting. And what a great way to learn about art! I won't forget any of these artists now that I have labored over canvases trying to emulate their techniques. My only suggestion is to add Norman Lewis to the mix of artists.

por brenda g

May 30, 2019

Provided that you like abstract painting, this course will give you insights in abstract painting techniques and work of art that you can use yourself, while making or enjoying art. The demos are great, and never give you the feeling that you cannot do such a thing (but if you do the studio exercises, you'll discover that it's not that easy...).

por Catherine F

Jul 22, 2019

I have really enjoyed every stage of this fascinating course.

I was an an architectural student in the late 1950´s & early 1960’s, the period covered by your course. I regret to say that, at the time, being committed to designing our vision of a « brave new world », with imaginations running riot, I was aware of the movement in New York but the subtlety of the work was lost to me. At last, after too many years, I have a better understanding of the art and of the artists Involved. I will now give their paintings the time that they deserve and not walk past assuming that I have absorbed all there is to see.

The course has been a revelation for me and what I have really enjoyed is the feeling of involvement , not just me + a computer screen. The « in the studio » series was fascinating, as were so many other constituents. The course will , I think, influence my paintings and sculpture, as well as having been fascinating to follow. Many thanks to all involved & I hope the next stage will be a visit MOMA.