Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
estrelas
869 classificações
202 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Melhores avaliações

RD
24 de Out de 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

KS
30 de Jul de 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 203 Avaliações para o Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

por Akshay S

21 de Fev de 2021

Really knowledgeable course.

por S V

9 de Abr de 2020

very informative course

por Sushrut M S

6 de Jun de 2020

Nice and informative.

por Akshay

16 de Fev de 2021

Really good course.

por WU-TE Y

5 de Jul de 2020

It's good lecture!

por Laxman N

24 de Ago de 2020

Very helpful

por ALAPATI S H

20 de Jan de 2020

good

por Molly S

27 de Mai de 2020

I took an FPGA course in college and wanted to refresh my knowledge. This course did a nice job of introducing the FPGA Quartus software and some basic knowledge about FPGAs. However, the FPGA jargon is overwhelming. To an experienced engineer, it sounds normal, but to new students, it's too difficult to keep up with.

Week 3 was not helpful. No one wants to sit and read datasheets, much less listen to someone else read datasheets (no offense to Dr. Scherr!). Week 3's content would have been better suited to a project format. For example, each student researches an FPGA of their choice (from a instructor chosen selection), then discusses/shares their information with the discussion board. Sort of like the Jigsaw Method teaching style.

I do appreciate taking this class and feel that it has helped me gain a foundation in FPGA. Thank you for your course!

por Samuel C

5 de Jun de 2020

Overall a pretty gentle introduction into FPGA design. The course gives a good overview of the FPGA workflow with practical examples. However, the assessments emphasize quite a bit of rote memorization rather than logical learning. I would recommend future revisions to course material to more heavily emphasize the digital logic constructs fundamental to FPGA design rather than discussion of commercial products.

por Parikshit K C

16 de Jul de 2018

Good overview however not very exciting. One week seemed to be dedicated to almost reading out spec/selection guides of FPGA and it sounded monotonous. Week 4 was much more involving and took more than usual time to finish. There was a mentioned 3 more specializations but didn't hear what those are and when those will start.

por Yosi L

7 de Mai de 2020

not very good for beginners.

First week was good, from second week on shows a lot of details without explaining the motivation behind them which makes the course really boring.

Dropped the course.

por HRISHIKESH P

7 de Set de 2020

The first 3 weeks were excellent. Instead of designing NIOS 2 processor in week 4 could develop pipemult from the scratch right by developing each block instead of providing ready-made blocks.

por KARTHIK R

2 de Jul de 2020

Received minimal support for issues that came up during the course. I think the instructors need to be active in resolving issues that may come up during installation and execution.

por LAKSHMI D

12 de Mar de 2020

I would learn many thing about "Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems" from this course

por Ammar A K

13 de Mar de 2019

There should be more examples of how to practically code and run FPGA using VHDL

por Sakshat R

22 de Mai de 2020

Good theory, decent project work

por KARAN V

2 de Mai de 2020

IT WAS FUN

por PANG I H

7 de Nov de 2018

I do not recommend for busy working personal. I have to admit I have time problem spent the extra hours to search for external knowledge to complete some of the assignment which wasn't covered in the course. For example, knowledge of how to simplify a 4 bit adder require some level of k-map simplification know how, which forced me to spent the extra hours to google and learn. I originally purchase the cert because it was needed in some of the companies new project. After looking at the time pressure and deadline of the course, I decided to spent time study FPGA at intel youtube and post question at their technical support forum to get my job done.

por Andrea M

29 de Jul de 2019

For university students in the field of Engineering the course is quite basic, but it is good for having a small introduction on FPGA design, issues, and market.

The main concern is the price (too high, for me it is worth 20$ or something around), and the fact that in the course they don't explain the background of some steps that they do in the Software (it is simply "Select this", "Click this", etc.)

por Adwait K

19 de Mar de 2018

Not a course to learn a great deal about FPGA's. Seems like an elaborated explanation of a reference manual to use the Quartus Prime software.

por Xiaohang G

23 de Ago de 2020

no professor answering my any questions

por Carlo D

5 de Dez de 2020

This course is just a very slow paced and boring tutorial on Quartus Prime. Every lesson is simply a sequence of button to be pressed in Quartus, with no real explanation on why things are done and no room for thinking. Quiz questions are very bad written and show lack of interest in this course. Peer reviewed assignments are a waste of time and mainly consist of screenshots of Quartus reports. If you know digital design already, there is nothing to learn here. Equally, if you don't know it, this won't help you. Not recommented at all, in particular if you hope to learn something about FPGAs.

por Gasper

28 de Abr de 2018

This course is just weird, too much content crammed into "powerpoint" style of modern education. Buy a book, watch youtube fpga content lecture videos, join a university class,...

por Steaven M M

23 de Mar de 2021

Resource files not updated or checked to coincide with videos. Videos does not always prompt you when to take screenshots in week 4 until peer assessment section.

por Carlos M

17 de Ago de 2018

Software cannot be downloaded